We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shanghai Fish Inn Bund
Ranked #90 of 5,160 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My wife an I stayed at Shanghai Fish Inn Bund for 5 nights in the beggining of September.
The Inn was very welcoming from the minute we booked our room. A few minutes after booking we got a confirmation email that also had a warning about a common scam that many tourists get sucked into so it made us feel like somebody’s taking care of us even before we left to China.
The Inn’s directions from the metro station were great. They recommended exiting the metro station from exit 6 but if you don’t have much luggage you can exit from exit 5 so you’ll be on the right side of the street. If you have heavy luggage, use exit 6 as they recommended (since that exit has escalators) and cross the street.
Our double room was big and had a small balcony and a TV (though it only had Chinese channels). The bed was very comfortable! The mattress was soft, unlike most Chinese mattresses that are very hard.
The inn supplied towels, soap, shampoo, mosquito repelling tablets (to use with an electric device that was in the room) and 2 free small bottles of mineral water per day.
The receptionist had great English and was very helpful when we had questions about Shanghai but also when we needed other help (she called our hostel in Lijiang for us since no one in that hostel spoke English and she gave us a note asking for a train ticket to our next destination so we won’t have any trouble). The lobby has a computer that guests can use and the rooms have cables so you could hook up your lap top for free internet.
The Fish Inn Bund’s location is very good! It’s very close to a metro station, a couple of minutes walk from a small grocery store and a couple of banks, about 10 minutes walk from the Bund and from Nanjing Road. It’s also about 2 minutes walk from a very nice bakery (walk towards the metro station and take the first right) and a small shop that sells “baozi”, which is a steamed bun, that’s delicious!

If we're ever in Shanghai again, we're definitely staying at the Fish Inn Bund!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ifat_and_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

179 - 185 of 355 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

A little difficult to find, but just follow the directions on their website and you'll get there. It's a small place and doesn't look like much from the outside, but it's comfortable, quiet, and in a great location just a few minutes from East Nanjing metro and the Bund.

The staff all speak very good English and know a lot of about local places to visit. They were able to book some tickets for us, call places to see if they were open or ask for directions, and provided us with good maps of the city. We were also upgraded to the suite as soon as we arrived, and we were able to check in around 9am since we arrived early.

The room was nice enough - nothing fancy. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. Those are about my only requirements for most hotels.

Room Tip: Book online for the best rates!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JVerse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I'll make it simple -
Great location (10 minutes from the bund, 5 from nanjing road)
Great value (we stayed in a suite - great space and comfy bed)
Great staff (English speaking, good recommendations)
Great cappuccino - order your room on their website and get free cappuccino for all your stay as much as you want - and believe me cappuccino is rare and expensive in China!
I'll definitely return.

Room Tip: The suite has sweet extra room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Habanudis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a very modest, quiet hotel very close to the Bund. It's about 5 min away from East Nanjing Rd subway station and it is sort of located on it's own, near a bridge. I think it's the best option price-wise in that area. It's also about 5 min walk to the Bund, but because you are not actually on the Bund, you get to see how locals live and you get to shop where locals shop. From about 7 pm at night, on the way from the subway to the hotel, a bunch of food stalls is set up every evening and the food there is great! During my trip to China, I've stayed at 5 different hotels in 3 different cities, and this hotel turned out to have the best wifi. They also have a computer downstairs with great connection! These are the things that I find important on the road. I can't imagine booking my flights and hotels with an unreliable connection that I had in other hotels.
The room was small and sort of dark, but the shower and the bathroom were newly renovated, so no complaints there.
I really liked this place because 1) at the reception, everyone was young and friendly (and spoke English!), 2) the street food was readily available, and 3) East Nanjing Rd station is so convenient if you are traveling to pretty much any destinations.

Room Tip: I'd say the higher - the better. There are 3 floors, ask for the top one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Irina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Super professional place. Wifi did not work well and the corner room was a little cramped. Location can't be beat and the staff is totally competent/wonderful. one of the best places you can stay in this extremely expensive part of the city. Thank you!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank losglobos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed one night for ~$45 in a standard room. It's nice and tucked away from the main road but still in a good location. The room was small and the bed was quite hard, but it was very tidy and the bathroom was spacious enough.

The receptionist was very friendly and helped us by writing directions to show our taxi driver.

There's an awesome steamed bun shop on the corner away from the river (1.5 Yuan per bun).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James_B165_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Booked a standard room with a king bed for 3 nights. For the price of about USD60 a night, there is really nothing to much to complain about. Check in was quick and the small lobby was quite homely with sofas spread around. The room is of decent size, unlike other budget inns where there is hardly space to move around. Room, bed and bathroom were clean. Just 2 issues to feedback : 1. The room only has small lights. A main bright light would be useful. 2. The internet wifi was intermittent, although the ethernet was better but still unstable.
Location is good, except that it is a little hard to find on the first visit. My taxi driver could not find it and left me at Nanjing East station. If you take the train to Nanjing East station, exit at Line 10 Exit 5. When you come out of the station, walk left along Henan Middle Road for 300m where you reach a traffic junction, until you see a flyover/bridge on the right. The hotel is located round the bend after the traffic light. Due to its location, the hotel is pleasantly quiet so that is a plus.
Food and shopping galore around Nanjing East Station area so that is not a problem.
Overall, value for money, and will stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steeltable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund Riverside Hotel
#159 of 5,160 in Shanghai
749 reviews
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Shanghai Railway Station
Holiday Inn Express Zhabei Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongshan Park
Pentahotel Shanghai
Pentahotel Shanghai
#62 of 5,160 in Shanghai
626 reviews
Hongkou
Astor House Hotel
Astor House Hotel
#92 of 5,160 in Shanghai
1,142 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Fish Inn Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Fish Inn Bund

Address: No.639 Henan Middle Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 5,160 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $45 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shanghai Fish Inn Bund 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fish Inn Bund is a boutique hotel located 5 minutes walk from E. Nanjing Road, right at the center. 5 minutes walk to metro station, Fish Inn is just minutes away from most of Shanghai's highlight. It is renovated in 2011 to a fusioned hotel with Chinese traditional elements perfectly bounded into a building hidden in the ShiKuMen area, near SuZhou Creek and the Bund. Each room has its own decor to lighten your trip to Shanghai. Our staff warmly welcome you to Fish Inn Bund! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shanghai Fish Inn Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing