We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Peninsula”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Peninsula Shanghai
Ranked #7 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Classic Peninsula”
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Hotel has everything you would expect from a Peninsula - elegant decor, great room layouts, delicious food and excellent service. The only inconvenience that I found (I've stayed here 4-5 times) is that there are no international electrical sockets near the bed (so you cannot charge your iPhone and use it as an alarm by your bed - the charger is over by the desk). The only other minor item is that the more they know you, the better they treat you. Understandable, but the staff need to understand that everybody should be treated with same degree of warmth/care. I have stayed in all the major hotels in Shanghai and must say that this ranks as the best!

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    907
    182
    47
    19
    14
See reviews for
177
355
48
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caracas, Venezuela
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very great and their service is as it has to be. It is one of the best hotel in Shanghai. Tea Time is excellent. The rooms are very nice, comfortable and they have a glamorous modern touch. The hotel is located on the Bund side, so you can have a walk during the night over this area. My room has a incredible view of the TV Tower.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ACJI97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I have been traveling back and forth to Shanghai for quite some time and I must say, Peninsula is my favorite hotel in Shanghai. The room is amazingly comfortable and the gym and pool is one of the best. I stayed at the deluxe room facing Pudong and the Huangpu river and Peninsula does have one of the best hotel view. The bathroom is spacious and my gf loves the walk-in closet. Also tried the Chinese Restaurant, Yi Long Court, and that cantonese restaurant is great as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Just returned from a trip to Southeast Asia and this was our first stop. Al lovely gracious old world style hotel in an excellent location, right on the Bund. We walked most nights to the restaurants we wanted to eat in and just to take a troll along the river.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

5 stars for the room, service, food, location and spa! First of all, we had booked for the S-class airport transfer but were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a Rolls-Royce! What a delightful start to the trip! We were impressed with the Rolls-Royce. Very impressed!
Even the most basic room was luxuriously spacious, with elegant furnishings, a walk-in closet and a large bathroom with 2 sinks, a marble bathtub, a shower stall and a separate toilet space. Service was impeccable, with requests granted and cheery staff greeting you everywhere every time they saw you.
We had their American breakfast every morning in The Lobby, where you get to choose a main from around 12 to 15 choices (I had the eggs benedict one morning and the congee option the next). There was also a mini-buffet table of fruits, cheeses, pastries, yogurts and cereals.
We had dinner at Yi Long Court, which was tastefully designed and a very nice place to enjoy a quiet dinner. I particularly enjoyed the chicken/ chestnut claypot dish. We also went to Sir Elly's for lunch. Their truffle risotto, part of a 2- or 3-course meal, was lovely and their pumpkin soup was creatively served in a small pumpkin. Good value for your money, given the location, hotel and food!
I also took advantage of their WEEKDAY SPA PACKAGE, which included exfoliation, massage and a lunch in addition to usage of their spa facilities an hour before the treatment session. Though the spa facilities (smaller saunas/ changing room/ crystal shower, lack of harbour views- or any view for that matter- in the relaxation room) didn't measure up to that of Hong Kong's Peninsula, I still enjoyed the exfoliation and massage package. I also got Fiona as my therapist! And she was very professional and competent. Their lunch was nothing special but I liked the huge portions and how I got to sit privately on the verandah beside the swimming pool and jacuzzi, looking out onto the garden.
We often walked along the Bund and along the smaller streets to get a feel of what life is like for the locals (well, locals living near the Bund!). We also discovered a nice neighbourhood behind the Peninsula, where there was a huge mansion (a consulate?) which was fenced off and surrounded by lovely tended gardens. Taking the taxi from the Peninsula to Xintiandi costed around 15RMB. The hotel is also a nice walk away from Mr. and Mrs. Bund restaurant which we tried for the first time since we saw raving online reviews. We were impressed and enjoyed a delicious dinner overlooking the Bund.
All in all, it was an excellent stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BB100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I highly recommend getting a room with a river view of the Bund, if you are staying here. You won't regret it! I actually liked the PuLi hotel (which is a completely different feel and style) better than the Peninsula, but it was a terrific hotel with wonderful service and a stunning view, so I'm giving it 5 stars also. The high tea service is super charming - and quite a crowd show up for it! The breakfast was also a highlight for me. Kind of old-school luxury, and an amazing location, right on the Bund. The pool is amazing, too. My only advice is to make sure you get a room with a view!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTrav2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for two nights in January 2013. In general, this is a good hotel, but I am not very impressed by its snobbish staff.

As a Shanghaiese, I invited my old parents to visit me and have a lunch there. My parents and I arrived there first, the staff didn't even welcome us and just looked at us suspiciously. If they didn't see my partner who is a Caucasian walking behind us, we might not be offered seats.

We booked a Deluxe garden room including breakfasts (AU$360 per night) I have to the room is big, but the hotel is not close to Metro stations. The closest station is Nanjing Dong Lu station (or East Nanjing Road station), several street blocks away. To me, I have to walk 10-15 minutes.

Still in the restaurant which is at the lobby, the buffet breakfast is actually semi buffet, and there are only pastries and fruits are self-served. All other foods,you have to order through a waiter or waitress. If you want to order more food, they will "kindly" suggest you finish the first dish before order more. OMG, it seems I am an idiot and even don't know what I am doing. I asked if they also have any Chinese newspapers (as I haven't read Chinese newspaper for so long time), I was replied by the waiter that he was not sure if they had the Chinese newspaper on that day and he would have a check first. I was pissed off even though he gave me the newspaper later. Give me a break, this hotel is not in Europe.

This hotel is at a great location for the view of the Bund, but not for other things.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bin2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#8 of 5,069 in Shanghai
1,936 reviews
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
#2 of 5,069 in Shanghai
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Shanghai

Property: The Peninsula Shanghai
Address: No. 32 Zhong Shan Dong Yi Road, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#6 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#7 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#12 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#193 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the historic Bund with spectacular views of the Bund, Huangpu River, Pudong and former British Consulate gardens, The Peninsula Shanghai perfectly blends with the historic architecture of its landmark neighbours. The Peninsula Shanghai, which opened in October 2009, is the first new building to be constructed on the historic Bund in over 60 years. Offering the best of Peninsula traditions and a range of signature services and facilities, including Shanghai's largest guestrooms and the city's highest staff-to-guest ratio, The Peninsula also heralds the return of parent company, The Hongkong and Shanghai Hotels, Limited, to Shanghai where it owned and operated four of the city's premier hotels in the 1920s to 1940s - The Kalee, The Astor House, The Palace and The Majestic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peninsula Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Shanghai Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing