We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best in Shanghai” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Peninsula Shanghai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Peninsula Shanghai
Ranked #8 of 4,967 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Terneuzen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The best in Shanghai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Everything is great in this hotel. Entering the lobby after a walk in the smog this feels like heaven. Smooth check in, large rooms, beds are top, dressing, great bathroom, separate bath and shower, Nespresso coffy machine, free VOIP calls. Great entertainment possibilities, iPod docking station, 46" plasma TV (even watching TV in the bathroom) is all possible. A la carte breakfast is very nice, lunch and dinner in private dining rooms, everything is really excellent, both service, quality of the food and location. Will not consider any other hotel in Shanghai after this experience.

Room Tip: I had a Deluxe Room and it was really fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaSH, Manager at The Peninsula Shanghai, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear rbun ,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

I am delighted that you consider us “The Best in Shanghai”! I am glad that you enjoyed our food quality as this is something we are very proud of, particularly our enhanced breakfast offerings.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Please do let me know when you shall be returning (garethroberts@peninsula.com).

Kind regards,

Gareth Roberts
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    173
    45
    19
    14
See reviews for
169
326
46
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
141 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

What a great hotel. Perfect in every sense, from the airport pick-up, to checking-in in our room, the food, the luxurious room, wonderful staff. Nespresso coffee, two types of bath robes.....
I could go on forever, but most of it has already been said by other satisfied guests.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PedroMig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaSH, Manager at The Peninsula Shanghai, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear PedroMig,

Many thanks for your kind words about The Peninsula Shanghai. It certainly seems you were able to experience many of the wonderful facets of the hotel!
I am so glad to learn that you enjoyed your time with us. Please visit us again soon.

Kind regards,

Gareth Roberts
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at the Peninsula. The hotel is tastefully decorated in art deco style and beautifully appointed in both communal areas and in rooms. We stayed four nights in a Deluxe room, which was spacious, quiet and had the full suite of modern electronics (including a nespresso machine). The beds were incredibly comfortable and the bath was adjacent to a window which looked out over the old British embassy.

In terms of location, the Peninsula is ideally located for enjoying the Bund which is particularly worth walking along at night. The rooftop bar must surely have one of the most magical views down the river and across to Pudong in all of Shangai.

The quality of the staff at the hotel was exceptional; not only were they thick on the ground, but they were immaculately trained and made every effort to make sure we were as comfortable as possible. In particular, the concierge service and attention to detail was superb. It's well worth spending one afternoon having tea in the lobby as guests and non-guests descend to enjoy the semi-colonial atmosphere. If you are stuck for a lunch order, try the club sandwhich - excellent!

From start to finish we had a wonderful experience and leave with many good memories. Certainly one of the best hotel stays I have ever had.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaSH, Manager at The Peninsula Shanghai, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Sam G,

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a thorough review of your experience at The Peninsula Shanghai. While I was delighted to read all of your comments I was particularly happy to learn how exceptional you found our staff to be.

We are privileged to have a wonderful, passionate team who genuinely love what they do each day. I am happy that this shone through during your time with us.

I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Please let me know when you shall be returning (garethroberts@peninsula.com).

Best wishes,

Gareth Roberts
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

There is, quite literally, not a bad word to say about this hotel.

Service: Not only polite and heplful, as you'd expect in such an hotel; the concierge remembered our names, suggested sights, restaurants (and not just the most expensive ones!), and even organised to have our laundry delivered to a cheaper chinese laundry rather than using the expensive hotel service! They never push you to use their services, and are more than happy to call up regular dirt cheap cabs if you need them, rather than there town cars, etc..

Rooms: HUGE beds, and beautiful bathrooms. Each room comes with a whole dressing room, which was great for dumping our bags (you don't know you need one until you have one!).

Spa and Pool: Massive pool, with a lovely terrace that captures the evening light.

Food: Breakfast was delicious. A fantastic patisserie selection; best croissants I've ever eaten! Also, a great a la carte range of western and eastern breakfast dishes. As for lunch, the club sandwich is EPIC. The dining room (The Lobby) is always bustling with people and has a lovely atmosphere, particularly when people are having afternoon tea and there is a string quartet playing.

Architecture/Decor: The hotel is in a lovely art deco style. Of particular note is The Lobby, which is a big, incredibly high ceiling hall which serves a restaurant/dining hall.

Rooftop Bar: You won't find a better view in Shanghai. Right on the curve of the river, the view of Pudong at night is really magical.

There is far more that I could say and I cannot recommend this hotel more highly.

Room Tip: If you get a room on the north west corner, you get the most beautiful afternoon light. Ours was roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishcake76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaSH, Manager at The Peninsula Shanghai, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Fishcake76,

Many thanks for your glowing review of The Peninsula Shanghai! I am so happy that you had such a memorable experience with us and found our staff to be accommodating to your needs. And I am delighted that you found our improved breakfast offerings to be so delicious!

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon, please do let me know when that will be (garethroberts@peninsula.com).

Kind regards,

Gareth Roberts
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador
Level Contributor
146 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Taking advantage of the commemoration of our 25th years anniversary trip, as well as our honeymoon, following our wedding thanks to the new French law about marriage for all, we decided to inform all the hotels we had booked of the purpose of this trip and our civil situation.
We decided to book the Rolls Royce transfer from the airport: it worth doing it one time in your life, in particular for a special occasion. The Peninsula is perfectly localized at the end of the Bund (just out of the hotel’s doors you reach the fabulous promenade), facing Pudong modern skyscrapers and the Pearl tower.
We were welcomed by the Director, who joined us until our fantastic room with breathtaking views, to complete our check-in. A wonderful cake (and delicious!!), with reference to our celebrations, and a bottle of champagne were expecting us. The beautiful decoration of the room, its equipment, the splendid bathroom, make this hotel one of the nicest we stayed in. It’s pure high luxury. We had a massage at the SPA, good for me, a bit too hard for my husband, and tested quickly the amazing indoor swimming pool: no time enough to enjoy it as it should be…
The concierge booked a restaurant for us and we were surprised there, at the end of our dinner, to see our deserts arriving with small fireworks and again mention of our celebration, while we didn’t ask for that. The Concierge staff also bought for us, with extreme efficiency, a hair clipper we looked at desperately in many shops without any success.
Two minor critics: the absolutely divine rooftop bar should deserve a smiling, attentive and nice team (Ken in particular was almost disagreeable), and the Cantonese food we had at the specialized restaurant, with extremely nice decoration, was a bit disappointing in terms of flavors.
But no doubt at all, The Peninsula is “The hotel” where to stay at in Shanghai, absolutely.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franceses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaSH, Manager at The Peninsula Shanghai, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear franceses,

Thank you for your wonderful review of The Peninsula Shanghai. It was a pleasure to meet you during your stay and I am so glad you enjoyed your anniversary and honeymoon celebration with us.

The Peninsula cherishes these “moments” in life and I trust that we will have the opportunity to share future ones with you also.

Please know that your two points of valuable feedback are also very much taken to heart and will be addressed accordingly.

Once again, congratulations.

Warm regards,
Gareth Roberts
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

The Peninsula Shanghai is a wonderful hotel. The experience began with in room check in, so appreciated. The rooms are quiet and beautiful, and, as many have noted, it is so worth it to get a river view room. The evening light show from Pudong is crazy fun and the twinkling lights of the passing river boats are also festive. In the morning, people were doing Tai Chi on the riverbank while others were flying kites. The service was amazing. Our first night at the hotel, my daughter was feeling ill, I called the hotel in a bit of a panic, and they arrived to pick us up and were so sweet. After that we used the concierge services for dinner recommendations, and the restaurants suggested were terrific. I was so sad to leave the hotel, our Rolls Royce car service arrived at the airport, but the experience wasn't over yet. A lovely man from the Peninsula opened the car door the moment we arrived at the airport, saw us and our luggage through the flight check in line and shepherded us to the outbound mmigration queue. Wow, amazing service! I unreservedly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ApricotHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaSH, Manager at The Peninsula Shanghai, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear ApricotHill ,
Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. While you were sad to depart I do hope that I will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,
Gareth Roberts
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Hotel just opened 3 years ago and has all the luxury you expect from a 5 star hotel. The electronic outfit in the room takes you some time to learn, but after that you will be spoiled by the ease of using them. One small remark, the lobby could use some easy lounge couches to relax and enjoy the hotel s atmosphere. Do not forget to visit the Compass bar on the 14th floor and enjoy the stunning evening views of Shanghai´s unique skyline

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaSH, Manager at The Peninsula Shanghai, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Bernard M,
Many thanks for your review. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your experience with us and were able to use many of the wonderful in-room electronic conveniences. I appreciate your comments about the lobby furnishing and this is something we will review. I look forward to your return visit soon.

Best regards,
Gareth Roberts
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#6 of 4,967 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Shanghai

Property: The Peninsula Shanghai
Address: No. 32 Zhong Shan Dong Yi Road, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#6 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#8 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#12 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#184 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the historic Bund with spectacular views of the Bund, Huangpu River, Pudong and former British Consulate gardens, The Peninsula Shanghai perfectly blends with the historic architecture of its landmark neighbours. The Peninsula Shanghai, which opened in October 2009, is the first new building to be constructed on the historic Bund in over 60 years. Offering the best of Peninsula traditions and a range of signature services and facilities, including Shanghai's largest guestrooms and the city's highest staff-to-guest ratio, The Peninsula also heralds the return of parent company, The Hongkong and Shanghai Hotels, Limited, to Shanghai where it owned and operated four of the city's premier hotels in the 1920s to 1940s - The Kalee, The Astor House, The Palace and The Majestic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Peninsula Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Shanghai Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing