We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Friendly Fun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Shanghai Expo
Ranked #29 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Family Friendly Fun”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We live in Shanghai and choose to have a “staycation” at this hotel primarily due to an event that was being held there. Over the two day stay we enjoyed the pool, room service, outdoor facilities, and fabulous Sunday brunch.

Check-in was a breeze, the staff were friendly, spoke excellent English, and were familiar with the group and the purpose of our visit. Our room was on the northwest corner of the hotel which provided amazing view of the Pu River - both north (Lujiazui where the BIG buildings are) and south (Expo and Lupu bridge). When we entered the room there were sweets and fruit prepared and welcoming us - enough for the whole family!

Food: The buffet is open 24 hours and offers a little bit of something for everyone. We ate breakfast there two mornings but the highlight was the amazing Sunday brunch (starts at 12:00 so if you have children, you will want to have a little breakfast). The highlights for our family were the Sushi for mom, burgers (outside on the grill) for dad and chocolate fountain for our daughter. There’s carving stands, dimsum, and made-to-order Vietnamese spring rolls. Service a breakfast was great - when I asked for coffee, the waitstaff turned to my daughter to ask if she wanted hot milk or hot chocolate. So nice to remember the kids! However, during the brunch, service was a little slow and had to request drinks more than once. We did order room service one night and I was pleasantly surprised to see options for children on the menu - food was delivered within 30 minutes (key for hungry kids).

Facilities: The hotel has amazing grounds with a great yard and play equipment for the kids. During the Sunday Brunch the hotel provides activities for the kiddos that are outside of the dinning area, but in a safe, confined area with supervision. The pool are is fantastic and well designed - you can do laps, and they have these semi-circle shallow areas where you can sit with the kids. The hot tub is huge and extremely enjoyable. Lounge beds/chairs throughout and a small patio to enjoy the sun. Like many pools in China, they require a swim cap, and they will provide if you don’t have one - the rule is not strictly enforced. Inside the locker rooms are a steam room and sauna. We didn’t use the gym, but I stuck my head in and it is a good size (not just a small hotel gym), well equipped, including a spin room. The bar is located outside where the hotel has a villa complex of old brick buildings - very relaxing, spacious, and fun.

Area: We spent the whole visit within the hotel grounds, and I do wish we had explored the river walk and more of the area. I do agree with other posts that the hotel is not centrally located, but it was very easy to get a taxi.

Without hesitation I recommend this hotel for anyone living in or visiting Shanghai!

Room Tip: As for a corner room with a great view up and down the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jendan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you very much for taking time to share your detailed comments with us! We are happy to hear the great experience you had with us and thank you also for pointing out an area where we need to work on.Thanks again for your recommendation and welcome back to you and your family in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    218
    57
    14
    12
See reviews for
57
65
44
366
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Great hotel to kick back after a long flight. The room itself was modern and spacious, with a fabulous view of the city and river. The view at night is especially spectacular with high rise / city lights surrounding the river.

Though the hotel is nestled away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Shanghai, taxis are cheap and efficient and metered if you needed to get around. The concierge were happy to organise transport.

The bathroom was also spacious sporting it's own entertainment system! Even equipped with weighing scales to monitor your indulgences when you're away in Shanghai!

Spa amenities were good. Swimming pool, heated pool, gym and steam rooms (separate for males and females).

Breakfast had a good selection - patisserie, cooked european breakfast, cold meats and Asian. I recommend the yoghurt to start. The lounge / club area was a treat. We enjoyed canapés and pre-dinner beverages with a great view.

Make sure you check out the gardens within the hotel complex - great for a walk in the morning after breakfast.

Shanghai is a busy city - the hotel was a nice space of calm.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyAnikan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel and sharing your feeling with us. We are very happy to hear you have a great stay with us. We hope you and your family will come to our hotel again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed here while doing an Expo on the 17th September 2012. Its a 30 minute brisk walk from the hotel to the Expo or Exhibition centre; OK if the weathers good. Otherwise its a short taxi ride. Downside is that its on the wrong side of the river for any evening entertainment on the Bund or in the French Concession area. Later in the evening Taxi drivers were either very reluctant to travel across the river back to the Expo hotel or claimed not to understand the address and map provided by the Hotel. Using the Metro gets you some of the way back but still only gets you a Taxi ride away from the Hotel.
Overall, a clean. modern, fresh International hotel that only lacked a good bar that is a starting point for an Expo Hotel. The bar here is like an afterthought that they have put in a nearby shed adjacent to the hotel. It is vaguely styled as a US sports bar; albeit adorned with Union Jacks?

Room Tip: If your not a member of the loyalty program, join as you check in and instantly get free late check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canterburykim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking time to share your comments with us! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our Liquor Factory in the 1930s original villas, that are located in our hotel gardens were previously the residence and the dormitory for China National Liquor Factory management. After conversion into a Britsh Style Pub with a modern design edge, we offer you a bar atmosphere, separate cigar lounge, out door pool table as well as live screening of major sports events. With the development of nearby business areas early next year, the location of the hotel will become more and more convenient. Looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabriz
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We Were at the Hotel on July 2012 for three days. It was a great hotel,the staff were very friendly and helpful.The concierge was very caring about showing you the ways.rooms were clean and food was delicious,you had oppurtunities to choose from a variety of cultures.everything was ok. The view was remarkable.The only disadvantage was its location far from the tourist attractions and shopping centers.there were no subway nearby also.but it was a considerable place to stay.

Room Tip: choose the rooms viewing the huangpu river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ariani50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us. We are very happy to see you have enjoyed your trip here. All the efforts we make is to meet and exceed each guest’s expectation. Looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I was extremely impressed by this hotel. I stayed in a ccorner suite and it was one of the nicest hotel rooms I have ever stayed in. Floor to celiing windows - excellent view - superb decor - really EXCELLENT. If I based the hotel on this it would be excellent. But when I checked out - the Bellgirl took my bag - I explained which airport I was going to - showed her which one it was and then she handed me off to a different person. This person put me into the taxi and then told the driver to bring me to thw wrong airport. BIZZARE. Lucky that I was listening carefully and then I corrected the hotel staff then asked which terminal. I showed him. What airline I was flying and then he had some words with the driver. As soon as we pulled out of the hotel - the driver turned to me and said Terminal 1? I thought how could there still be any question and nodded yes. I was brought to the wrong terminal - the other terminal is 20 minutes away and I almost missed my flight. How can the staff at this hotel be so STUPID. While the room was amongst the best I ever stayed at - the check out experience was THE WORST. Get you act together!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Experienced Traveler 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for taking time you share your comments with us. I am sorry to hear such an unpleasant experience you had after you check-out. We generally receive excellent and positive feedback on the service of our team and the level of service you are describing is entirely not what we would like our guests to experience. Please be assured that this is an isolated case. Could you please advise your email address so we can contact you directly to communicate further?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I stayed a this hotel for the weekend as we had a work dinner to attend. I had not stayed here for a while and the last time was ok, but not great...

It was a different hotel, the staff were very friendly, not just to me but our clients and other guests.

We used the pub in the villa area, service location and prices were very good. Not a lot of of other guests, just our group, which was great.

Room was was very large compare to previous stay, over looking the bund.

Very easy to get a taxis at night and in the morning, which is not always possible in China.

On Sunday we did some tourist things with some of our USA clients, it is on the other normal side of the bund, but getting there was not an issues.

I was impressed, surprised and will be back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwiawayMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you very much to share your great experience with us! We are pleased that you did enjoy your time in our hotel and really appreciate your great recognition. We always try our best to create "Great Hotels Guests Love" and sincerely welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Very nice, clean hotel, nothing at all to complain about, except the location.

Do: Stay here if you have business nearby, or a conference at the hotel
Do Not: Stay here if you are in Shanghai for sight-seeing, it's far away from everywhere you will want to go

Good room, decent service, nice food, slept very well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hkrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking the time to share your experience with us. We are honored to be recognized and it will encourage us to do better. It is only 8 minutes to Lujiazui by taxi and easy access to Puxi area. In the upcoming months the area around the hotel will develop further, offering our guests a higher number or businesses and sights to visit. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
#39 of 5,069 in Shanghai
779 reviews
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
#41 of 5,069 in Shanghai
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dapuqiao
Shanghai Marriott Hotel Riverside
World Expo
Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu
Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu
#130 of 5,069 in Shanghai
230 reviews
World Expo
Sheraton Grand Shanghai Pudong Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Shanghai Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Shanghai Expo

Property: InterContinental Shanghai Expo
Address: 1188 Xueye Road, Shanghai 200125, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > World Expo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#24 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#122 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Shanghai Expo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental Shanghai Expo hotel is the only international luxury hotel in Shanghai located adjacent to the 2010 World Expo site with impressive views of the Expo site, Huangpu River and city skyline. We offer personalized efficient Chinese service. “Better City Better Life” Expo theme is reflected in this lifestyle hotel through, the gardens, health club, historical villas and food & beverage concepts. The hotel is conveniently located to leisure and business areas with easy underground and bridge access around Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Shanghai Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Shanghai Expo Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing