We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money in expensive Shanghai!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rayfont Shanghai Nanpu Hotel
Ranked #2,419 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed September 16, 2011

This hotel is clean and everything in it works properly, which is a rarity for budget hotels in China. It is not on the main shopping belt, but 5-10 min away from the nearest subway line, and also a 5-10 min taxi ride from Yuyuan shopping district.

Pros (most of these are normal in western countries, but rare in China):
- clean
- shower does not smell and water drains correctly
- free internet (many large hotels charge $10-20/day)
- fast internet

Cons:
- not on the main shopping district, you will need to change trains twice to get to People's Square

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cosmeddicted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 180 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2011

The hotel itself was very nice, rooms well maintained and cleaned daily. If your a late riser you maybe want to put your 'Do Not Disturb' sign outside your door, if you don't your liable to get a knock at the door from 8:30 - 9:00 am, or even a phone call to the room.
The Starway Rayfont Hotel is only a five minute walk away from the Nanpu Bridge Train Station. You can also get a taxi from Shanghai South Train Station, the taxi fare will fluctuate depending on which way the taxi driver goes to the hotel, the price will be anywhere from 40 - 80 Yuan, so 4 - 8 British pounds, still reasonable i thought, but you do have to look out for the taxi's trying to rip you off when leaving the train stations.
While in Shanghai if travelling with children you may want to pay the Bund Sightseeing Tunnel a visit, very nice for children due to all the florescent lights scattered all over the place, but not really to exciting for adults, plus there's no sightseeing to be done until you get to the other side of the river.
I went up the Oriental Tower too (120 Yuan per adult, i think children below a certain height get in for nothing or at a reduced price), very good for taking pictures and so on, i would have to advise you to go later in the afternoon so that your experiencing Shanghai by daylight and at night time. The see-through floor isn't very good though due to the hardened plastic sheets being all scraped and scuffed.

Room Tip: Very good hotel for the price and reasonably situated close to Nanpu Bridge Train Station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrantMuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

This is away from the main shopping belt and a few metro stations away from the Bund. However the location also means that you do not have to jostle with huge crowds of fanatic tourists and still enjoy a fairly good quality hotel at a reasonably low price.

Hotel is about 5 to 10 minutes' walk away from the nearest metro station (Nanpu Bridge). Room is pleasant and adequately furnished. The balcony and windows are sadly neglected by the housekeeper. They look really dusty and don't seem to have been mopped or cleaned for ages. If you can ignore this little annoying bit, the rest of the room and hotel are actually quite alright. There's a mini-fridge in the room, the bed is comfortable and carpets look clean enough. There's a PC at the lobby which you could use for free and a hypermart is just 5 minutes' walk away across the main road. Plenty of restaurants around the hotel.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellingApe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

We arrived late one evening (2130hrs) only to be told that our rooms had been given away at 1800hrs, my blood immediately started to raise temperature and pressure, being obstinate I stood my ground and backed up by copies of emails the night manager Richard arranged for the four us into an apartment next door, 4 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms for the same price CNY298 per person per night. Great accommodation for 4 single males, serviced every day. Could not have asked for more. The whole area nearby is abuzz, great food, great clothes bargains at the fabric market, make sure you take one garment that want copied, men's linen shirts approx, A$ 12.00 each.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidmc50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2010

We where visiting the expo so the location was our first factor but also good value. It was walking distance to expo area and also to Nanpu Bridge subway station. It was not huge hotel and we did not take part in any services like food. We tried to get our checkout later but they were not flexible unless we paid extra so we just used their baggae room and they got us a taxi when we were leaving so all in all nothing to complain.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank belza2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

Ten minutes walk from subway and 10-15min cab ride from the Bund. Also, right next to dozens of shops specializing in custom made copy clothing at great prices. Nice privately owned coffee shop near by, also comes with friendly visiting cat and beggar with fake bandage around the forehead. Also, right next to a very lively (morning to evening) original Shanghai proletarian neighbourhood with all of its markets and restaurants. An extremely convenient laundry service is across the street ($1/t-shirt). The hotel is relatively cheap for the location. It is not brand new and the rooms and toilets require a little more cleaning. I could not open the window in the bathroom and they couldn't do anything about it. The balcony floor was dirty. Staff is nice but only a few can speak enough English. I would go back but only in a room without balcony (more space and more chances to have a bathroom window that opens). One night there was a small group of morons screaming in the street and I could hear them clearly on the 13th floor.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arctic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Rooms are really small. Cleanliness is below standard even on a 2 star hotel.
Window - dirty.
Toilet - smells bad.
Floor Foyer - Dirty.
Hot Water is only available at Wash Basin
Shower faucet is hot, but the water flow is still cold.
Air-condition Control Panel - is not user friendly.

Staff - only the young trainees at the front desk can speak English.

Location: Fair enough if you need tailor made clothing, where hotel is just a walk away.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BUTCH A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Xujiahui
Asset Hotel Shanghai
Asset Hotel Shanghai
#1,551 of 5,161 in Shanghai
302 reviews
Xintiandi
Magnificent International Plaza Hotel
Magnificent International Plaza ...
#2,443 of 5,161 in Shanghai
190 reviews
Gloria Plaza Hotel Kangqiao Shan...
#1,771 of 5,161 in Shanghai
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Chun Shen Jiang Hotel
Chun Shen Jiang Hotel
#197 of 5,161 in Shanghai
143 reviews
Zhongshan Park
Mercure Shanghai Royalton
Mercure Shanghai Royalton
#182 of 5,161 in Shanghai
258 reviews
Vienna Hotel Shanghai Songjiang
#239 of 5,161 in Shanghai
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rayfont Shanghai Nanpu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rayfont Shanghai Nanpu Hotel

Address: No.118 Nancang Street, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200011, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,419 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $30 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rayfont Shanghai Nanpu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rayfont Shanghai Nanpu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing