We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel shame about the location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bodi Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2,464 of 5,146 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Stayed here recently as it was nearer my business contacts. This place is hard to review.
On one hard it is an excellent hotel in nearly every way, however it is right on a freeway and close to virtually nothing. You need a taxi to do virtually anything, and whilst taxis are cheap and relatively plentiful, it just puts a downer on recommending this hotel. There is a Gentemans' "Spa" on the second floor if thats your thing and I can recommend the restaurant as very nice.
Summary: Huge room(massive bathroom), very well appointed, very clean and comfortable which is just as well because you are probably going to spend some time there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 81 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2011

This was a great find for a stay while attending the Shanghai Exhibition Center - but the location is terrible for anything else unless you are well prepared. It is located in a residential high rise area, with very little but apartments around it - and a highway in front. The subway is actually only 1 km away (red line) - and thanks to the great directions from the concierge, it was a very safe walk - even late at night.

It is a Chinese hotel - so the lobby is small, and staffed only by the front desk people. English is spoken, but not fluently, so it may take a few tries. I tried to get directions to an ATM - and the front desk worker walked me 500 meters & pointed me another 1.25 km to get there! There is a bar/restaurant - but I was the only patron in the bar when I went down for a beer at 10PM - bartender spoke little english- and they had a 76ers/Celtics game on the big screen from the 1980's... so not very social. They were willing to stay as long as I liked though - and like the front desk - very accomodating.

The rooms though were fantastic. I had a huge room, with king 4 post bed, large desk (wired/wireless internet), sitting chair, safe, 52" flatscreen with HBO, several english channels, all the 5star amenities, and a huge bathroom (two sinks, rainforest shower, soaking tub, etc..). I had a room at the back of the hotel - very quiet - not sure what rooms facing the highway would be like...

They had an excerisize room that was well appointed for the size of the hotel and an adjacent spa - and the breakfast buffet was small - but continually stocked... I think the hotel is small - so the food was put out in small portions to avoid waste. There was always enough for any patron to eat though - so it was well kept. I got a good rate on Agoda.com (540 RMB/night) - so for the quality of the room - it was very reasonable...
Overall - I enjoyed it!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frankll1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

This hotel is good if your a local Chinese and know the area and can tell the taxi how to find it and get there!
It was just a hassle to get any taxi drivers to know the hotel and to make it worst their room card holder do not have the address and map printed on it like other hotel..Some one please suggest this to the hotel that its very helpful!
There is no metro anywhere near this hotel unless you want to walk for 30-40 mins which is on the main highway which is scary.
Had to make sure i get back to the hotel by 9-10pm as any later i was scared i couldn't get a taxi from the nearest metro station so felt like i was staying in a prison. I can not think of any reason why anyone would need to stay in this hotel its not close to anything.
Breakfast was good and the room are a big and clean.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank international_guy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

The hotel is on edge of highway and the entry is on a very inaccessible street. Metro station is a far walk requiring passing thru scary underpasses, won't recommend to walk to station at night. It is difficult to get a taxi as most taxi drivers do not know of this hotel's existence. Many times when we ride taxi back to hotel the taxi driver will get lost and end up going around different highways and running up the cab fares. The inconvenience of transportation had totally dampened what otherwise was a pleasant trip.

The hotel interior itself was very good-clean, good service, lots of supplies, friendly staff and management. The hotel breakfast buffet is not good value - you will eat much better in nearby food stands or head into food court of malls. The hotel room service food is good, but expensive.

We took a suite so the room size was very very spacious with 4 posters bed, side chair, ottoman, and an extra bed. There is a work table with free internet access. There is also a decent bar area. Bathroom feature nice designer bathtub looking into the bedroom, 2 separate sinks. Closet tends to be humid so would not recommend putting clothes in stinky closets.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank AmySungCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2010

Very nice hotel as its one of the new hotels in pudong area. Reception area is very small but courteous staff makes up for all. Service is efficient and timely. Hotel is more than willing to go extra mile to satisfy the guest.
Would recommend to people for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GunjanGopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Just checked in Bodi Hotel. It should be called `corpse` hotel, not bodi.

I got a bargain offered by ctrip.com. Two nights in an executive suite + 1 free night. Each night about US$ 240.

The reception is a small desk by the lobby. Guest handling skills by the manager and staffs is also small. No concierge.

I just needed beer. So I called room service, willing to pay the exhorbitant charge for hotel mini bar (US$ 8). Ordered 5 cans from room service.

After a while i got the beers, and they were hot like hell. When I asked them to bring me cold ones (Im from Brazil, and cannot accept warm beer), I was told that there was none, that they didnt have cold beers.

Then I simply went outside, to a small shop within a walking distance, to get some cold beers. After coming back, when I calmly and personally returned the warm beers to the reception, saying that I would not keep them, a very rude woman named Rebecca, who appears to be the Front Desk Manager, started shouting angrily in chinese, saying that it would not be possible to get them back (i speak chinese, as I have been living here for years).

Service here sucks (a lot!). Location is very bad, except if you are here attending exhibitions.

I cannot admit being insulted by low class and low level, disrespectful and arrogant hotel staff. If you don`t mind, WELCOME TO BODI (corpse) BOUTIQUE HOTEL!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londrino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2010

This is rather rare experience of using foreign credit card in hotel china.Normally the exchange rate is decided by our local credit card centre,however bodi hotel actually fix a foreign exchange rate for my transaction during check out, which i am not aware of because of the fine print.The exchange rates was about 5% below the market rates which might not be significant if you only stay one night, however for those long stay , please take note of this hotel trick ,which in otherway increase the cost of the stay.
Otherwise the hotel is wonderful, breakfast is lousy though.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Marcs-Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Century Park
Dorsett Shanghai
Dorsett Shanghai
#69 of 5,146 in Shanghai
469 reviews
World Expo
Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu
Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu
#141 of 5,146 in Shanghai
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
Seine Taster Hotel
Seine Taster Hotel
#2,686 of 5,146 in Shanghai
5 reviews
Shanghai New International Expo Center
Blue Horizon International Hotel Shanghai
Century Park
Grand Mercure Shanghai Century Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodi Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodi Boutique Hotel

Address: No.1245 Longyang Road, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200127, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Century Park , Shanghai New International Expo Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,464 of 5,146 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $61 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodi Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bodi Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing