We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but really out of the way and really hard to locate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bodi Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2,107 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but really out of the way and really hard to locate”
Reviewed March 26, 2011

This hotel is good if your a local Chinese and know the area and can tell the taxi how to find it and get there!
It was just a hassle to get any taxi drivers to know the hotel and to make it worst their room card holder do not have the address and map printed on it like other hotel..Some one please suggest this to the hotel that its very helpful!
There is no metro anywhere near this hotel unless you want to walk for 30-40 mins which is on the main highway which is scary.
Had to make sure i get back to the hotel by 9-10pm as any later i was scared i couldn't get a taxi from the nearest metro station so felt like i was staying in a prison. I can not think of any reason why anyone would need to stay in this hotel its not close to anything.
Breakfast was good and the room are a big and clean.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank international_guy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    33
    13
    6
    8
See reviews for
5
5
6
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2011

The hotel is on edge of highway and the entry is on a very inaccessible street. Metro station is a far walk requiring passing thru scary underpasses, won't recommend to walk to station at night. It is difficult to get a taxi as most taxi drivers do not know of this hotel's existence. Many times when we ride taxi back to hotel the taxi driver will get lost and end up going around different highways and running up the cab fares. The inconvenience of transportation had totally dampened what otherwise was a pleasant trip.

The hotel interior itself was very good-clean, good service, lots of supplies, friendly staff and management. The hotel breakfast buffet is not good value - you will eat much better in nearby food stands or head into food court of malls. The hotel room service food is good, but expensive.

We took a suite so the room size was very very spacious with 4 posters bed, side chair, ottoman, and an extra bed. There is a work table with free internet access. There is also a decent bar area. Bathroom feature nice designer bathtub looking into the bedroom, 2 separate sinks. Closet tends to be humid so would not recommend putting clothes in stinky closets.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AmySungCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

Very nice hotel as its one of the new hotels in pudong area. Reception area is very small but courteous staff makes up for all. Service is efficient and timely. Hotel is more than willing to go extra mile to satisfy the guest.
Would recommend to people for sure.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GunjanGopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Just checked in Bodi Hotel. It should be called `corpse` hotel, not bodi.

I got a bargain offered by ctrip.com. Two nights in an executive suite + 1 free night. Each night about US$ 240.

The reception is a small desk by the lobby. Guest handling skills by the manager and staffs is also small. No concierge.

I just needed beer. So I called room service, willing to pay the exhorbitant charge for hotel mini bar (US$ 8). Ordered 5 cans from room service.

After a while i got the beers, and they were hot like hell. When I asked them to bring me cold ones (Im from Brazil, and cannot accept warm beer), I was told that there was none, that they didnt have cold beers.

Then I simply went outside, to a small shop within a walking distance, to get some cold beers. After coming back, when I calmly and personally returned the warm beers to the reception, saying that I would not keep them, a very rude woman named Rebecca, who appears to be the Front Desk Manager, started shouting angrily in chinese, saying that it would not be possible to get them back (i speak chinese, as I have been living here for years).

Service here sucks (a lot!). Location is very bad, except if you are here attending exhibitions.

I cannot admit being insulted by low class and low level, disrespectful and arrogant hotel staff. If you don`t mind, WELCOME TO BODI (corpse) BOUTIQUE HOTEL!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londrino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shanghai hotels

KL
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2010

This is rather rare experience of using foreign credit card in hotel china.Normally the exchange rate is decided by our local credit card centre,however bodi hotel actually fix a foreign exchange rate for my transaction during check out, which i am not aware of because of the fine print.The exchange rates was about 5% below the market rates which might not be significant if you only stay one night, however for those long stay , please take note of this hotel trick ,which in otherway increase the cost of the stay.
Otherwise the hotel is wonderful, breakfast is lousy though.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcs-Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2010

beautifull hotel with the wow factor ,black and red decor throughout hotel. had a great time with all the mod cons in room .pressed buttons for lights and curtains would open
tried to make us pay for extra breakfast, as said only one person per room per booking .got it sorted though and paid no extra .Sad thing was breakfast is not good ,cold ,dry and lots of tinned fruit.not worth paying for .Club sandwiches at bar just as bad ,waited ages for poor quality rubish. Best bit was the helpfull reception staff could not do enough for us .Thank you Rebecca and yo-yo for getting us to our cruise on time.location of hotel to city by taxi only 2-3£ each way get staff to write down location in chinese and you will have no trouble getting back to hotel.Warning take extra warm clothes in April as it is baltic at night. Wonderfull city............

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLORENCENortheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2009

On my last trip to Shanghai, I was booked into this new 90 room Boutique hotel in Shanghai Pudong.

While the room was amazing, with in floor heating in the bathroom, the rest of the hotel is clearly geared towards the "newly prosperous" locals.
Breakfast buffet was a couple of notches below my favorite hotel in Shanghai, The Eton. Great chinese food selection, but all Western items were ho hum.

Staff, though extremely friendly and helpful, lack the pizzazz I found in similar marketed hotels under a Western banner name.

Location is the main handicap for this place, most cab drivers had to call the front desk to drive me back.

Overall, for the upcoming expo or a tradeshow (the Exhibition center is really close), I can recommend this place.
Personally I am going back to the Etons

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldwidestuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Century Park
Grand Mercure Shanghai Century Park
Century Park
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#140 of 5,069 in Shanghai
154 reviews
Century Park
Dorsett Shanghai
Dorsett Shanghai
#74 of 5,069 in Shanghai
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
World Expo
Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu
Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu
#130 of 5,069 in Shanghai
230 reviews
Shanghai New International Expo Center
Chateau Star River Pudong Shanghai
Shanghai New International Expo Center
Holiday Inn Shanghai Jinxiu
Holiday Inn Shanghai Jinxiu
#96 of 5,069 in Shanghai
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodi Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodi Boutique Hotel

Property: Bodi Boutique Hotel
Address: No.1245 Longyang Road, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200127, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Century Park , Shanghai New International Expo Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,107 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodi Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bodi Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing