We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel in Shanghai” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Shanghai Puxi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
Ranked #26 of 4,966 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
91 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel in Shanghai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2010

This hotel is located across from Shanghai Rail Station. It is completely new so do expect some rough spots especially on the staff. The service quality is inconsistent and I can tell that they're working on improving this throughout my short, 2 night stay.

The room: Fantastic. Everything is new. My room was standard and I asked to be on a high floor and they put me on the 27th. My room was huge in comparison to other hotel rooms I had. 46" flat screen, sound system, huge bath tub, high-tech toilet, long sofa, fast internet connection, etc. everything one can ask for. The only complaint I have is the bed was a bit hard for me. I prefer the heavenly bed from Sheraton. Otherwise the room was perfect. If you prefer to stay in your hotel room most of the time or you need room to work, this hotel is just for you.

The gym: They had everything you need to have a good workout. The latest high-tech equipment from USA that connects to ipod. Huge LCD screens on each treadmill to watch local tv. There were no one using the gym during my visit. I had a great time working out. They also have a huge in door pool. I don't know if it was heated. I also used their sauna which was nice.

They also had a virtual golf simulator that I didn't use. It costs just as much as to play 18 holes of the real thing in USA. RMB 250.

The food: Breakfest had many choices of Western, Chinese, and Japanese. A lot to choose from. Room service was prompt and took less than 10 minutes to deliver. The food was average. Nothing too special.

Location: I don't know why people have problem with the location. Sure the hotel is not located in the popular tourist destination, however, getting there was very easy. I took a cab from the hotel to Nangjing Road for RMB 14 during off peak hours. The taxi ride took less than 10 minutes. For the type of room that I'm getting at this hotel, I will definately dish out the extra cab fare. Taxis are abundant in Shanghai. As long as you have the address in Chinese, you're good.

The service: Service is inconsistent. I'm Chinese myself, so I guess they don't pay much attention to me. The door men are very good at smiling and greeting you. But the reception was inconsistent in providing good service attitude. It just didn't feel like a 5 star hotel in terms of quality, yet.

The room definately made up for the rough edges of the hotel. I will definately return next time.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TP2WXC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    244
    47
    21
    9
See reviews for
63
95
43
285
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2009

This hotel is near to the main railway station in Shanghai - but far enough away from the main tourist and shopping areas to make its location a major detractor. The hotel is modern, but the dark ambience is unwelcoming. Rooms are large and well equipped, but without the dramatic views of some great hotels in Shanghai. Food was high quality, but not served with care and attention that is expected in a 5 star establishment. I didn't visit the leisure facilities. Walking around the local area, unfortunately I found nothing of interest. I would suggest staying elsewhere, close to Nanjing Lu or in Pudong.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentFrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2009

Intercontinental Puxi is one of the newest additions to Shanghai’s roster of 5-star hotels. While most 5-stars are clustered in either in the People’s Square or Lujiazui (Pudong) areas, this one is set apart in the Shanghai Rail Station area – a part of Shanghai that has little to commend it to tourists. On top of the unceasing throngs of people entering and exiting Shanghai via this station, the area is in the demolition stage of a major facelift, and thus very dusty and devoid of character. Logistically this hotel is geared more toward regional business travellers than tourists. But the proximity of metro lines 1, 3 and 4 (which are a 5-10 minute walk away) make it reasonably accessible for anyone. There are no restaurants nearby that aren’t of the fast food variety.

The hotel pops out on the skyline with its two glass and steel towers – comprising a main tower and an executive tower. The lobby has a striking installation of swirling ribbons of glass suspended from the ceiling that draw the eyes upwards. It is an inspired use of the vertical space that creates an impressive effect....it almost makes one overlook the aweful mess that was made of the lobby floor tiles.

The rooms are spacious and modern – and they got all the important things right. The furnishings and audio/visual equipment were all spot on. The bed was very comfortable and the linens and towels were excellent quality. But despite the fact that the toilet is located in a separate area from the bathroom, the bathroom feels a little cramped. Sticklers for detail will notice that the paint and finishes look like they were completed in a hurry. We found lots of examples of shoddy work in the room.

The highlight of the stay was easily the spa/pool facilities. Perhaps this was because I didn’t see another guest using the leisure facilities the whole time I was there, which was a Saturday/Sunday. This might also explain why the pool staff seemed a little over-attentive.

Overall, this place has a welcoming vibe about it. I might not recommend it for tourists because of the location, but it's great for anyone who needs to be near the rail station.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keliyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKG
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2009

This newly opened hotel is grand and tidy. The bedroom and the bathroom is in a very good size, but the lighting of the room is a bit dark. I would say the hotel should give the guest a choice to adjust the lighting as some guest may not prefer that so much.

Service is a 4 star hotel. When I walked in for the breakfast at the restaurant, the staff did not offer me any drinks although the breakfast comes with coffee or tea. I have to call for waiter for a couple times in order to be seen and ordered the drinks.

Location is a bit far from the tourist area, and basically there is not much surround the area.

I would still recommend this hotel for a business purpose, and might not a good choice for leisure purpose.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jellyfafafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2009

A beautiful hotel and has every bit the potential to be 5 star. This hotel I understand opened about 1 month ago. The lobby is artistic and grand. The rooms are spacious and nicely designed. Each room has a large flat screen TV, iPod docking station and a TV that can be viewed through the bathroom vanity mirror. The bathtub is large and the shower has a rain faucet which is a nice treat. The gym and pool are much better that what I have typically seen. The spa/massage was good (a little pricey but to be expected at what could be a 5 star). The staff are very nice, charming and try hard.

However, there are some major growing pains that if not addressed, then this hotel will in the future receive terrible reviews. Here is a list:
1. The hotel room doors don't shut hard enough - so >80% of the time, they don't auto lock. I pushed on a few other doors and sure enough, they opened. Major issue.
2. The elevator buttons are sometimes hard to push - a few times required me to switch to another panel to get to my floor.
3. The elevator buttons have floor descriptions but because the elevator is so dark, you cant see the label.
4. The steam from my shower set off my heat/smoke alarm every morning for about 5-10 seconds.
5. The satellite TV sometimes did not work. I had to pull out the room electricity card to reboot the system. Then it worked.
6. The elevator that leads to the the gym smelled like trash everyday.
7. The mirror in the bathroom room is too dark - you can't see your face well
8. The electronic blinds did not work after the 2nd day
9. The day I ate at Koi, I believe they burned oil by mistake - the smell was terrible and stung my eyes a bit. Need better ventilation.

So, the biggest question is "Will I return to this hotel given the growing pains?" Yes, I will... if anything just because I'm curious if this hotel can fix the problems. I believe the hotel staff are dedicated and you can tell the GM has purposely staffed internationally to host various foreigners. Best of luck to this hotel in a highly competitive market.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmericaninNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2009

The hotel itself is really great. Everything is brandnew. Too bad they decided to open the hotel while still finishing the last details. Every hallway somebody is working / making some adjustments. From minor adjustments to changing the lighting to major adjustments like plastering walls.

That being said , the room is very big with huge tv. Too bad the bed is so small being that they call it a "king bed" . . its more a small size queen .


Now for the service, even though the staff is very friendly and wants to be very helpfull , they are most definatly not. They only tend to get on my nerves.

Every information they gave me was wrong . And often they contradict themselves. One person would say this , other person would say the opposite. I understand its a new hotel and not everything is going to be working like a well oiled machine. But they should have trained/ informed their staff a bit better.

Basic things they got wrong include :

- asked reception what name they use for charging my credit card deposit. asked this few hours after checking in when I saw a strange charge for "yao da fandian ch" when asking the girl looked at me like I was stupid then claimed it should be "intercontinental" started to get worried something went wrong with my card and there were fraudulent charges , then later in the same conversation found out it was in fact "yao da fandian ch" not intercontinental ,
- woke up early and wanted to have breakfast , wasnt sure when breakfast started so called information to find out, I was told it is 7 o clock . Later found out it actually starts at 6
- the gym is open 24 hours , but according to some staff it is not, some think it opens at 10 am and closes 11 pm , understandable they think that as some of the hotel information gives you those opening hours,


basically a good hotel , and will probably get better if the staff is more up to date and more used to the new hotel . got annoyed many times though


should also mention that unlike most china hotels they dont offer free internet . they want 4 RMB per minute to a maximum of 120 RMB per 24 hours ;

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sid275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevilla
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2009

I recently came to stay in the newly opened InterContinental Hotel Shanghai Puxi and was blown away by the service and overall appearance of the hotel! Upon arrival I received a warm welcome by both the Concierge staff and the Guest Relations Officers and speedy check in. The rooms were spacious and I had all of the facilities I needed. The view was so-so being that the hotel is centrally located next to the shanghai railway station. I took my clients to have dinner in the Ecco restaurant and our experience was suburb and I would return with more clients in a heartbeat. All in all, my experience was fantastic and I highly recommend this hotel for a great location and excellent service!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belenxuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#17 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
#14 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Shanghai Puxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Shanghai Puxi

Property: InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
Address: No.500 Hengfeng Road, Zhabei District, Shanghai 200070, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#26 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#30 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#37 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#56 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#107 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Shanghai Puxi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 533
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in two sleek glass buildings straddling a towering commercial structure in downtown Shanghai, InterContinental Shanghai Puxi is the first international luxury brand hotel in Shanghai’s Zhabei district, a fast emerging premier commercial and business area. With more than 3,125 square meters of state-of-the-art venues it has one of the most extensive allocations of facilities for conferences and social events in the west of Shanghai's Huangpu River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental Shanghai Puxi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Shanghai Puxi Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing