We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fine Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hidden Garden International Youth Hostel
Ranked #89 of 353 Specialty Lodging in Shanghai
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Shanghai Hidden Garden is 'hidden' in that it is about a 100 meter walk down a narrow road off of Pudong Avenue. It's got a great atmosphere, a friendly vibe. The staff is warmhearted and helpful. The owners are onsite. Metro is a ten minute walk away. Clean sheets. Great little noodle shops nearby. We stayed in a private room for three weeks and were happy here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 72 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2011

Hostel World rated this hostel as 61%. Now I see why. When I arrived at the entrance of the lane this hostel is located on, I saw slums for migrant workers. I thought "you've go to be joking, right? Is THIS it?" It took me a while to figure out that these slums were NOT the hostel. When I looked to my right, at the end of the lane I recognized some of the buildings from the hostels YHA listing. Once inside however, the hostel provided a pleasant atmosphere and the staff were friendly. Great western breakfast as well. A bit shoddy on the cleaning. There was a sign in Chinese and English saying that they clean the room between 1-3 pm but they didn't always clean thoroughly. Also I could only get one TV station and the light next to my bed wasn't working properly. While I wouldn't give the same rating as Hostel World I do give it a score of 75%.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanyujie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

if you go there for the expo, try book elsewhere, and book early. the rooms on the back don't have window, so the rooms get very smelly because of the humidity. rooms are clean. shower in each room and well maintained.
one room I stayed in had an AC unit that blow hot air. :) my fellow HK roommates were sweating as hell. The hostel staff. they are not very experimented, but will do their best to help, which turns out is not much. they can't offer any tour itinerary. I never saw hostel staff tellin you to take taxi to a X place.
location is ok if you check it on google map, but after a full day of expo walk, you will hate their location.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eckndu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

We booked the 8 bed mixed dorms for 85 RMB / person, 1 room for us 8. Clean and enough space in the room, free locker, clean new white sheet & blanket for the bed, also clean bathroom. The location is about 10 minutes walk from the Pudong Avenue Metro station (line 4), also quite near to the World Expo area, just 30 RMB by taxi. The staff is very nice & HELPFUL!! (English speaking also). There's a nice glass room where we can sit relax on the couch, but the couch is quite dirty, and the magz & CDs isn't up-to-date. Plus side: they have 2 cute little dogs in there!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jess_sutanto88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2010

There's not much to write. The quality of the hostel and the location are questionable. This is by far the worst hostel I have stayed in in China. Rooms and restrooms are not clean, the common kitchen is non-existent and dirty, it's hard to find a clean glass to drink water. This is a bit cheaper than other hostels but not worth the inconvenience both in terms of cleanliness or hygiene.
There was some construction going on but no discounts or added service for all the incovenience. Most were here on business and not on leisure which was weird for a hostel.
The location is also far from areas you want to visit in Shanghai. It claims to be close to some buzzing areas in Pudong but is actually in a sleepy part of town. The area around the hostel is also not clean. This is hidden alright and there is a garden alright but it's not as amusing as the tilte "Hidden Garden" sounds when you figure out.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woaishanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed June 29, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed June 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled solo
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
Dapuqiao
Shanghai Blue Mountain Youth Hostel Luwan
Zhongshan Park
Rock & Wood International Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
People’s Square
Laoshan Hostel (The Phoenix)
The Bund
Captain Youth Hostel(Fuzhou Rd Branch)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Garden International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Garden International Youth Hostel

Address: Jia No.834-840 Pudong Avenue, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200120, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 353 Specialty Lodging in Shanghai
Price Range: $10 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hidden Garden International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing