We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #107 of 5,138 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Could be more central needed a taxi to go to any sites
Staff not very friendly service very poor
Drinks very expensive
Rooms are huge and very comfortable
Food at breakfast good
Hotel mean with bathroom shampoo etc

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marcoIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

129 - 135 of 296 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

The place is very well located near the bund, the hotel has all the business facilities that you expect and the staff is very helpful in ensuring that you are well served. The rooms are really nice and spacious with all the modern amenities coupled with a wide variety in the breakfast spread that dealt with both local and continental cuisines. I really liked the way you could turn the tv around for viewing from any corner of the room. The place stands out in architecture and is located quite near to the Jewish Museum and the metro. Overall very impressed and would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Choose a front facing room for a clear view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank windcharger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Ocean Hotel is pretty much what you'd expect in terms of accommodation, service and the all-important breakfast. The first impression of this hotel tower is that it sits right on a busy intersection behind a tiny sometimes gridlocked car park and facing a disused florist's. Not a great start but the staff try hard even when the language barriers seem insurmountable. Everything worked and despite very strange windows (you'll see why) the rooms were fine. It's odd that throughout China we rarely saw a travel desk in a hotel. You're on your own if you're not in the hands of your CITS guide. But, for me, there was a huge and unexpected joy: the Ocean is located in the old Jewish refugees area. Be just a little adventurous in the hotel surrounds and you'll be rewarded with a unique travel experience. You'll need to be quick though - the jaws of the demolition monsters are just a stone's throw away. The hotel is also a comfortable walk to the Bund - the beginning and end of Shanghai's appeal.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that doesn't have a solitary window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel before a few years back and loved it. However they have had a big makeover and it is not as good any more. The "weird" regulation is You are not allowed to get a taxi from the hotel courtyard or ask the staff to call you a taxi! You must book a minimum of 2 hours in advance if you want a taxi! So if you have an unplanned trip you have to go out on the street to try to hail a taxi! Strangest thing I have ever heard. That alone would stop me from staying here again, let alone all the things wrong with this hotel.
We stayed here twice in a short period of time, once was just an overnight leaving for the train mid morning, the other was for 3 days at the end of our trip. The first night we got in late went to the room was quite large and comfortable. Had to have food in the room as it was too late for the restaurant. The in room menu is very limited, 2 only western dishes but still OK.
Breakfast buffet was well set out and plentiful as most good Chinese hotels are!
The return 10 days later was not so good. We were given a room on the 9th floor, tiny by any standards. A very small shower/bath setup, with a confusing system of knobs and dials to turn the water on and off and control temperature. But clean and tidy.
We went to the restaurant for dinner. Big place with only us and 2 men at the other end of the room, the men had finished and were just having drinks. There were at least 11 staff we counted just in the serving area and the "service" was awful. The menu was the same as the in room menu and very limited. After 5 minutes we finally got someone to take our order, it took more than 10 minutes more for someone to get us a drink and that was only after we asked three times. Two of the staff were constantly going in to the blocked off part of the restaurant and kissing and cuddling, I think they were trying to hide it but they were standing right in line with a mirror that reflected right back at our table. My wife's meal arrived and she had finished for more than 25 minutes before my meal arrived! Extraordinarily bad service! Then when we left my wife noticed that we had been charged for 4 drinks not 2 and three meals???? Not sure how they did that but lucky she checked I usually just sign and go.
Next trip I will choose a different hotel. The Ocean brand is usually quite good, as well as Shanghai we have stayed at the Ocean Guangzhou a few times. In Shanghai the hotel is about an hour from Pudong airport (Or 40 minutes if you get a jet taxi driver like we did this trip) and about 40 minutes from Hongqiao airport and railway station. If you do not need to be on this side of the city I would strongly suggest looking at hotels closer to the city and the centre of everything. There is nothing startling in this area of the city and you have to travel to get a decent restaurant or the centre of business. And of course it is hard to get a taxi

Room Tip: Maybe try to avoid the 9th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is a very cosmopolitan hotel by Chinese standards. The staff are a mixed bag - some helpful and friendly and some not. The rooms are large and comfortable. Clean and well appointed. Housekeeping is a little random. There are 3 people in the room, but we either receive 2 of everything or nothing at all. We ordered room service the first night because my kids were too tired to go out and were expected to pay then and there in the room, very rudely, which was very strange and because I didn't have enough cash on me I had had to take off my pajamas, dress and go down to the lobby and pay by credit card - IMMEDIATELY while someone waited outside the room. This was on the 1st night of a 6 night stay AND after they took a deposit from me when we arrived. It was bewildering and very poorly done. It's in a strange area where there is very little in the way of restaurants or tourist accessible food - everything is a taxi ride away - so you would think with a captive market they might make eating in the hotel a little less disagreeable.
The breakfast buffet is OK. There are a thousand staff but no one will bring coffee ... But generally its quite well appointed and maintained and I'd probably stay again (but never order room service.)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShellyJackMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We loved staying at the Ocean hotel. Clean, well appointed rooms providing everything we needed. Breakfast was amazing. We loved the brown sponge cake (Don't know the real name) having the lightest texture I have ever tasted. Staff was friendly in a reserved way. No extra charges. Would definitely go back. Awesome entrance! Lovely decor in public areas. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kokkelol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Good location, near the Jewish museum and not far from the bund,
Brand new renovated rooms, clean comfy and well appointed, large suites had problems with cooling the room but smaller twin rooms were great, cooled easily, lots of hot water, great lobby atmosphere and delicious variety for breakfast. Staff slow for checkout so give yourself time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 59galtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Hongkou
Sunrise On The Bund Hotel
Sunrise On The Bund Hotel
#67 of 5,138 in Shanghai
265 reviews
Hongkou
Banyan Tree Shanghai On The Bund
The Bund Riverside Hotel
#160 of 5,138 in Shanghai
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hongkou
Green Land Jiulong Hotel , Shanghai
Hongkou
Astor House Hotel
Astor House Hotel
#83 of 5,138 in Shanghai
1,127 reviews
Hongkou
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
#187 of 5,138 in Shanghai
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.1171 Dongdaming Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200082, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#59 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#101 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $88 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Hotel Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Ocean Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing