We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Baron Business Hotel
Ranked #617 of 5,035 Hotels in Shanghai
aston
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

When considering whether to stay here, I had some concerns. 1) Would the hotel, way off in China, recognize my prepaid reservation through hotels.com? 2) Would the room be a tiny, uncomfortable cell? 3) Would the bathroom be down the hall and shared? 4) Would there be air conditioning?
Other reviews made me worry that staff spoke no English and the bed would be a wooden board. Well I should not have worried. I loved this place. Staff spoke English and my reservation popped right up. (They did take a credit card impression as a deposit, which was voided on checkout)
The room was fantastic: huge king bed, not hard at all. (Whoever complains about hard beds must sleep on a water bed at home. I found it comfortable.) Huge (personal) bathroom with a nice shower. Air conditioning worked great. After a long day of walking around Shanghai and sweating, this place was a paradise.
Wifi worked great. There was a computer already in the room; not sure if all rooms have them. Minor issue: the window looked out at a wall. No view. In the hallway hung some nice art. Elevator slow, but never a long wait. Long line at checkout if you try to do that at 9 am. I asked for 12 p.m. checkout, which they granted easily, and had no line.
I did not eat at the restaurant, but didn't like what I saw on the menu for breakfast. (I walked down the street a bit and found vendors cooking some good scallion pancakes with eggs.) Note: Hotel is off the street. You have to walk down an alley to reach the building. Not a problem though.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a King bed for a couple dollars extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobbbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    111
    86
    30
    17
See reviews for
38
67
33
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

The location is the best of te best just two blocks from the bund and nanjing road also near by a subway station just trhee blocks.
The staff is nice and friendly eventhough thet barely speaks english
The room is clean and nice except for the beds they are hard and the pillows to softs
The restaurant serves a decent western breakfast for a very low price
The htl has taxis outside so is very easy to move around
The worst : beds

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cjugc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Baron Business Bund hotel is a great place to stay in Shanghai.Rooms are clean and size is Ok if not big.Front desk is helpful and can converse in.Service is good although being a vegetarian I didnt have much to order other than beer.The junior staff although was not very good.They were racist against fellow Asians.They run after westerners and dont bother much about people from Asia.They run after tips only.Business room was horrible and had to wait long to get computer.Location is the plus point of this hotel,just overlooking Bund.You can go to the bund as many times as you want in a day.Very close to many other markets too.Room alloted to me had no view as rooms with view were booked.Over all its a hotel with great Location.Manager of hotel seemed to be a hard working man.

Room Tip: Look for rooms in front with view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandeep m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

This is a small business hotel. The Hotel looks dated from outside but the rooms are redone and modern. I used the business room and the bathroom was quite modern and decently spacious. This hotel is in a side lane so a map to reach here by taxi is essential but this is true for any other hotel in China. The location from sightseeing/shopping point of view is good since the Nanjing Street and Bund are very close by. The metro station is also a 5 min Walk away.
There are no facilities and it is a very basic hotel. Breakfast is very average and like a 3 Star Property. It is good for a short stay and if you want to have something social to do in the evenings.

Room Tip: Pay a little Extra for a betteroom. It is more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shrawanmumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

If you love hearing Chairman Mao's communist-era folk song tribute rung out on nearby church bells every 15 minutes, then this hotel is for you. Great location and super easy to get a taxi outside (not always easy in Shanghai). I was inconvenienced by a delayed check-in for nearly an hour on arrival because the desk staff spoke no English and the manager was not on duty for two days and could not, or would not, be reached by phone (manager later explained that the desk staff were new and not trained properly and sent a nice letter of apology along with some free breakfast coupons). Rooms are very noisy, starting with the cleaning ladies who shout at each other and turn their walkie-talkies up full blast from 8am onwards making it impossible to get a restful sleep - essential for a venue billing itself as a business hotel. Complaints to the desk staff resulted in more apologies and improvement for a day or two, then the staff noise started up again. Breakfast buffet is reasonable (about US$6) but just around the corner you can get some of Shanghai's best dumplings and noodles at Wufangzhai cafe for under $2. Free Net access on both LAN and Wi-Fi. Price was right, but would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the inside of the building which only have windows looking onto adjacent rooms an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012 via mobile

For a hotel that sees a lot of foreign tourists, no one even bothers to try to communicate, although i know first hand they speak enough english to help. When it comes to taking my money, english is not a problem, but when it comes to asking for help, which in the in-room book says to ask the lobby, all of a sudden I am from an alien world and apparently do not exist. Terrible, terrible first impression - very dismissive and condescending. I would not, absolutely NOT, stay here ever again. Rooms were so-so, nothing to write anyone about. I give this place a 1.5/10 just based on service alone. Spend your money elsewhere, where they will actually appreciate your business.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dub_1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shanghai hotels

Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We booked our room for 500 RMB per night, including breakfast and internet. FABULOUS location and nice staff. Happy we stayed here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kcemail2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
JinJiang Metropolo Classiq Hotel, Shanghai Bund Circle
The Bund
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Off Bund
The Bund
Bund Garden Hotel
Bund Garden Hotel
#381 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund Riverside Hotel
#164 of 5,035 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
People’s Square
Salvo Hotel Shanghai
Salvo Hotel Shanghai
#214 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
People’s Square
Charms Hotel
Charms Hotel
#515 of 5,035 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baron Business Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baron Business Hotel

Property: Baron Business Hotel
Address: No.105-1 Fuzhou Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #617 of 5,035 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Baron Business Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Baron Business Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing