We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, staff and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shanghai Fish Inn Bund
Ranked #87 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great location, staff and service”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Fish Inn was very easy to find when following the directions provided by the hotel when we booked - if you look up left across the intersection right before the bridge then you will even spy a red sign saying 'Fish Inn' (not very easy to spot but it's there!) so you can just head towards that. The staff upon arrival were very very friendly and spoke great English. That night my mum was ill and they were so lovely and rang up for takeaway pizza for us so we didn't have to go out searching for food. I think they must read their reviews on here because they were very insistent on helping us with our luggage up the stairs (I've seen quite a few reviews here from people complaining about not getting any help) and the lift was also working when we were there. The room was a three bedroom 'apartment'. It was quite compact, if you did have 6 people in there (which the capacity was labelled as) then there would not be much space and there is only room for two or three people squeezed onto the one sofa in the little living space. Still the space was nice, the heating worked well everywhere, the shower was big and hot and the tv had one English speaking channel. The wifi was a bit patchy in places and worked best only in one room but it still was quite fast and reliable when you got it working. The hotel is in such a good location it is just fantastic - five minutes away from e nanjing road and five minutes away from the bund, you couldnt ask for a better location with plenty of places to eat along nanjing road and roads around there. The metro is also 5 minutes away and on the right line to get to the airport/the maglev train to the airport so we didn't have to get taxis anywhere. Each day we were given fresh towels and bottles of water and the staff also organised a pickup of our laundry while we were there that was very cheap and very good quality. Coffee here was also good. All in all, definitely a budget place to stay but one of the best quality you could wish for.

Room Tip: If you really do have six people staying in the apartment style room, the room on floor one is a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank khed4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    180
    49
    9
    1
See reviews for
60
120
62
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lapstone
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

From the outside, the hotel does not look very inviting - however the rooms were clean and the staff were all very pleasant and helpful. In particular, the girl at the front desk won my heart because she was so helpful and had a great command of English.
The hotel is located only a few minutes from the Bund and the Peace Hotel.
The bathrooms were modern – the shower was one of the best I've seen.
For 30 yuan you can have a basic Western style breakfast with muesli, juice, eggs, toast jam and coffee - not a big variety but there are plenty of cheap restaurants in the vicinity if you want a gourmet Chinese noodle breakfast.
I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be well located and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This place was really great. It's a fantastic location near a metro station, so it's easy to get around and easy to jump right into Shanghai's scene. It's also right by one of the city's main shopping arteries, which is good for a lot of practical reasons. But all you have to do is walk in a different direction and lose yourself in residential alleyways to get a different taste of Shanghai, so don't worry about being in a "commercial" area.

The staff was really friendly and helpful, and everything went well. We thought our room was a good value for the price. We had a double bed private room and while it wasn't luxurious, obviously, it was actually tastefully decorated and a comfortable size. Things were kept clean and we didn't have any issues.

I highly recommend this hotel if you're going to Shanghai and want a budget option. We were very happy with our choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelergal2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

So i can say that elevator works now, it`s not the fastest but it caries you up to the third floor. The Staff was welcoming and helpful as we asked some tips and help to ask something in Chinese. Location is also very good, if you get out on East Nanjing road station take exit 5 and just go straight, also two crosses on the same henan road are tasty Yang meat buns. The room was nice and worm compering to hostels we took before.Room was cleaned every day, Also you get free ( but good :)) coffee if you book on their site. We enjoyed stay here.

Room Tip: 3rd floor right side rooms has balcony ( we stayed in 309) view maybe wasnot nicest but still nice t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ekze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I have spent only one night here and I have appreciated the staff that is extremely helpful and speaks english. The room is pretty good for the cheap price they charged us. The bathroom was newly remodelled.
Unfortunately the wifi connection works only in the lobby and the heater was not working well, so the room was pretty cold (it was january and it was snowing...the weather is rarely that cold in Shanghai).
Just aroung the corner...you are right in a popular neighbourhood, which is quite good if you want to experience the less modern side of the city.
I would suggest the place to young medium/low budget travellers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saretta74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

This is a 3 levels old building being converted to hostel. Clean and nice. But the heater seem not working very well. Bring more cloths during winter. Lift is not available now and will be available soon after they got the government approval. The staff is very helpful. He is helping me to carry my luggage to 3rd floor room. The location is perfect! Near to East Nanjing Rd. subway station. It's just 5min walk from exit 5. At the exit 5, go straight, it's opposite of China Mobile shop and near to flyover. 10min walk to Nanjing shopping street. Very convenienve. If you join day tour, the meeting point normally at people's square, its one stop away from East Nanjing Rd.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkytpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Arrived at the fish Inn bund on Nov 18 after 17hrs travel, was wonderfull to be greeted by a friendly woman at the reception desk. The room was basic but clean and had hot showers. Location was good right up the road from the subway. Lots of little resteraunts just up the road. Free coffee daily with our room cause we booked online. We had breakfast for ¥2 ($33c) up the street. Staff were very willing to write what we needed in chinese ie. train tickets etc all in all we enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilliana82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
The Bund Riverside Hotel
#166 of 5,069 in Shanghai
729 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Holiday Inn Express Zhabei Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongshan Park
Pentahotel Shanghai
Pentahotel Shanghai
#63 of 5,069 in Shanghai
581 reviews
Hongkou
Astor House Hotel
Astor House Hotel
#83 of 5,069 in Shanghai
1,110 reviews
People’s Square
Chun Shen Jiang Hotel
Chun Shen Jiang Hotel
#177 of 5,069 in Shanghai
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Fish Inn Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Fish Inn Bund

Property: Shanghai Fish Inn Bund
Address: No.639 Henan Middle Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shanghai Fish Inn Bund 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fish Inn Bund is a boutique hotel located 5 minutes walk from E. Nanjing Road, right at the center. 5 minutes walk to metro station, Fish Inn is just minutes away from most of Shanghai's highlight. It is renovated in 2011 to a fusioned hotel with Chinese traditional elements perfectly bounded into a building hidden in the ShiKuMen area, near SuZhou Creek and the Bund. Each room has its own decor to lighten your trip to Shanghai. Our staff warmly welcome you to Fish Inn Bund! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Shanghai Fish Inn Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing