We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel as Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
Ranked #34 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel as Expected”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This hotel offers all the comfort and convenience. Starting from its grand lobby that really smells good. I love the spacious foo. And all the amenities. This hotel maybe quite a few years already but the have kept it clean and well maintained as I expect in all intercontinental hotels. Breakfast is lavish as always. You will have all the choices and English newspaper n the morning. A very good touch indeed. The only bummer are the front office people thT seems to be not well trained enough to handle guests requests at night. The morning shifts are good but the people they put on night shift needs a lot of training.

Room Tip: Choose higher floor it is much newer and smells better than the lower floor rooms. Views are much be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    262
    51
    23
    11
See reviews for
70
102
44
319
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

The hotel itself is a good choice but you should be aware that staying at the club tower you will need to walk a lil to get to the main lobby. When it rains, it is not simple to cross through inside and you might get wet. If you can, stay at the main tower.

Room Tip: Choose the main tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller_Brazilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

First glance of this exceptional property, was welcomed and got myslef fixated with their beautiful unique chandelier in their extremely grand expanse of a lobby. Only stayed a short one night, this Intercon is definitely grander than most of the same namesakes I have been to.

Smiles were a plenty, check in was brisk and pleasant by their very friendly Reception. Staffs are generally pleasant and acknowledges you whenever you are at the public area.
Concierge were efficient and very helpful, left a paper bag whilst I went up to get some stuffs, on my way back - the bag was efficiently passed to me without even having to ask. Anticipation of this sort is getting rare nowadays even with most luxury properties.

Rooms were very grand and spacious. Decor were pleasant and looks luxuriously appointed. It was comfortable and welcoming. The couches spans across the whole windows, even comfortable to be a small bed too. Also with a large ensuite bathroom and separate toilet cubicle, the toilet cubicle is fitted with automated sensors, very convenient and something quite rare!


Only gripe is the location is not near my intended areas, the jam in front of the main road can be excruciatingly long.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adcye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This is my 2nd stay of the hotel. The hotel is actually a very nice one and can see that the owner has poured a lot of money on the hardware. You can find a much larger LCD TV and bath tube compare with other hotel. The hotel lobby is also very nice.

Just had some problem with the hotel, the hotel promised to upgrade me to suite the first time but eventually they can max they can do is a suite, after showing them the email and arguing for a while they finally upgrade to suite. The 2nd time they've already upgraded to suite without any pre-notice. However, there is absolutely no hot water even I open the tap for half an hour. I need to wait till the engineers to fix it at midnight!! finally they said there is absolutely no problem at all... but after that i feel the temp is way higher the i can accept. this is the only 5* hotel I couldn't bath at night...

Afterfall, the hotel has pretty nice breakfast (you need to dine a restaurant, not club lounge which has limited selections), the hotel also close to Shanghai station which is close nice.

Room Tip: the club room is big enough for most purpose, certainly a suite could be nice. club room is essenti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joejoejoehk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights, arriving late, early in the morning. Took about 40 minutes from airport Hongqiao. The entrance to the hotel is very grand with water features dominating the whole foyer. The reception is directly to the right a bit hidden away. I was acknowledged for being a IHG Gold member and was given an upgrade to one of the corner suite in the main tower on the 30th Floor.

The room is amazing with floor to ceiling glass windows. The view is OK, I got the view of the back of the hotel. Big bed, a sofa, separate section for wardrobe and luggage area, big bath and shower, toilet is Japanese type with all the electrical controls, table and chair to work on, all the usual amenities in a 5 star hotel, room service was quick and food was good. The laundry service was good and fast. Turn down service is available too.

I didn't try the breakfast but had a look and saw that the varieties is quite good. I did tried the Business Centre located on the ground floor. The gym was not open for 24 hours a day as stated in the hotel handbook. A nice big gym nonetheless.

The hotel is located about 10 mins walk to the nearest underground station, think it's Line 2. There are some shops and restaurants near the hotel, a Mc Donalds and Starbucks across the road too. I think there is a department store but I didn't get a chance to look. Easy to get around, especially to the Bund and Nanjing Road (not walkable) so need to take taxi or the metro.

The concierge was very helpful and speak very good English. My only complaint was when I checked out very early (5.30am) I requested for a breakfast box to go. I got an apple, some croissants packed into a plastic container (squashed) and a bottle of sparkling water. I think this is the worst breakfast box I ever had from a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ningbo, China
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Travelling by car, my gps sent me to the club tower (backside of the main building), but not a big trouble, as the staff handled my booking cey efficiently and arranged a golf cart to drive me to the main tower.
Arrived there, my luggages were handled by staff and directly drop in my room.
I was given a corner room, (huge) with a bathroom almost the size of the room herself.
Room was faultless, with huge confy bed, a desk, a couch, i appreciated the nespresso machine.
Bkfst plenty of choice, attentive staff.

I will for sure choose this hotel again on my next trip to Shangahi.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyfamilyNingbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Staff are friendly and check in was reasonably swift - they did insist on blocking £1000 equivalent on the credit card for the stay which was annoying.

Room I got was great - 31st floor, corner, great view, loads of space. Comfortable bed.

Heating / cooling was not great for control - largely too warm.

Lovely bathroom - the wet room style shower does not drain well to the plug and the cleaners must have to push / wipe the water away to get it dry.

At times there is a significant wait for elevators, just 4 lifts for 31 floors of the main towers does not seem enough at times. Muzak is also pumped in - why oh why in a 5 star hotel!

Breakfast unless you go at 6am (which after the first day I did) was chaos, masses of people around the food areas, people randomly sitting down outside of table allocated by staff meant that one time I got back to your table to find someone trying to sitting there.

I used the gym it was very good, cardio, weights and pool. Muzak was pumped into the gym, slow stuff - useless to exercise to. Also curious gym etiquette of many users, using mobile phones whilst exercising - loud conversations and one chap playing games on it to such a degree he almost fell off the treadmill. Spa looked nice - expensive in comparison to other 4 or 5 start hotels in China. Did not use.

Wifi was free, I found it unstable, useable for browsing, but not for business email loads.

Drinks at the bar were also expensive - really well over the top. 50% premium on what I would pay in London.

When I left, my pre-booked taxi was messed up. Despite checking three times the time and that it was done, it came 30 mins early and they could not find me. Another one was called, but it made leaving more hassle than it could have been.

The hotel lacked the service excellence and small details that JW Marriott in Jakarta managed effortlessly. I will try somewhere else the next time I am in China.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor and ask for a view facing the Shanghai Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seven22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Former French Concession
InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
World Expo
InterContinental Shanghai Expo
InterContinental Shanghai Expo
#32 of 5,105 in Shanghai
771 reviews
Jing'an
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
#21 of 5,105 in Shanghai
1,112 reviews
South Bund
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Shanghai Puxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Shanghai Puxi

Property: InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
Address: No.500 Hengfeng Road, Zhabei District, Shanghai 200070, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#30 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#34 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#37 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#56 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#99 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Shanghai Puxi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 533
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in two sleek glass buildings straddling a towering commercial structure in downtown Shanghai, InterContinental Shanghai Puxi is the first international luxury brand hotel in Shanghai’s Zhabei district, a fast emerging premier commercial and business area. With more than 3,125 square meters of state-of-the-art venues it has one of the most extensive allocations of facilities for conferences and social events in the west of Shanghai's Huangpu River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Shanghai Puxi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Shanghai Puxi Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing