We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid if possible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dazhong Airport Hotel
Ranked #5 of 799 Shanghai B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I needed a place to stay as I had an eight hour layover in Shanghai and was unable to check my luggage in after having to retrieve it (you can't check your luggage all the way to your final destination). Was told there were two transit hotels. This one was the only one which had an hourly rate.

The first hint that I should have clued in on was that all the hallways smell of cigarette smoke. The room I had only had it a little less. The walls are a little thin and there is a constant sound of parties going on in the various room. To make it a little more classy, there is a box of condoms for your use (these were not left behind accidentally) on the nightstand. Did not want to touch the bed for fear of what the bed surfaces had.

There is free internet, but it is wired. A few TV channels (english and chinese) to keep you entertained. Not sure what the food was like in the hotel restaurant.

Overall, if you can, get your luggage checked in ASAP and wait in the transit area. If you can't, wait outside the transit area and avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wunderlust2K10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (752)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

242 - 248 of 752 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

If you are laying over a day or two, or have a few hours between flights, this place is a good bet! The hotel is right at the airport, much more convenient than the Ramada or other hotels. You don't need to wait for a shuttle or a cab. Just walk directly to the hotel via the T2 terminal.
We came in on an early flight, and were allowed to check in early. The rooms are clean, though they are showing wear. Set your expectations accordingly. The hotel is quiet, you don't hear the planes although you can see them landing.
Check in was quite quick, though there were many customers registering at the same time as we were.
Requested a non smoking room, and it was indeed smoke free with no odor. Bathroom is large with a great shower.
The lunch buffet was ok, with a mix of Western and Chinese food.
If you have a day or a few hours to kill, catch the Maglev right at the airport. At the end of the Maglev line transfer to the green line and ride the subway to East Nanjing Rd. Lots of activity there. If you take the Maglev, show them your airline or train receipt, and you get ¥10 off the price of the Maglev ticket, each way. This price reduction is only good for the day you arrive.
Download the Shanghai Subway line map to your phone before you get to Shanghai. The subways are easy to figure out if you have a map with you.
The internet at the Hotel is wired- no wifi (although there was signage that there was wifi in the bar from 7pm to 1 am)
Hotel front desk staff speak English well enough.

Room Tip: If you need a non smoking room, make sure you ask when you reserve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Runandwander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Unless you really need to stay on the airport right next to the terminals find somewhere else. They must be better hotels nearby.

Check in was poor with not so much as a smile or even a vague gesture to the lifts and what floor I was on. All the rooms start with an 8 so don't assume you are on the 8th floor...

Room was very tired. Weird round bed which is the hardest bed I've come across. Mould in the bathroom and worn stained carpet . Bar area wasn't much better. Staff disinterested watching a movion iPad at full volume.

Would have given it 0 but the price and location makes up for the rest.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mattbutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed one night at this hotel. It is located inside airport. After i picked up luggage I actually wheeled them directly into my hotel room. I kept the luggage cart in my room and the next morning I wheeled them back to the check-in counter. It is extremely convenient for some one with young kid and a lot of luggage. The room size is Ok with a nice bath room. the shower strength is good. The sound proof of the room is really good because I did not hear any flight taking off or landing. I had a great sleep! The breakfast is fabulous, many choices. The check-in process can be improved and staff can be a little nicer. In all, it is a great stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wodedream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This airport hotel is between terminals one and two at Pudong International Airport. The rroms look average when first entering, but then the "sewer gas" in the bathroom gives a foul odor. The restaurant maitre'd was disorganized and seated two couples who came into the restaurant after us before seating us, so we left and went outside for food.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Flew from Zenghou late evening, landed at PVG by 10:30 pm, prefered to check in airport hotel itself instead of going to city. Morning I had to go to Hongqiao Railway Station to catch a speed train to Hangzhou. Had to pay 498 Yauns for one night sleep, felt little costlier but had no choice even. Room was small but had all the aminities. It had internet facility that was pretty useful. Next morning just went to level 2 and caught my train to Hongqiao. Had sound sleep n was fresh in the morning.

Room Tip: "Corner suites are large and sunny"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PremM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel is attached to Shanghai Pudong Airport and has two parts. The main Dazhong Hotel and next to it Motel 168 which is a little cheaper. There is an underground walkway from the airport level 2 that goes to both the Maglev high speed train station into town and slower train into town. Next to those train stations is an elevator up to the enterance of both Dazhong Hotel and 168 Motel. The rooms is the hotel are modern and clean and service is good. Breakfast is mainly Chinese/Asian and served in the Dazhong Hotel for both establishments. There is nowhere to walk around near the hotel but plenty of airport shops in the terminal. The high speed Maglev train costs 40 RMB and travels at over 400 kph and the much cheaper and normal speed underground trains into town are also efficient and easy and quick to use to access central Shanghai.

Room Tip: For a stopover in Shanghai this is a very good hotel and even staying there for several nights it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Pudong International Airport
Ramada Pudong Airport Shanghai
Ramada Pudong Airport Shanghai
#122 of 5,161 in Shanghai
915 reviews
Pudong International Airport
Airlines Travel Hotel Shanghai Pudong Airport Branch
Airlines Travel Hotel Shanghai P...
#2,490 of 5,161 in Shanghai
234 reviews
Pudong International Airport
The QUBE Hotel Shanghai Pudong
The QUBE Hotel Shanghai Pudong
#101 of 5,161 in Shanghai
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#33 of 5,161 in Shanghai
2,456 reviews
Novotel Shanghai Clover Hotel
#109 of 5,161 in Shanghai
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dazhong Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dazhong Airport Hotel

Address: No.6001 Yingbin Avenue, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 201202, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Pudong International Airport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 799 B&Bs / Inns in Shanghai
Price Range: $67 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dazhong Airport Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 1200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dazhong Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Yiju (Shanghai Pudong Airport) Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing