We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor location, poor service and in need of serious refurbishment” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bodi Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bodi Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1,274 of 4,966 Hotels in Shanghai
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
250 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Poor location, poor service and in need of serious refurbishment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Incidentally the photo shown is not of this hotel. The hotel itself looks more like a brothel than a hotel. The location is appalling, there is absolutely nothing around the hotel. You need a taxi to go anywhere and that is if the taxi want to take you back...

My room was huge, well appointed and clean but there are traces of a serious water leak near the window.

Staff have a very limited knowledge of English

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ThierryBMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    33
    11
    5
    8
See reviews for
4
5
6
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel already last year & beacuse its close to the expo fair and also because all other good hotels were booked, we decided to give one more try also this year. Bad choice, the only what is ok about this hotel are rooms (size, furnishing) all the rest would rate as 1 or no star at all! Location is in the middle of nowhere, the personell barely comprehend any English! The restaurant is closed, so if you get hungry in the evening you must take a taxi to get to down town. The breakfast is one of the worsest i have seen, if you are local chineese you will survive, but for rest of us there is no choice!!! Overall for this money you can get much better hotels in the area!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shanghai hotels

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We would give a 5star to the room alone - our room was super big and the bathroom was almost same size of the room! The room itself is amazing. Reception is very small and staff don't speak much English. The location of the hotel is probably the only downturn. If you are not having any business or work related to Expo, then you will far from everywhere else. Apart from the location, hotel itself is pretty good. Didn't try the food but the hotel doesn't seem to offer much. The ground floor is not very welcoming as it is not big enough. we loved the furniture and room decoration. It was one of the best deluxe rooms ever. Hope to see the area regenerating, so it would become easier to catch taxis in future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aryansooren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Despite being in my 50's I have never felt strongly enough to complain in writing about anything so that should give an indication as to how bad this place was during my 4 day stay last week. The following are just a few lowlights
1/ Total power outage in my room once a day for 3 days which meant 3 trips to reception and 3 trips back to the room to meet the maintenance guy who 'fixed' it each time.
2/ Whilst in the middle of my last morning's breakfast i was told (loudly) to stop eating and come to reception and pay cash for it even though they'd swiped my credit card and taken a deposit that had a long way to go before being used up.
3/ Whilst sitting at the bar, the waiter thought it was funny to throw various items from a distance in to a bin that was right in front of me. I walked away after he walked up to the bin, made a loud nasal snorting sound and spat in to the bin.

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TKing55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed here for 4 days last month. very good spacious rooms. the service is very good. Need to improve serivce in the restaurant. we had no issue in finding the hotel. the best thing to do is get some one in the airport (there is a row of desks manned by very helpful staff just after clearing customs) to write the name of the hotel in a piece of paper in big letters !. We used this paper instead of the printed hotel address and had no problem. sometimes taxies are reluctant to take us there from the expo as it is very close to the venue. I would recommend this place for those who come to shanghai expo.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ujithe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

Locationwise it is located kind of in the middle of nowhere, by the side of a major road, finding taxi is not so easy even with assistance from the hotel staff, which is kind of required since cab drivers will speak zero english.
The rooms are absolutely amazing, one of the best I have ever stayed at. Bathroom is so big I didn't even find the bathtub until day 2 of my stay.
There is a seven-eleven type store behind the hotel, ask the staff how to get there (at night they walked with me there as you have to pass quite a shady alley), otherwise there is absolutely nothing nearby.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MBjorkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

The room is extraordinary excellent. Good design, big space, romantic atmosphere. Say the truth, it really fits for the lovers!

The service is just so so, front desk need more passion. If you are expecting night life, pls take a taxi because there's no bar, restaurant etc nearby(It is said there is a Sauna in this hotel especially for man~~but Im not sure ). And as said, the south side of the building face a big road and may a lit bit nosiy(I don't care).

Summary I will consider it again if price is reasonable for valentine or wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank INTERZY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Tong Mao Hotel
#533 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Century Park
Dorsett Shanghai
Dorsett Shanghai
#70 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Century Park
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#155 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Century Park
Hotel Ibis Shanghai Lianyang
Hotel Ibis Shanghai Lianyang
#2,513 of 4,966 in Shanghai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
World Expo
Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu
Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu
#166 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodi Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodi Boutique Hotel

Property: Bodi Boutique Hotel
Address: No.1245 Longyang Road, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200127, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Century Park , Shanghai New International Expo Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,274 of 4,966 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodi Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Bodi Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing