We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$93
$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $103/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$180
$146
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $158/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$159
$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$160
$98
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
$103
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$133
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$150
$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$196
$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,088)
Filter reviews
1,088 results
Traveler rating
616
377
58
16
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
616
377
58
16
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnanjing roadexcellent locationpeople's squarestar hotelseparate toiletwalking distancegrand lobbypedestrian mallminute walkbreakfast buffetspent nightsconcierge staffpeople's parkrooms are spaciousmetro stopwonderful hotelexecutive floor
Filter
Updating list...
590 - 595 of 1,088 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This is a lovely hotel within walking distance to the bund. It is near to a big shopping centre and is within easy access to transport. The rooms are large and well decorated. Our stay did not include breakfast. We were really happy at this hotel. The only downfall would be that the staff couldnt really speak English. I had bought a Coca Cola and kept it in my fridge. The cleaning staff then accused me of replacing one of their drinks with this? Really pathetic way to end our stay at this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: They all seem to be the same size.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelledl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

505-Juijiang Street is definitely a famous address. Perfect location for such an awesome hotel. Its right on East Nanjing pedestrian shopping street, close proximity to Metro station and the famous Bund. Rooms are probably the largest I have come across in hotels of similar ratings, with all latest amenities and gadgets. Lobby serves a great buffet restaurant. Staff are very helpful and kind. We really felt at home in Grand Central.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Armughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Shanghai was a surprise as a city. It will be also a surprise as hosting people if you stay at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai .

The location is simply perfect. Close to the pedestrian street, few steps from good restaurants, many souvenir shops around and an amazing staff that, even not speaking fluent English, was always trying to help you with all your needs.

The concierge service was also very good. We bought tickets for the Kaleido show and he managed a taxi to take us there. There was a king of misunderstood about the taxi fare to the airport and I paid three times more than my sister and brother-in-law who were travelling with me and wife.

Anyway, I’m not sure who had done the mistake. A pity! I prefer to think that it was about the honesty of the taxi driver who preferred to receive the money than to warn me about the error. Anyway it hasn’t hurt the image of the hotel.

The breakfast was more fixed on oriental taste but you should find many choices for the occidental ones. The lobby was charming and there was a lounge service to rest and have a drink after browsing around Shanghai the whole day.

The room got my golden star for the hotel. Beautiful is the least I should say about it. Full of details that made our stay in a high standard. The bathroom door has a trick that allows us to close the washroom or the whole bathroom – you choose.

The evening service provides two chocolate candies and a card with the tomorrow’s weather forecast which was awesome. Even the feet sleepers were provided beside the bed. The treatment of a king. Congratulations to the hotel. I am willing to stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Faro22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

It is a convenient place which is very close to Nanjing road. The very first impression of the front office staff was not good. but the front office manager is really attentive and helpful for us.
A lady who was at the front office was very discriminating. Never experience such a situation at a five star hotel.
The rooms are really good and food is nice. The Location is Good for business or leisure .
You have to wait long time for taxis. so better be prepared early!

Room Tip: executive rooms are very good and have lots of space.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dimu007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

You cannot get a better location in Shanghai. Restaurants, shopping, sight seeing....all close by.

Excellent gym and swimming pool. Breakfast was very good with lot of options. The rooms were very good and spacious. Could not expect anything more.

Had a lovely stay. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
Thank MumbaiKss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews