We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good of this price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rayfont Shanghai Nanpu Hotel
Ranked #2,355 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Shanghai
1 review
“good of this price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

great location which is close to the railway & bus station. The double bedroom is clean but quite small and narrow. The service is fine. Didnt spend much time on cheak-in & out.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank LINGZHI C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    74
    53
    16
    14
See reviews for
11
28
30
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

The rooms could use some updating, but for the money, I simply cannot complain at all. A 2-minute walk from WalMart, easy to find taxis trolling the spinning mart downstairs.
The staff is outstanding, helpful, and friendly. I actually extended my stay at the hotel by two weeks, I was so happy with the price and the value. The bed is typically Chinese, which is comparable to sleeping on a concrete slab, and you might want to buy your own LAN cord if you hope to use your laptop anywhere more than 2 feet from the outlet. Shower is wonderful, and the balcony very conducive to drying laundry.
I had a problem with my air conditioning late at night, and they without question moved me to a much larger room for the same price for the duration of my stay. Terrific staff. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

I got a single room which was only big enough to fit the queen sized bed, desk, and TV. There's a closet for extra storage. The bathroom was surprisingly big compared to the size of the room. Everything was clean. I thought it was decent for the price (got it for about $45 a night). It's not a super fancy hotel but it gets the job done. Within walking distance of subway lines.

My parents got a 1 bedroom suite and that comes with a living room, kitchen area, bedroom (which is the size of the single room), and bathroom.

One thing that I did like was the air conditioner, self controlled and strong. It can get really hot and humid in Shanghai.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smerfette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

This is the Napu Rayfont not the other ones which maybe a lot nicer. The descriptions of this place is deceptive.The rooms are small and the bathrooms are full of mildew. Service is poor. When I got there they assigned me to a one bed room when I paid for a 2 bed. They did give me a 2 bed when I pointed it out. While in the lobby two other customers I talked to were being incorrectly charged and had to contact their agent in Europe to correct.

Pool and gym are not in the same building but in a courtyard of a residential complex. It is not as nice as the photos suggests.

Location is good since you are close to a couple subway stations. And on the weekends there are food.vendors in the morning on the street. But the hotel is right.next to slums.

I would not stay here again if I have too. But if I just needed a place to crash and not care about amenities, customer service, and cleanliness- it is a good value.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanson2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shanghai hotels

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

I stayed at the Rayfont hotel for three weeks on a recent trip to Shanghai. The hotel is definitely not a 4-star hotel so please temper your expectations. Location is ok... close to the number 4 and number 8 lines. In Shanghai, getting around is all about metro unless you want to take a taxi everywhere - about 10 minutes walk to the number 4 Nanpu Bridge station - which I warn you doesn't come as often as say a number 2 line and you could be doing a lot of transferring lines.

Good:
Price.
Location is ok.
Close to Walmart.
Hotel staff seem friendly and spoke english,
Room size is about right.

Bad:
Hardest Bed I've ever slept on.
Towels and pillow case had holes in them.
I think I got bug bites while sleeping.
Balcony is pretty filthy.
Still smelled smoke even though non-smoking room.
Last two days I was there... sink and toilet water was brown. Very nasty.

I paid $25 per night for my stay - so I paid cheap and that is exactly what you get. If you expect a 4 or 5 star experience, you will pay $100-200. I think you need to understand that. I'm pretty into camping and the outdoors so I was able to overlook some of the deficiencies of this hotel but if you need soft pillows and bed - and a 4 star hotel, this is not for you. There is the saying... You get what you pay for... and in my case, I got a $25 a night hotel.

In all... I didn't have a bad experience and just slept there at nights... and it wasn't all bad. I think the big one that I have a hard time overlooking is brown water from the sink and toilet... please use bottle water to brush your teeth!

I will likely not stay here again. I think I will want to stay closer to the city center next time.

Room Tip: chose non-smoking....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

we were 5 days there, the room was so so small you barely have space for you luggages.
the beds were hard as rocks. and u can find spiderwebs in each corner, didnt look well cleaned.
We ask for a non smoking room bu as soon u were inthe floor you see pleople smoking and the smell its really strong.
The receptionists at night dont speak enought english. the internet speed is terrible. i guess for the price its ok. But not a 4 start hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lita80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

I stayed at the Rayfont for one night at the end of a tour across China in late November 2011. Knowing that hotels in Shanghai can be expensive, I took a leap of faith on the Rayfont, as the price was great (US$35/night), it was rated a four-star, plus it had a gym and swimming pool, and was (seemingly) on the Bund.

For my money, I got a very decent (albeit quite compact) room with a balcony. The swimming pool looks good in the pictures but is a bit drab, and not attached to the hotel, but about 100 metres away. The term South Bund is a bit of a misnomer - it is pretty far from the core part of the Bund, although taxis are fairly cheap in Shanghai. The subway is about a 10-minute walk, which is a pain when you have a rolling suitcase. As far as the neighbourhood goes, it is a bit far from the action, but has a Chinese Wal-Mart, KFC, street food vendors and a smallish shopping mall that seems to be almost completely geared to apparel (likely to get a better deal than in the main shopping areas of the city).

Pros: Great price; decent amenities, balcony. Free Internet computer in the lobby.
Cons: Far from city centre and subway station. Not a very interesting neighbourhood.

If I had to do it all over again, I would stay closer to the city centre, in a place like the 3-star Nanjing Hotel which is where our tour group was housed.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Therichpeasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Xujiahui
Asset Hotel Shanghai
Asset Hotel Shanghai
#369 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Vienna Hotel Shanghai Songjiang
#205 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Xintiandi
Magnificent International Plaza Hotel
Magnificent International Plaza ...
#2,394 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lianbang Hotel
#2,076 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Jing'an
Shanxi Business Hotel
Shanxi Business Hotel
#652 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
The Bund
Baron Business Hotel
Baron Business Hotel
#756 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rayfont Shanghai Nanpu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rayfont Shanghai Nanpu Hotel

Property: Rayfont Shanghai Nanpu Hotel
Address: No.118 Nancang Street, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200011, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,355 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rayfont Shanghai Nanpu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rayfont Shanghai Nanpu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing