We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$152
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $144/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$186
$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$107
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$157
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $177/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$298
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $153/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$145
$83
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $94/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$158
$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $126/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$113
$103
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$117
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,087)
Filter reviews
1,087 results
Traveler rating
615
377
58
16
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
615
377
58
16
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnanjing roadexcellent locationpeople's squarestar hotelseparate toiletwalking distancegrand lobbypedestrian mallminute walkbreakfast buffetspent nightsconcierge staffpeople's parkrooms are spaciousmetro stopwonderful hotelexecutive floor
Filter
Updating list...
623 - 628 of 1,087 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2012

I have stayed at Grand Central Shanghai 4-5 times the last year, the latest visit in April 2012. The check-in and check-out procedures are always quick and efficient. The staff here is very attentive and service minded.

The hotel looks very old (nice old that is), and as soon you enter you realize it is all very new but built with this nice touch. The rooms are large (guess I normally stay in some business type of room) and very classy and well equipped. You will find a good internet connection in the cable at your desk and a large comfortable bed. There is a lot of complimentary water, and the refrigerator is packed with various drinks, if needed.

The bathroom is huge, with two sinks, a large shower and a small seperate room for the toilet area. It almost feels like a small apartment.

The hotel have a great concierge, who will help you gtet anywhere you need. But, depending on the time of the day, you may have to wait a while to get a taxi, especially between 6-7PM. I have had some cases where I needed quick assistance from the hotel staff, with various things, and they have alwyas solved everything as quick as possible.

You may have access to the "business breakfast" area at a higher level floor. I have tried it a couple of times, but found that the main breakfast area at the entry level is much better. The chefs at the egg station, as well as all other breakfast staff, is very service minded.

If you fly in to Shanghai to Hongqiao Airport, this hotel is suitable. It will be slightly longer transport from Shanghai Pudong airport. That means, if you are to sty here, book the flight to arrive a Hongqiao.

Location of hotel is good, however, as the city is rather large, it depends on where in Shanghai you will spend most time. Anyway, it is basically at the Nanjing Road (shopping) and 10 minutes nice walk down to the Bund.

All in all a very good hotel. Great service and excellent rooms! I will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over Nanjing Road, as it is pretty nice to look down at in the evening.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k-daniel-a-sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

On our first day in China we stayed at the Grand Central Hotel in the business suite which consisted of a very large room with beautiful furniture, a king size bed and a huge bathroom fir for a king. The hotel room was wonderful.

Room Tip: I am sorry to say that I have no idea how much the rooms were as we were on a tourist trip prepaid. The hotel was relatively new apparently and we were upgraded from the standard room.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olie293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandcentralhotelsha, Public Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your high esteem of our hotel. We would like to express our appreciation for your stay and your observations. We are very pleased that the hotel met with your expectations. Thanks again for your kind words of appreciation. We hope to serve you again on your return visit to Shanghai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4nights in April after a royal carribean cruise. The hotel is one street away from Naijing road- the shopping street so location is ideal.the hotel is very well appointed with an old world feel. The restaurants within the hotel are very good and reasonably priced.
We had a room on the executive floor which entitled us to drinks and nibbles from 5pm to 7pm (wine beer abd spirits ) during the rest of the day tea coffee and soft drinks are available at all times. The rooms on this floor are quite spacious and comfortable . Close to train station which is very easy to use.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandcentralhotelsha, Public Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Dear Valued Guest, We are very pleased that the hotel met with your expectations. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

I stayed here for 3 days over the 2012 grand prix weekend. This is a large hotel not far from the Bund. It is Grand with a great lobby area. The rooms are also well equiped and spacious. The concierge was excellent in helping arrange restaurants and trips away from the centre.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavieU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandcentralhotelsha, Public Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Dear Valued Guest, We are extremely delighted with your high esteem of our hotel which makes us very proud of our team for their continuous efforts. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

The Grand Central Hotel Shanghai is a beautiful hotel built in about 2005. There is lots of marble, glass and polish. Our room was as quiet as could be reasonably expected in the middle of a bustling city. The location was very close to the main shopping area and several of the main tourist sites. Room service was excellent and reasonably priced for such a fancy business style hotel. The onsite Chinese restaurant was nice albeit a little vacant the night we dined there. The staff was very, if not overly, friendly and there were little to no language barriers. Our only complaint was the hotel was a little too businesslike for our shorts and t-shirt tourist agenda. We booked this as a reasonably priced four-star hotel but it seemed closer to five stars in our opinion. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: There is a great little convenience market called Family Mart right around the corner from the hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Offseason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandcentralhotelsha, Public Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the delightful review on the hotel. We are indeed most motivated by your comments and will continue our efforts to do even better. We would like to tell you that the hotel was built in 2009 and it is a real five- star hotel now. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews