We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“good hostel to spare money” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hidden Garden International Youth Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hidden Garden International Youth Hostel
Ranked #86 of 265 Specialty Lodging in Shanghai
Paris
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good hostel to spare money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

the hostel is fine if you want to spare money. The location if fine even if located near dirty homes. The welcome is so so. The stair to go to rooms is not convenient if you have big luggage. But good in a good place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alvoy93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    18
    19
    5
    14
See reviews for
1
5
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
192 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Shanghai Hidden Garden is 'hidden' in that it is about a 100 meter walk down a narrow road off of Pudong Avenue. It's got a great atmosphere, a friendly vibe. The staff is warmhearted and helpful. The owners are onsite. Metro is a ten minute walk away. Clean sheets. Great little noodle shops nearby. We stayed in a private room for three weeks and were happy here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

Hostel World rated this hostel as 61%. Now I see why. When I arrived at the entrance of the lane this hostel is located on, I saw slums for migrant workers. I thought "you've go to be joking, right? Is THIS it?" It took me a while to figure out that these slums were NOT the hostel. When I looked to my right, at the end of the lane I recognized some of the buildings from the hostels YHA listing. Once inside however, the hostel provided a pleasant atmosphere and the staff were friendly. Great western breakfast as well. A bit shoddy on the cleaning. There was a sign in Chinese and English saying that they clean the room between 1-3 pm but they didn't always clean thoroughly. Also I could only get one TV station and the light next to my bed wasn't working properly. While I wouldn't give the same rating as Hostel World I do give it a score of 75%.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tanyujie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

if you go there for the expo, try book elsewhere, and book early. the rooms on the back don't have window, so the rooms get very smelly because of the humidity. rooms are clean. shower in each room and well maintained.
one room I stayed in had an AC unit that blow hot air. :) my fellow HK roommates were sweating as hell. The hostel staff. they are not very experimented, but will do their best to help, which turns out is not much. they can't offer any tour itinerary. I never saw hostel staff tellin you to take taxi to a X place.
location is ok if you check it on google map, but after a full day of expo walk, you will hate their location.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eckndu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2010

We booked the 8 bed mixed dorms for 85 RMB / person, 1 room for us 8. Clean and enough space in the room, free locker, clean new white sheet & blanket for the bed, also clean bathroom. The location is about 10 minutes walk from the Pudong Avenue Metro station (line 4), also quite near to the World Expo area, just 30 RMB by taxi. The staff is very nice & HELPFUL!! (English speaking also). There's a nice glass room where we can sit relax on the couch, but the couch is quite dirty, and the magz & CDs isn't up-to-date. Plus side: they have 2 cute little dogs in there!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess_sutanto88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
101 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2010

There's not much to write. The quality of the hostel and the location are questionable. This is by far the worst hostel I have stayed in in China. Rooms and restrooms are not clean, the common kitchen is non-existent and dirty, it's hard to find a clean glass to drink water. This is a bit cheaper than other hostels but not worth the inconvenience both in terms of cleanliness or hygiene.
There was some construction going on but no discounts or added service for all the incovenience. Most were here on business and not on leisure which was weird for a hostel.
The location is also far from areas you want to visit in Shanghai. It claims to be close to some buzzing areas in Pudong but is actually in a sleepy part of town. The area around the hostel is also not clean. This is hidden alright and there is a garden alright but it's not as amusing as the tilte "Hidden Garden" sounds when you figure out.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woaishanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Blue Mountain HongQiao Youth Hostel
Old Town
Shanghai Old West Gate International Youth Hostel
Dapuqiao
Shanghai Blue Mountain Youth Hostel Luwan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongshan Park
Rock & Wood International Youth Hostel
People’s Square
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
People’s Square
Laoshan Hostel (The Phoenix)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Garden International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Garden International Youth Hostel

Property: Hidden Garden International Youth Hostel
Address: Jia No.834-840 Pudong Avenue, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200120, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 265 Specialty Lodging in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hidden Garden International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing