We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rayfont Shanghai Nanpu Hotel
Ranked #2,431 of 5,222 Hotels in Shanghai
An EasyToBook.com traveler
Shanghai
1
Reviewed October 17, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 180 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

Before starting to plan how to reach the hotel make sure you are heading towards Nancang street (you know it's okay if you see on the map Nangpu Bridge station nearby).
We went to Nancang Road (that's what we had on the reservation) but they had moved to Nancang Street, and since Shanghai is a huge city it's better to plan in advance.
The hotel staff was very nice and kind, room was clean and new. It was very cold outside and the heating worked perfectly.
The room had a balcony and it was quite nice to look at Shanghai's skyline.
We did not include breakfast in our reservation and I suggest you do the same: it is very "chinese" and not so continental.
The subway is just around the corner, you'll reach it with a 5 minutes walk from the hotel; 4-5 stops and you'll be downtown.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quiara_flor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

great location which is close to the railway & bus station. The double bedroom is clean but quite small and narrow. The service is fine. Didnt spend much time on cheak-in & out.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank LINGZHI C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The rooms could use some updating, but for the money, I simply cannot complain at all. A 2-minute walk from WalMart, easy to find taxis trolling the spinning mart downstairs.
The staff is outstanding, helpful, and friendly. I actually extended my stay at the hotel by two weeks, I was so happy with the price and the value. The bed is typically Chinese, which is comparable to sleeping on a concrete slab, and you might want to buy your own LAN cord if you hope to use your laptop anywhere more than 2 feet from the outlet. Shower is wonderful, and the balcony very conducive to drying laundry.
I had a problem with my air conditioning late at night, and they without question moved me to a much larger room for the same price for the duration of my stay. Terrific staff. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I got a single room which was only big enough to fit the queen sized bed, desk, and TV. There's a closet for extra storage. The bathroom was surprisingly big compared to the size of the room. Everything was clean. I thought it was decent for the price (got it for about $45 a night). It's not a super fancy hotel but it gets the job done. Within walking distance of subway lines.

My parents got a 1 bedroom suite and that comes with a living room, kitchen area, bedroom (which is the size of the single room), and bathroom.

One thing that I did like was the air conditioner, self controlled and strong. It can get really hot and humid in Shanghai.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smerfette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

This is the Napu Rayfont not the other ones which maybe a lot nicer. The descriptions of this place is deceptive.The rooms are small and the bathrooms are full of mildew. Service is poor. When I got there they assigned me to a one bed room when I paid for a 2 bed. They did give me a 2 bed when I pointed it out. While in the lobby two other customers I talked to were being incorrectly charged and had to contact their agent in Europe to correct.

Pool and gym are not in the same building but in a courtyard of a residential complex. It is not as nice as the photos suggests.

Location is good since you are close to a couple subway stations. And on the weekends there are food.vendors in the morning on the street. But the hotel is right.next to slums.

I would not stay here again if I have too. But if I just needed a place to crash and not care about amenities, customer service, and cleanliness- it is a good value.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanson2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

I stayed at the Rayfont hotel for three weeks on a recent trip to Shanghai. The hotel is definitely not a 4-star hotel so please temper your expectations. Location is ok... close to the number 4 and number 8 lines. In Shanghai, getting around is all about metro unless you want to take a taxi everywhere - about 10 minutes walk to the number 4 Nanpu Bridge station - which I warn you doesn't come as often as say a number 2 line and you could be doing a lot of transferring lines.

Good:
Price.
Location is ok.
Close to Walmart.
Hotel staff seem friendly and spoke english,
Room size is about right.

Bad:
Hardest Bed I've ever slept on.
Towels and pillow case had holes in them.
I think I got bug bites while sleeping.
Balcony is pretty filthy.
Still smelled smoke even though non-smoking room.
Last two days I was there... sink and toilet water was brown. Very nasty.

I paid $25 per night for my stay - so I paid cheap and that is exactly what you get. If you expect a 4 or 5 star experience, you will pay $100-200. I think you need to understand that. I'm pretty into camping and the outdoors so I was able to overlook some of the deficiencies of this hotel but if you need soft pillows and bed - and a 4 star hotel, this is not for you. There is the saying... You get what you pay for... and in my case, I got a $25 a night hotel.

In all... I didn't have a bad experience and just slept there at nights... and it wasn't all bad. I think the big one that I have a hard time overlooking is brown water from the sink and toilet... please use bottle water to brush your teeth!

I will likely not stay here again. I think I will want to stay closer to the city center next time.

Room Tip: chose non-smoking....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Xujiahui
Asset Hotel Shanghai
Asset Hotel Shanghai
#1,624 of 5,222 in Shanghai
302 reviews
Xintiandi
Magnificent International Plaza Hotel
Magnificent International Plaza ...
#2,470 of 5,222 in Shanghai
191 reviews
People’s Square
Pretty House Haodu Hotel
Pretty House Haodu Hotel
#164 of 5,222 in Shanghai
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shanghai Stadium
Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel
Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel
#109 of 5,222 in Shanghai
463 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown
Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown
#103 of 5,222 in Shanghai
972 reviews
The Bund
Baron Business Hotel
Baron Business Hotel
#1,323 of 5,222 in Shanghai
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rayfont Shanghai Nanpu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rayfont Shanghai Nanpu Hotel

Address: No.118 Nancang Street, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200011, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,431 of 5,222 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $32 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rayfont Shanghai Nanpu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Rayfont Shanghai Nanpu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing