We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Trip.com$83
Hotels.com$78
Priceline$81
Travelocity$78
Orbitz.com$78
Destinia.com$110
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,195)
Filter reviews
1,195 results
Traveler rating
671
412
65
18
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
671
412
65
18
29
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
625 - 630 of 1,195 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2012

this is our second time staying at the Grand central hotel, and we were not dissapointed. We stayed for two nights, and as usual the price for our twin share room was very affordable, the rooms were clean and spacious, and the beds and sheets were very comfortable providing us the perfect place to rest following an exhausting 14 hour flight from london.
The hotel is located right next to the nanjing road shopping district, thus giving you all the restaurants and shopping one needs right at your door step, its a 15min walk to the bund, 8min walk to a metro station, and a quick 10min in taxi to the famous french concession and god's temple area. What more can one ask for in terms of convenience.

One little issue we had with the hotel this time was that our air-conditioning was not on during our first night of stay at the hotel, and this made the room quite hot and uncomfortable at night. When we ask reception about this, they had told us that because november is winter in shanghai, they usually do not turn on their air-conditioning systems.
However when we made a complaint about this, pointing out that it was very hot and stuffy in the rooms to the extent that we can't sleep comfortably, a serviceman was immediately sent to check out the situation, and the air-con in our room was promptly switch back on. Thus our problem was delt with quickly.

Would definitely recommend and stay here again if i ever visit shanghai in the future

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keko l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a weekend and were super-satisfied. Everything has a very high quality. Entry to the health club is complimentary and the sauna and steam bath superb. Also the room was very nice and there is nothing to comment on negatively. If we come back to shanghai we will consider staying here again.

Date of stay: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petermann87
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We spent two nights there and the service as the rooms were really perfect.
We were located at the 12th floor, with a very quiet and comfortable room (large twin beds).
The bathroom is large with a shower separated from the toilet and from the bath tube. Quite convenient.
Excellent food too, as the dinner buffet was good particularly the pastries.
We did not have the breakfast buffet but just some good coffee and tea in the morning.
The prices are not very cheap but affordable for such a hotel.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alain A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

After our tour with AFFORDABLE ASIA we opted to extend our stay in Shanghai and booked 3 nights at the "GRAND CENTRAL HOTEL" What a great decision..This hotel had the most amazing location near Nanjing Road and the Bund..We ugraded to the executive level which included free WiFi, buffet breakfast, happy hour etc. etc. We were very lucky on our early checkin (12;00pm) to get room # 625 that had a view of Nanjing Road..All the staff we came into contact with at this hotel was wonderful..Upon checkin we noticed a light bulb in the closet was out and within 5 min a maid & engineer was there to replace it..This attention detail would continue throughout our entire stay..They couldn't seem to do enough for you.We had leftover pizza from our dinner one night and the next day the concierge staff heated it up for us for lunch .I also have no idea how they knew it was my husbands 65th birthday (maybe his passport) but that night a letter from the manager was in our room and a beautiful and delicious birthday cake & candles...We can't wait to return to this amazing 5 star hotel on our visit next year to Shanghai...Thank you so much Grand Central !!!!!!

Room tip: Room # 625 Executive level AMAZING view !!! Quiet location !!!
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2clb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed in deluxe room, upon entering the room, the feeling is just so great! A lot of decorations are coated in gold color, so you feel like a king! It was very spacious and clean. They are very generous in providing everything you need. 2 sets of shower gels,shampoos, conditioner etc. The best thing is they have sea salt and scrub pad for you to enjoy in your bath tub. If you don't like soaking in bath tub, they have raining shower heads. They even have additional pillow selection like vanilla flavor, charcoal pillow, memory foam etc without any additional cost! This hotel also very near to people's square. Overall, this hotel give you a luxury feel at a reasonable price. Recommended!!

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank guraisonu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews