We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful view of the river and near Expo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Shanghai Expo
Ranked #46 of 5,205 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed there once from three visit that i had in Shanghai in past two years, was not sure how the hotel will be
but liked the new hotel just by the sea beautiful view of the river.
The breakfast used to be good with wide variety of options to eat from chinese to american breakfast to even some indian options at times
Taxi was easily available, only thing was that it was not very near to metro station to just go around.
The room was upgraded for me, being a platinum member
Room service was good, staff smiling and helpful.
Loved the Italian place inside the hotel where i tried my favorite pasta.
would recommend to people on business.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ameya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are glad to hear the positive feedback from you and will continue to strive for the best. We hope you will come backin the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (797)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

314 - 320 of 797 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2012

No remarks, except one: the bars

1. the bar neighbouring to the restaurant:
a) closes at 22.00 - too early
b) no strong alcoholic drinks (only alcohol-free beverages, wine - quite good !!! and beer)

2. the evening bar
a) is located in adjacent, but seperate building, there may be some problems to get from the bar to the main hotel building during hewavy reian, which happens in Shanghhai
b) cloes to earle (at 01.00)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mysterious274856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Thank you very much for your comments. We will pass on your suggestion to our related department and will discuss if we can makesome changes. For special sports events, such as recently EURO 2012, we will extend the opening times of our bars so guests can watch the matches on the big screen. Thank you again for your advice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I spent 12 days in this luxurious hotel with a great view. I enjoyed the Club benefits surrounded by a helpful team with a gorgeous buffet during all day.
The variety of the food is exquisite.
I strongly recommend this hotel even though you need a taxi to go anywhere.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clarisse T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us and we are happy to hear you did enjoy your stay in our hotel. We appreciate your recognition and hope you will be back to our hotel soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

With moderately low occupancy (i was told it was built for the world expo) you get lots of attention here. If the staff are sometimes not as well trained they are keen to learn to perform their duties better. The food is very good - at the lobby restaurant (huge selection of buffet food) and especially in the italian restaurant- salads were perfectly dressed and dishes were as tasty as they are in Italy! There is also a lovely bar in the hotel gardens, housed in restored buildings - that for a moment made me think i was somewhere in Europe! I stayed in a club room with a view of the huang pu river and also enjoyed drinks and snacks in the club lounge! Concierge was also very helpful. Beautiful indoor pool but had to buy a swimming cap to use it. Spa was as per international hotel standards. A really pleasant stay indeed

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlohaTrave1er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your pleasant experience with us! We are pleased to have positive comments and recognition from you and that's what we are trying to deliver to every one of our guests. The home-made style Italian restaurant and rebuilt British Pub in 1930's historical villas are all the highlights of our hotel. Indoor and outdoor spaces brings guests relaxing feel of the city resort. Thanks again and we welcome you to our hotel again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I would like to share the wonderful experiences I had with here, from the moment I checked in and the date I checked out. The check in experiences was great with no fuss and service staff was kind enough and help with my language.The room was great with an awesome view overlooking the river....The happy hours and the breakfast was good and the concierge is very helpful, their staff was kind enough,I would highly recommend any travellers to check into the InterContinental Shanghai Expo.

Room Tip: Corner room with great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your pleasant experience with us. We are honored to get the recognition from you. Your comments are very important to us and they give us more enthusiasm and confidence to continue delivering the attentive service with high quality to create "Great Hotel Guests Love" experience to all of our guests. We very much appreciate your kind recommendation and sincerely welcome you back to our hotel in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My corner suite room was very luxurious and the TV screen built into the mirror in the bathroom quite a novelty. Beautiful views over the river. Laundry service was mostly good for the 8 days I was there, although the time I needed the express service, the laundry failed to arrive. We had booked a meeting room for 7am for 90 minutes one day for a Board meeting, but the room was not ready and after a lot of shouting, finally the chairs arrived at 7.30. Also the breakfast failed to arrive in the meeting room and despite chasers to the staff in English and Chinese, various cups of coffee started to arrive only at 8am without the pastries and without milk and sugar! Finally our Board Presidents were so frustrated that they all walked out of the meeting at 8.15 and we held it on another day in another location. I refused to pay for the meeting room and the breakfast, but the hotel was very angry and said that they did all they could to remedy their mistakes. Unfortunately I did not agree! From what I understand, the hotel is struggling to hire staff, and unfortunately this lets the hotel down.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolina46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us, it is very important to the hotel. We regret to hear about the unpleasant experience you had in our hotel. We generally receive excellent and positive feedback on the service of our team and the level of service you are describing is entirely not what we would like our guests to experience. We strive to offer the highest level of care and hospitality to all our guests with the legendary Chinese hospitality. Please be assured that this is an isolated case. We have been in communicating with our contact for this booking to find a solution that will be acceptable and reinstates the trust in out hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you to our hotel again in the future and hope you will have a pleasant and enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I only stayed there for 1 night, the room that I stayed has a beautiful river view. The room was clean and spacious. You can watch TV while you are in the bath tub. The TV image was projected on the wall above the batch tub. It is cool!
Staff was friendly and helpful. Food was good.
I took the taxi, and the staff record down the taxi number and my destination. This give me some secure feeling.
Overall, we enjoy our stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YellowstonePark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We’re happy to receive the positive feedback from you and our core is to make every guest feel satisfied and convenient. We’re dedicated to focus on every single detail and would like to show our hotel’s essence. Hope you will stay with us in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
#47 of 5,205 in Shanghai
848 reviews
Changfeng Park
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Shanghai NECC
#103 of 5,205 in Shanghai
105 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Century Park
Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Shanghai Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Shanghai Expo

Address: 1188 Xueye Road, Shanghai 200125, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > World Expo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#33 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#46 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#123 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $133 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Shanghai Expo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental Shanghai Expo hotel is the only international luxury hotel in Shanghai located adjacent to the 2010 World Expo site with impressive views of the Expo site, Huangpu River and city skyline. We offer personalized efficient Chinese service. “Better City Better Life” Expo theme is reflected in this lifestyle hotel through, the gardens, health club, historical villas and food & beverage concepts. The hotel is conveniently located to leisure and business areas with easy underground and bridge access around Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Shanghai Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Shanghai Expo Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing