We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worlds hardest beds and worse” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baron Business Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baron Business Hotel
Ranked #515 of 4,966 Hotels in Shanghai
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worlds hardest beds and worse”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

The only reason I have given a one star rating is because of the hotel's location. A mere 5 minutes walk from the Bund and 10 minutes walk to upper Nanjing Road (shopping district), the hotel is located in a lovely area close to a few general convenience stores, a wonderful coffee shop (Cova Coffee) and a lovely local restaurant with some awesome food (Grandmothers).

The rest of our experience was rather horrible. The hotel is quite small and has large buildings surrounding it, and so your view out the window is of the back-end of another building. The lobby and decor look impressive to begin with, until you start noticing the wall paper is damaged and in some cases has been torn from the wall. Other areas of the walls have been chipped with bare plaster exposed underneath. It seems when small things start deteriorating they are simply left to get worse, with little maintenance to damaged areas.

It seems as if there is smoking in the whole hotel with the handyman or some employee smoking at the reception desk constantly, apart from his coughing and belching every so often. The hotel staff at the reception area also light up at will in a small room behind the reception desk, which is visible (and smellable, if that is a word) to the guests.

The breakfast, if you are a western tourist, is not very welcoming, with hard pre-fried oily eggs and hard bacon-like ham available. There were 2 types of fruit with pre-mixed juice and coffee/tea. The rest catered for Asian guests. The staff on hand in the breakfast room, including the chefs, sat round uninterested and glued to their cell phones.

The room we had on the 5th floor, while large and clean, was somewhat empty with a King size bed (or actually two beds pushed together with two separate mattresses), one small chair and a small desk. Other than the wardrobe mirror, there was no other mirror in the room which meant that I had to sit on the floor in a somewhat yoga-styled position (in front of the wardrobe) in order to blow dry my hair, as the hair dryer cable was short.

The bathroom has a bath and bath shower (with half broken shower curtain), which for the cost of a Premier suite is not sufficient. They also ration you on toilet paper as they only leave what seems to be a half roll per day...? Then if you want to have a shower late afternoon, you are left with cold water... For some reason it only heats up in the morning.

The wallpaper in the room is bulging and cracked, and the duvet cover is torn... Then you get to the bed. I think a slab of cement would be equally as comfortable. Whether this is what they were "going for" or whether the mattress was simply shot, who knows, but you will hardly get a good nights rest.

Staff speak broken English (or "chinglish" as we were told by a local) which isn't sufficient. I requested one member to write down the address of a restaurant we wanted to go to, and found that she wrote down the incorrect address thus sending us to the wrong place... That cost a double taxi fare as our incorrect location was across town. When we tried to checkout, there was only one young lady behind the reception desk trying to checkin a gentleman, answer the phone, discuss issues with the cigarette smoking, belching and coughing handyman all at the same time, while I had to wait patiently for nearly 10 minutes to notify of our airport transfers.

Allegedly has quick wifi throughout the hotel - slow at best, and that's if you can connect from your room.

Terrible value for money. Definitely won't be returning.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ailalay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    109
    85
    28
    16
See reviews for
38
64
32
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, NV
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We paid $50USD per night on Hotel.com for a double room and I feel like the room was well worth it. The negative things were the very hard beds (harder than any other hotel we stayed in while in China), the terrible view out of the window (room 321) and the alley you have to take to get to the hotel (the buildings on both sides of the alley look quite ugly but the hotel is just 100 meters or so off the main street). Overall, the hotel is quite nice. The bedding is clean and comfortable, the room is very clean by Chinese standards. The furniture and the TV are modern. There is even a computer in the room you can use. Free internet - both wired and wi-fi. Only one English channel (CCTV News), no CNN or any other western news channels. Lots of toiletries are provided (no conditioner though). The location is great, only a couple of minutes' walk to the Bund. There are a couple of convenience stores and small inexpensive restaurants within a block or two. The East Nanjing Rd subway station is about 10 min by foot. Overall we were happy with the hotel. Make sure you book it on one of the discount travel sites because the hotel's rate for the same room was $150USD per night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elko1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krumbach, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Well worth a stay Location excellent very close to the centre and the pedestrian zone other tourist attractions like the Bund and People’s square and a short ferry trip to Pundong Price very good for a big city,Hotel friendly and clean

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BernardB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had three rooms and paid a very high price!
No people in the reception on nighttime!
Very bad condition on the room, dirty and very simple and hard beds!
No mirror in the bathroom!
No shower draperi!
A wall just outside the window!
Wake-up call for our early return flight - Reception forgot to call!
Very poor room service!

VARNING! This is absolute not a 4 star hotel - In best case a 2 STAR!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shanghai hotels

Stockholm
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Overall we are happy with our stay at the Baron Business Hotel. It was very central, though a bit far away from the subway. But it was very close to other tourist attractions like the Bund and People’s square.
Rooms are spacious, as well as the bathroom. We also got a bath tub, and a lot of toiletries. We found the bed a bit too hard, but the pillows were comfy.
The negative part was that we had a non-smoking room that was actually stinking of smoke when we arrived. Even the linens and bathrobes had a smoke smell. Some nights we felt more smoke smell coming into the room, I guess because other people were smoking in their rooms. Other than that it was clean.
In the room it was a big wardrobe, desk and flatscreen TV. Majority of Chinese channels though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank everythingcounts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
'round the word
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for two nights and its location what was best value of this hotel. Room is medium big, clean and ok, but view is 0. But hotel is in yard, so its very calm over the night and you will get very good sleep. Everything is cleaned and services run well. I have only problem with one of reception girl, who wasnt very helpfull and was very strict. Probably a manager, because she has other dress then others. But all other stuff was helpfull. Also what is good that i didnt encounter there everywhere presented hookers and pimps and i wasnt phoned at night with theirs offers, which is now very common in this area. Breakfast was nice, they have chinese style with western food also, so you can manage.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Filip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Simple hotel 2 blocks from Bund. The room was very clean and comfortable.
Some gorceries stores on the same street. 10 minutes from the nearest subway station.
Staff was ok.
Fridge and tea in room.
Luggage deposit if you need.
A good choice for Shanghai.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caproni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
JinJiang Metropolo Classiq Hotel, Shanghai Bund Circle
The Bund
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Off Bund
The Bund Riverside Hotel
#165 of 4,966 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Charms Hotel
Charms Hotel
#450 of 4,966 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
People’s Square
Salvo Hotel Shanghai
Salvo Hotel Shanghai
#191 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
People’s Square
Seventh Heaven Hotel
Seventh Heaven Hotel
#144 of 4,966 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baron Business Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baron Business Hotel

Property: Baron Business Hotel
Address: No.105-1 Fuzhou Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #515 of 4,966 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Baron Business Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Baron Business Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing