We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excecutive floor really quality food and drinks nice nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Shanghai Expo
Ranked #48 of 5,222 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Only the location isn't greatest therefore 4* other quality is up to the high standards of the hotel group..got upgrade to the club floor and that is really great against ruining intercontinental a lot lot higher quality food and drinks

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bumsii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoyo W, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Dear Mr.bumsii,
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel . We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you really enjoyed the club floor food and drinks.
It is very convenient to take the metro or bus nearby to the city center , next time during your stay we will offer you more information about the public transportation.
Thanks again for staying with us .
We hope to see you again soon !

Sincerely ,
Assistant Marketing Communication Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (800)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 800 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2014

This stylish luxury 5 star hotel has got perhaps the best river view overlooking Shanghai city through the bridge, you can also see Pearl Tower from the room. Just choose the room with river-view, it is worthwhile. There are many 5star hotel offering nice river view in Shanghai, however, I believe this one is extraordinary and more valuable price with outstanding & unique room design, for example, LCD tv hiding behind the wall in bathtub, designer's retro and cosy armchair, interesting wardrobe design and of course nice bed and pillows... breakfast is just fine as it should be, staffs are nice, overall is great. However, it is about the location, if you love to stay in the middle of the city this is not the right hotel for you. Going to the city center and main tourist spots takes like 15-30 minutes by car, since Shanghai is such a big city and heavy traffic, we took taxi to everywhere and paid for the fee quite a fortune.

Room Tip: River view room highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petites_people
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoyo W, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Dear Mr.petites_people,
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel . We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you highly complimented on our rooms and views . Also you received great service. It is something our staff takes great pride in , so we value your feedback .
Regarding the hotel location , it is very convenient to take the metro or bus to the city center .
Thanks again for staying with us , hope to see you soon !

Sincerely ,
Assistant Marcom Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I was there on business for an exhibition at the expo which is within easy access. However besides the hotel there are not many choices to go out for food and drinks as most of the venues created for the expo are now closed. The only highlight was the Paulaner Beer House, just a few minutes away (walking distance). No metro / subway nearby so you have to take a taxi to get anywhere, but taxis are inexpensive. The rooms are spacious with all necessary amenities and the breakfast was good. However there is no bar within the main hotel, just an overcrowded small lobby bar and you have to walk outside to find a kind of entertainment venue which is not convenient and full of smokers! There is also not a great choice of restaurants and the staff at the Italian outlet is not friendly and unprofessional. In general the English knowledge of the hotel staff does not meet the requirements of an International 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: high floors, facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luzius01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoyo W, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Luzius01,
Thanks for sharing your valuable feedback with regards to our hotel guest room. We are very sorry that you experienced inconvenience due to the hotel location, however, we have hotel bar inside the building which called Liquor Factory on the 1F villa area . It is a very nice British bar inside the 1930's historical villa belongs to hotel .
We sincerely apologize for the shortcomings and will definitely rectify the issues that were being brought up. Rest assured that we are looking into both our software and hardware facilities, ensuring that we provide all our guests with an excellent experience while staying with us.

We hope this would not deter you from choosing InterContinental Shanghai Expo again in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again. Thank you!


Sincerely,
Assistant Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We have stayed at numerous hotels in Shanghai (for a "staycation" family experience) during our 9+ years living in Shanghai, and Intercontinental Expo is our favorite choice every time! Everything about this hotel is fabulous, and it has one of the best grassy areas for big events (e.g. Easter, Mother's Day, Shanghai Mama's anniversary, etc.) in all of Shanghai. Whether you live in Shanghai or not, it's definitely worth experiencing this hotel comfort!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank ShanghaiRhett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoyo W, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear ShanghaiRhett ,
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our events on the garden made your stay experience more memorable. We will continue to strive in delivering quality services, allowing our guests' to indulge in the best they deserve.

Once again, we look forward to your next stay with us and continuous support in the near future. Thank you!


Sincerely,
Assistant Marcom Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Gorgeous modern 5* hotel with lovely big bedrooms and marble bathrooms.

The hotel is well located for the Expo centre (although not really walkable, still a 10-15 minute drive).

No metro / subway nearby so you have to take a taxi to get anywhere. 1 hour ride to Rail station. Taxis are inexpensive.

Breakfast was great and although they ran out of some items, they managed to find them when asked.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaDina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoyo W, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear AnnaDina,
Thank you for choosing the InterContinental Shanghai Expo .Our hotel is located in the center of Pudong area. The bus station in front of our hotel 2 minute by walk --no. 1048 and no.1049 bus.. Besides, it is only about 10 minutes by taxi to the Lujiazui business center.
We are delighted to see that you enjoyed our breakfast and service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again. Thank you!

Sincerely,
Assistant Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I was there on business and booked IC Expo for its great location and facilities! Easy access to city center both Pudong and Puxi side! Smooth and efficient check-in and great breakfast at Cafe 1188 are really worth mentioning! Definitely the best Intercontinental in Shanghai!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoyo W, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear ACbear ,
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our location and breakfast. We will continue to strive in delivering quality services, allowing our guests' to indulge in the best they deserve.
Hope to see you soon , we recommended our Sunday brunch it would be very nice if you could have a try next time.
Once again, we look forward to your next stay with us and continuous support in the near future. Thank you!


Sincerely,
Assistant Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for three nights in April 2014. The hotel has great views, friendly staff who could not be more helpful. I had a great restful time at the hotel. Recommended. The breakfast was really good too, better than other hotels in China. Makes starting the day great.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoyo W, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Bruce ,
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service and satisfied with the breakfast. It is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We will be sure to dpass your kind words along to our related staff. Next time you return to our hotel, be sure to check out our Italian restaurant Basilico , which is delicious !
Thanks again for staying with us .
We hope to see you again soon !

Sincerely,
Assit.Marketing communications manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
InterContinental Shanghai Jing'An
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
World Expo
Sheraton Grand Shanghai Pudong Hotel & Residences
Century Park
Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Shanghai Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Shanghai Expo

Address: 1188 Xueye Road, Shanghai 200125, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > World Expo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#35 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#48 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#141 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $130 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Shanghai Expo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental Shanghai Expo hotel is the only international luxury hotel in Shanghai located adjacent to the 2010 World Expo site with impressive views of the Expo site, Huangpu River and city skyline. We offer personalized efficient Chinese service. “Better City Better Life” Expo theme is reflected in this lifestyle hotel through, the gardens, health club, historical villas and food & beverage concepts. The hotel is conveniently located to leisure and business areas with easy underground and bridge access around Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Shanghai Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Shanghai Expo Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing