We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Hotel in Shanghai.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Shanghai Expo
Ranked #48 of 5,222 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have been here for my first time and I have to admit that is the best hotel I have ever stayed in Shanghai.
High luxury and comfort are the visit card of the Intercontinental Expo.
The rooms are excellent, spacious and fully equipped with: 42" TV with Bose surround system, king size bed very comfortable with a selection of pillows to choose from, spacious bathroom with double washbasin, shower and bathtub, wifi and cabled internet, mini bar, all you need in case you forget something such as: shaving kit, bathrobe, slippers, pyjamas,.....
The room I had has a nice view on Shanghi and on the river.
The hotel has also a fantastic pool, just watch the pictures on the Hotel web site.
The breakfast is varied and very good as well as the staff is always kind.
In some reviews some people are lamenting that staff is not speaking english very well and I have to admit that is true but I have also to highlight that compared to other chinese hotels the staff in the intercontinental is much better prepared and capable.
I finally highly suggest to book this hotel for your trip to Shanghai and I will definitively get back here.

Room Tip: If possible ask for room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anxanum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Thank you for choosing our hotel and sharing your comments with us. We are very appreciated for your recommendation and our facilities makes you feel comfortable. Look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (800)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

292 - 298 of 800 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2012

Excellent location if you are attending the Shanghai Expo. The hotel and rooms were very nice, the buffet selection at the level restaurant was excellent for both breakfast and dinner. Room views on the river side was great. The gym facilities also were excellent. I was a bit disappointed that they didn't have a shuttle going the the EXpo during the Dentech show. Trying to get a taxi after the show was almost impossible.

Room Tip: The hotel is a bit isolated, no restaurants and no shopping. Not a place to stay if you want to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us! We are pleased that you did enjoy your time in our hotel and really appreciate your great recognition. Thank you for your suggestion and we are currently looking into the possibility for a shuttle service for any big events around us in the Exhibition Center. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Intercontinental Expo has the best best facilities in Shanghai. Great swimming pool, top gym, and beautiful spa. All very clean and with attentive staff. Also, there is a beautiful garden (with villas for rent, and a nice English pub) ideal for outdoor events, or simply for a walk far from the mad crowd of Shanghai. To top it all, superb views of Puxi and Pudong. The best hotel in Shanghai

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alberto l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking time to share your comments with us. We are honored to have great recognition from you. Thanks again for your recommendation and sincerely welcome you to our hotel in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The location is a bit far from everything, but it is a fantastic hotel. The area around was built for the expo and now it looks like a desert city. There are no restaurants within a walking distance and the few that you can find are not very nice.
In any case you can have a great meal at the hotel as the food is very good. Same apply for the breakfast which is fantastic. The rooms are very spacey and if you have a river view room it is a great view. The equipment in the room is very good with a wide LCD a fantastic boose hi fi system and iPod dock s system.
The manager is very attentive to your requests.

Room Tip: Try to have a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you for choosing our hotel and sharing your experience with us. Indeed the area around the hotel right now is not very busy yet, however with a short taxi ride of 5 minutes taxi you can reach the Mercedes the Benz Arena with multiple dining and entertainment options. Taking the taxi for 8-10 minutes will take you to the center of Lujiazui where the options for eating, drinking and shopping are endless. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Our family of five recently spent a night at this hotel as part of a 'staycation' (we live in Shanghai, an hour west of Pudong). Our corner room was well-designed, modern and clean, and everything was in good working order. With floor-to-ceiling windows, the views along the Huangpu River were impressive and our daughters (aged 9,5,2) loved watching the river traffic. There was fruit available in the room and a platter of turkish delight and coconut macaroons delivered in the evening.

The grounds were a surprise - large park area with playground equipment and kids entertainment. We loved the ambience of the Liquor Factory and spent the evening hanging out with the kids playing pool and enjoying a glass or two of wine. It was refreshing to have somewhere so pleasant within a hotel to spend the evening with the children.

The gym and hotel swimming pool were impressive. There's a nice albeit short boardwalk along the river across the road from the hotel with interesting sculptures.

We ate breakfast and brunch at the restaurant on-site on Sunday. While the food was of good quality and variety, service was fairly woeful. The local waitstaff were simply undertrained for such an establishment. For example, I had to ask for our cappuccinos three times before they were delivered to the table. I had received a cup of hot milk at one point! Actually, I think a single patron at a neighbouring table received our original beverages from a frazzled waitress.

Overall, this was a great hotel for us to stay for the weekend with the kids. Not the right location if you want to get out and explore Shanghai though as this part of town is very very quiet now that expo has finished. Remember to pack swimwear and gymwear to take advantage of the facilities available.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with river views on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mamaroopanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and taking time to share your great experience with us. We are pleased that you did enjoy your time in our hotel and really appreciate your great recognition. Looking forward to having you stay with us many more times in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

During my 12 days stay at this hotel 2nd September to 13th September i found the hotel to be very welcoming and comfortable right from being received on arrival by the concierge, to check in and then being shown all the facilities in the room. The room itself is really spacious and well appointed and is even suited for extended stays.
To work the Concierge very efficient in organizing taxi to my place of work and assisting in overcoming the language barrier with very clear directions.

The other services like Laundry and Housekeeping were excellent and very prompt. The Breakfast spread has to be seen to be believed as is the Dinner Buffet.In my opinion, both are reasonably priced and if you want to indulge try the Chinese Restaurant
I would highly recommend this hotel for any business traveler as it is a peaceful place to be after a hectic day and has all facilities to indulge in and relax.
The slight location disadvantage that this hotel has currently, will not for long, is more than overcome the way they look after their guests, nothing is too much for them and are also willing to assist.
Mumbai RD

Room Tip: Book a River Facing room and enjoy the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MumbaiRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us. We are honored to have great recognition from you. Sincerely invite you to stay with us in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This hotel was built to wow VIPs and honored guests during Shanghai's Expo and is situated close to the grounds. The quality of the build-out and facilities is top-notch. The health club and exercise areas rivals any premium gym in the city and the pool is luxurious. Post-expo I get the feeling that the hotel is hustling to deal with the slump and the relatively uninspiring neighborhood surrounding the property. The hotel has a wonderful garden area and converted liquor factory on the grounds for entertainment. As other posters have noted the neighborhood is rather dismal and there is nothing much going on in this part of town. However, joggers will love the waterfront park areas and relative peace and calm of the streets around here. Suites are definitely 5 star quality with corner rooms that have stunning views of the huangpu and skyline. The restaurants we tried in the hotel itself are competent and what you would expect from a solid four-star kitchen. Staffing is hit and miss, and you are definitely going to experience "China moments" from time to time. Nothing a China hand wouldn't be used to.

It will be interesting to note how the management handles the transition from VIP pit to regular working hotel in the next few years. I suppose the expectation is that the old Expo area will develop further and provide some business and "software" for the infrastructure in the area. This being China that is far from certain. In the meantime I suppose that they will have to make do off of event management and big shows at the Mercedes Benz arena up the road.

I'd definitely recommend the hotel for airline staff, frequent travellers that need access to PVG, business travellers going in and out of pudong and the new area, or anyone who's business for whatever reason requires them to be on the Pudong side. Not so great for tourists, night life lovers and those who want to be where the action is. Having said that - Taxis are cheap and easily available and the deals presented here make this an affordable luxury. Also ideal for Shanghai long term residents who want to just get away in their own city for a bit of pampering.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShanghaiJululu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us. We really appreciated for your suggestions that enable us to work on areas where we have room for improvement. We hope we can welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
InterContinental Shanghai Jing'An
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
World Expo
Sheraton Grand Shanghai Pudong Hotel & Residences
Century Park
Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Shanghai Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Shanghai Expo

Address: 1188 Xueye Road, Shanghai 200125, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > World Expo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#35 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#48 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#141 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $130 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Shanghai Expo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental Shanghai Expo hotel is the only international luxury hotel in Shanghai located adjacent to the 2010 World Expo site with impressive views of the Expo site, Huangpu River and city skyline. We offer personalized efficient Chinese service. “Better City Better Life” Expo theme is reflected in this lifestyle hotel through, the gardens, health club, historical villas and food & beverage concepts. The hotel is conveniently located to leisure and business areas with easy underground and bridge access around Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Shanghai Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Shanghai Expo Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing