We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for stop over at Pudong Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dazhong Airport Hotel
Ranked #6 of 778 Shanghai B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel was booked for me for a stop over vor one night when arriving at Pudong airport. The room standard was o.k., English at receiption counter was an obstacle (as it has been in several hotels in China for me). Romms are o.k., free internet, cleanliness was o.k. as well, could be improved. The Bar is a plus, located at the top level and a good place to treat your jetlag hangover with a cold beer! :-)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glencheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (720)
There are newer reviews for Dazhong Airport Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

201 - 207 of 720 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed at the hotel (not the motel) 2 times within 1 week. Very convenient location, comfortable/quiet (for an airport hotel) and certainly value priced. I enjoyed the round bed and odd room layout! (round bathroom too!) Reception staff spoke enough English for my needs, not friendly but polite. One night I ate dinner in the restaurant, ordered off the Chinese menu and thought it was good. B'fast and lunch buffets ... extremely average, at best. Can probably do as well in the airport.

I would stay here again if I had a late arrival or early morning flight.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaawaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Dazhong Airport Hotel, Pu Dung Airport, Shanghai is located between Terminal 1 and Terminal 2 and is very convenient for early departures or short stopovers. International Arrivals are in Terminal 2 on Level 2 and in the middle of level 2 there is a walkway to Terminal 1. Follow the sign to T1 or Metro or Maglev or Airport Hotel and after about 500 yards you will arrive at the stations for Line 2 of the Metro and the Maglev Fast Train. In the centre of the concourse there is a lift to go up one floor to the Airport Hotel. This takes you to the driveway between the Dazhong Airport Hotel on one side and its sister hotel, and slightly cheaper, Motel 168 on the other. The rooms in Dazhong are a rather strange layout. Inside the door is a small shelf for making tea then there is a very small clothes cupboard just big enough for the in room safe deposit box. Then there is a small table that has several power sockets and internet wired connection where it is quite convenient to work and recharge equipment. The internet connection is good. Next along is a large circular bed and then near the window a curved sofa and a small circular coffee table. On the other side of the bed is the door into the toilet which has a good sized shower cubicle. There are no side tables by the bed so nowhere to put a book or phone or glasses etc. so I had to move the coffee table to be able to do that. There is a large flat screen TV that has CNN and BBC news as well as a lot of Chinese channels. Two free bottles of water and tea making facilities are also in the room and there is a very limited Chinese food room service menu. Breakfast is not good being very basic Chinese food and limited.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in January 2013, booking it advance which I have heard is preferable. When I checked in at 11pm at night, I heard the receptionist tell someone else that they were full.

The hotel is located in the terminal, you have to walk approx 15 mins (I was jetlagged and tired and can't actually remember). The front desk don't speak much English - it's basic and passable. Note that you will need to sign various slips/forms/receipts (in Chinese and some translations in English). I think I signed 2 or 3 (one is a deposit, one is to check in) - so don't be alarmed if you feel you are signing different things.

They key you get is strange, it took me about 5 mins to open the door. I think you need to rub it on something against the door. Sorry, I was so tired (flew from Syd to Beijing for a 10 hour layover then to Shanghai).

Everything in the hotel was nice, and clean. It wasn't too noisy and I found it great for the price (I think approx $60AUD) and the convenience - mostly because I was on my own and didn't want to catch a taxi at 11pm into Shanghai.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fromsydney85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Very convenience for layout passenger as it is just connected by an internal tunnel with 5 mins walking distance from either Terminal 1 and 2.

There used to have two options namely Dazhong Airport Hotel (which claim a 4 star standard hotel), while another one used to be managed by a local chain Motel 168, but now also managed by the Dazhong already although you find the Motel 168 logo still attached on the facade and inside the lobby, which is quite strange.

I dont have much expectation for a 6 hours sleep between flight, however the noise pollution is quite serious while you are staying in the room. Local Chinese just talked loudly outside the corridor and turn on the TV at a high level. Maybe many people need to catch early morning flight and I was awake by them at 5 am, which was not a pleasure experience.

This Dazhong with Motel 168 logo tower charge around RMB 350 per room, and another Dazhong tower charge around RMB 550.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HerbertLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Location is extremely convenient for weary travelers, but know that there are two hotels when you take the elevator from the airport to the second floor.

The hotel is a little more expensive. Dishes and glasses clanging all night long in the restaurant on the ground floor ring up through the doors. Front desk staff were snarky. But room was clean.

The motel rooms were more dated and not as clean, but acceptable. Staff were friendly, and after complaining about a noisy neighbor, we were moved to a very quiet room.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

After unexpectedly being let down by our travel agent we had to find a hotel to find for our 17 hour stop over. Conveniently situated between Terminal 1 and terminal 2 by the entrance to the Maglev. Walk in rate was reasonable for an airport hotel at approx £60. The room and bathroom was nice and clean, and we liked the funky round beds.
We had a good nights sleep, and then had our 5minute walk back to the terminal.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johng1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Pudong International Airport
Ramada Pudong Airport Shanghai
Ramada Pudong Airport Shanghai
#116 of 5,111 in Shanghai
886 reviews
Pudong International Airport
Airlines Travel Hotel Shanghai Pudong Airport Branch
Airlines Travel Hotel Shanghai P...
#2,469 of 5,111 in Shanghai
227 reviews
Pudong International Airport
The QUBE Pudong
The QUBE Pudong
#109 of 5,111 in Shanghai
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Shanghai International Airport Hotel
Pudong International Airport
Joyful Star Hotel Pudong Airport Chenyang Hotel
Pudong International Airport
Royal International Hotel
Royal International Hotel
#106 of 5,111 in Shanghai
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dazhong Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dazhong Airport Hotel

Address: No.6001 Yingbin Avenue, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 201202, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Pudong International Airport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 778 B&Bs / Inns in Shanghai
Price Range: $68 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dazhong Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dazhong Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Yiju (Shanghai Pudong Airport) Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing