We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gallery Suites
Nearby Hotels
$301
$282
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$188
$113
NewWorldHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$172
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$436
$297
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$301
$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$157
$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$156
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Kunlun Jing An(Shanghai)
$162
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$154
$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$101
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveler rating
59
100
21
9
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
100
21
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshengshan roadart decogreat boutiqueold french concessionroad metro stationbreakfast roomshort walkthe hotel staffstayed for nightsrooms are largetoilettvvanitysofaxujiahuitub
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 196 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

When we arrived we were a bit shocked. The hotel looks very run down and shabby. After checking in we went to our twin room (which we had booked through Agoda but that seemed to have confused matters at reception) via the lift which absolutely stunk - it was wet through the carpet both days we were there and nothing was done about it.

The room is beautiful and huge. We absolutely love the art deco style and the bathroom was enormous too, including bath and shower and sit down basin area. Wardrobes everywhere.

But the room smelt terrible. Was in need of a paint job. Just looked as though it would have been killer six or seven years ago, but had never been touched up. And has likely been sold or the owners (or group) don't care anymore or don't have the capital to keep it up to scratch.

A massive shame. Because this would be so popular and effective if it had been kept in shape.

Great value if you want a big and decorative room in the concession. If you want the details, don't bother.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bradmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I must say that the hotel staff are very friendly and extremely helpful; hotel service is great and the room is super cleans; it is convinently located in downtown shanghai! The room is beautifully decorated! Great place for relaxing.

Room Tip: I was at room 305, and it is good!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wonderali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Hopefully I didn't write a comment on the first day: I was there for 5 nights , and the service was so poor , that I was about to leave after a few questions with no answers at the front desk. It is really a pity because in fact the hotel is really well located , and very calm , the rooms are great and spacious ( except the location of the toilets , in front of the room , with no doors, , if you are alone it is not a problem but I would have been really upset if I was not alone)
The breakfast is really basic, but I saw some Chinese customers that seemed to appreciated , so just don't try the continental one, bread and croissants are just bad.
Concerning service , I understand now why the comments are so different, because there is one of the girl that speaks English and try to be helpfull , and also especially one man( I think his name is Andy) so if you are are the right time at the right place , you will be served by those 2 that are really kind and great , otherwise you will have to deal with the 3 other front desk girls that are playing games ,or even sleeping, and never even turn their head to say hello or bye , we'll in fact they cannot as they don't speak a word , really a word of English... At the end I can recommend this hotel , as location and good rooms are maybe the more important , and if you get lucky you can even have the service include:) last conclusion , the photographer that took the pictures on the website is really good , or the pictures are old , because it is far from what it really looks like....

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piethPhnomPenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here on our Asia trip over New Years and really enjoyed it. The hotel is extremely well located in the French Concession, very close to the Metro and near a bunch of fun bars and interesting restaurants. The price was right and the rooms are really well done. Of course, we're both particularly into art deco, and it doesn't hurt that the rooms are huge. The staff also has a fantastic command of English, which can be tough at times in China.

The single qualm we had is that some of the rooms have very...interestingly located toilets. Indeed, some are far around the corner of the bathroom, but others face the open bedroom.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N1120A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I chose the place as I love what I saw from the pictures as it has a very strong Art Deco / Old Shanghai feel, but when I enter my room, I was disappointed to find that the place is not very well maintained. Things are a little old, especially the metal blinds in the bathroom are bent.

When I arrived, the reception was cold and nonchalant when I ask questions. There was nobody to show us to the room either. I went during the end of December, so the weather was cold, but the heater is not very warm even though we have adjusted the temperature high. The location of the hotel is not close to any sights or attractions.

I stayed in a few hotels during my stay and this place fair the worst. There are many better options in Shanghai.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucyDiamonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews