We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$152
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $148/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$186
$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$107
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $178/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$178
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $158/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$145
$83
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $93/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$158
$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $126/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$108
$103
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,087)
Filter reviews
1,087 results
Traveler rating
615
377
58
16
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
615
377
58
16
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnanjing roadexcellent locationpeople's squarestar hotelseparate toiletwalking distancegrand lobbypedestrian mallminute walkbreakfast buffetspent nightsconcierge staffpeople's parkrooms are spaciousmetro stopwonderful hotelexecutive floor
Filter
Updating list...
583 - 588 of 1,087 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2012

For short trip to Shanghai we selected the Grand Central for its location one block back from Nanjing Road and close to just about everything Shanghai has to offer. A business suite was the perfect choice -a one bedroom apartment with ample room and comfortable and clean. The only issue was the 'security' latch that broke on the last day which caused the staff some concern and nearly delayed our departure - not so secure after all. Can't fault the hotel but maybe the staff need some education in superior customer service???

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The web site does not do justice to this excellent hotel. This hotel was excellent from check in to check out. Check in was a breeze. The clerk was very helpful. The room was excellent, spotless, correct temperature, nicely appointed with TV, shower and separate tub and great view. Hotel safe that is large enough for everything we had. I did not eat at the hotel so I cannot talk about that. We arrived late so we ate at subway subs on Nanjing.
We only stayed 2 days, but we enjoyed this hotel. IT IS A 5 Star hotel by all standards but one. The internet ran slow in the room. that is the only fault we could find. I would recommend this hotel. The hotel is in an area that has a lot of local restaurants and Mcdonalds, KFC, Pizza hut, Subway subs. All the restaurants close at 10pm. The only place open 24hours is KFC. The subway or metro line is only 7 RMB = $1.00 from airport. Line 2 from Pudong Airport. You change at Guanglan road. You just step out of the car you are in and 7 or 8 steps you get on the other car going in the same direction and get off at East Nanjing road, step out of exit # 4, and turn to street and look up and you see giant Grand Central Hotel sign. Gold in color and enjoy yourself.

Room Tip: I just choose the deluxe room. I did not upgrade and the room was excellent. Anytime I upgrade I ask to see both rooms that way I make an educated decision based on my judgement not the hotel staff.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Flip f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Very good hotel, and great value for money. The rooms are very large comfortable and clean. Bathrooms are very nice, both have a bathtub and a shower. There is free Wi-fi and cable in the rooms, quite fast. The evening service provides chocolate candies and weather forecast cards which were nice details.
Location is great, practically on the Nanjing Road, a pedestrian shopping street, about a 20 min walk to the Bund, 3 min to the metro station. You can find anything around.
The staff is very helpful and speaks adequate English. Breakfast is great with a lot of choices, compared other hotels I stayed in Shanghai before.
I enjoyed our stay there, and really recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AycaSez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Every things is excellent, staff is friendly and ready for help. service is great and location is absolutely fantastic. Breakfast us included variety delisous food. But business senter services is expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moji256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We really enjoyed the grand central hotel. it's a really modern hotel, with plush furnishings and 5 star service. We stayed in a courtyard room, so the window of our room looked out into the internal courtyard - even still the room was bright and we felt it wasn't a disadvantage at all. The rooms were spacious, the beds were luxury and so comfortable (a rarity in china) and overall we loved our room. Bathroom was great too - all seemed newly refurbished and to a high standard. Whilst the hotel isn't on the bund, it is in a great location, a 3 minutes walk to nanjing shops and no more than a 10 minutes stroll to the bund. the metro is also a 2 minute walk, which is the easiest way to get around shanghai and see all the spots.
The swimming pool and the gym were also great. The only let down was the wifi didn't really work in the rooms so you needed to go down to the lobby to check your emails/surf the net.
Overall, the hotel was great value for money - we found it to be far cheaper than the other 5 star hotels in the area, but with no difference to service/standards. If you are looking for an affordable 5 star hotel in shanghai then this is hotel is for you.

Room Tip: courtyard facing rooms are actually really bright and spacious - would recommend if you are looking to save on costs....
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misslcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews