We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just an OK hotel - Would not stay again” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Hotel Shanghai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ocean Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #99 of 4,968 Hotels in Shanghai
Calgary
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Just an OK hotel - Would not stay again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is clean and the rooms are nicely maintained. For me there is ended.

The staff are not friendly and not welcoming. This includes the staff at the front desk, restaurant and revolving restaurant. They are not helpful and this can be very frustrating.

The air conditioner in our room did not work. Each room has their own thermostat but they are controlled by the hotel. I spoke to the assistant manager about changing rooms and she said no. He said some people are hot, some are cold and he can't please everyone. They chose to turn on the air conditioning when they want to.

we went to the revolving restaurant for a drink and were told that we could not have a drink until 9 PM although there was no one in the restaurant. We went back the next day at 9:30 and the entire restaurant was closed. we went back the next day at 4:30 and they said OK come in but you need to be out by 5. Again there were no other customers in the restuarant. Once they serve you an initial drink you cannot find staff again to even pay the bill. If you are assigning the bill to your room this seems to be a long ordeal. If you split the bill between rooms this is even more of an ordeal.

The breakfast restaurant is crowded and small., Although there is a space next to the restaurant they do not open that space .

We travelled with friends and they left a day before us. After touring in Shanghai we came back to our room to find that our key cards did not work. We went down to the front desk and they told us they checked us out. They are not apologetic and rude when dealing with visitors.

Location is 2.5 blocks to subway. Subway quite cheap. Otherwise the area is not exceptionally nice

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    137
    40
    14
    10
See reviews for
31
85
21
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

It was our first in Shanghai and Chaina. Mi kid prefer the hotel with pool, so we chose this one. But (!) the poll is under reconstruction, but no comm about this on site and in travel agency. Too cold in restorant and room.
The stuff isn't friendly and speakable English.
No prob in other side

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DNPj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is nice and clean. Buffet breakfast was good. Room was comfortable, quiet and comfortable bed. Pool was under construction/repairs. Don't get room by elevators if you don't want cigarette smoke entering your room from elevator area. No wifi in room, only in lobby, but there was a wire line in room.

The staff was not friendly at reception and in the dining area. Maybe it's just me but when I arrive after a day of traveling I like to be welcomed with a smile and friendly service. I had to ask about Internet and also about breakfast, which is usually explained upon check inn.

I would not return for two reasons: location (far from a main subway line and sightseeing areas) and service. A cab to Bund and People's square was 20-24 yuan (cabs are inexpensive).

Also the area, North Bund, is currently undergoing redevelopment so there is a lot of construction sights all over.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Celina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Our family was booked on a China Spree tour so our hotel destination was selected for us. I was pleasantly surprised with the spacious and modern rooms we were assigned, actually a mini-suite by most standards. There was plenty of space - foyer/dressing area, living area with L-shaped sofa and wet bar, king bed and a large Western bathroom with separate tub and shower that I wouldn't mind having in my own home. As common in China, the bed was a little hard, but I actually like that. I ended up getting sick on my vacation and spent quite of lot of time in my room so it was nice that it was very comfortable and clean since I was not at home. Being on the 25th floor, we also had a nice view of the city, did not hear any street noise and got a peek-a-boo view of the river and the Bund.

Toiletries are well stocked, terry robes and slippers provided, and two complimentary bottles of water provided each day. I always appreciate those little touches. Front desk provides currency exchange at a decent rate (USD for us). Also, it rained while we were there and the concierge will provide loaner umbrellas if needed which came in handy. There is a small convenience store across from the hotel in case you need something like sodas or snacks. There is also a small outdoor walking/jogging path behind the hotel if you are inclined to exercise while on your vacation.

The negatives are there is no in-room wifi and even in the lobby, reception was a bit spotty. Drinks are very pricey if you order at the lobby bar and not particularly good. The location is so-so. A little far from city center, but still convenient to get around by foot, taxi or subway.

Buffet breakfast is included with your stay...a fair selection of Western and Asian foods but overall was not that great. The juices are watered down, cold foods were not that cold and hot foods were not that hot since they prep some foods ahead of time and set it out but the food warmers were not effective. Food service was meh...they seemed to wait until food was all gone before replenishing. There's insufficient seating for the breakfast rush and the servers are slow to clear off tables and don't assist with seating so you are never really sure if someone is off at the buffet line or if they have left. English comprehension is questionable and the servers are not very attentive so you end up getting everything yourself. I normally order cooked-to-order omelettes whenever available because it's always made fresh but the cook was apparently trained by the communists as he could only cook one at a time even though he had 4 burners at hand. As a result, the line would move VERY slowly, so be prepared to wait 10-15 minutes to get a single omelette!

In general, I would not hesitate to stay again just because the rooms are clean, spacious and well appointed. The non-smoking room did not smell either (which was not the case at a different property in China) but the service is certainly not up to Western standards so there is plenty of room for improvement there. It's also not ideal if you want to be in the center of activity but ok if you like to get out and explore.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TigrMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

this is a nice hotel and nice staff. really I like very much. top revolve restaurant excellent and beautiful view. A good swimming pool ,but not open for maintaining . The staffs are friendly and helpful though English not good enough.A hotel in the centre of the city . very easy to go out .

Room Tip: they have rooms facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanghonghk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were at the Ocean Hotel as part of a tour group that encompassed sight seeing in Beijing and Shanghai. This hotel was great.

The rooms were HUGE. As others have mentioned previously, the rooms consisted of a foyer, sitting, and bed area. The bathrooms were also quite large. The rooms were well appointed and internet was free if you could plug your device into the wall. WiFi was available in the lobby for free.

Breakfast was good. There was some good variety, but the dining area was a bit small. The hotel would slowly open other areas of the hotel for breakfast diners to eat. It seemed a lot of other tours were using this hotel as well.

The location of the hotel is in a less busy part of the city. There is a 24 hour convenience store across the street from the hotel that offers sodas and beers at excellent prices (hotel minibar prices can be high). Otherwise, the area the hotel isn't too remarkable although there is a vibrant local community. Most of the tourist attractions are some distance away from the hotel but since we were part of a tour, this wasn't really an issue.

Unfortunately, the pool was closed for repairs at the time of our arrival. This also wasn't a big deal since the kids were really too tired to do anything after a full day of touring.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mackadoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Pros: It's rennovated a few years ago and well maintained. Room (deluxe on 16th floor) is very spacious and elegantly divided into three sections: foyer, living area and bedroom. The bathroom is again spacious but seems to be wasteful. Breakfast is more westernized and offers a number of food items. Waiters and waitress are attentative and quick to clean up tables and removed used forks and knives.
Cons: The neighborhood is in the developing stage so there is no established shopping mall. It might be good if you want to stay quiet.

Room Tip: Non smoking room on the non-smoking floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnJQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Hongkou
Sunrise On The Bund Hotel
Sunrise On The Bund Hotel
#72 of 4,968 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Hongkou
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
#185 of 4,968 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Hongkou
Shanghai Jiulong Hotel
Shanghai Jiulong Hotel
#140 of 4,968 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Starr Hotel
#121 of 4,968 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Hongkou
Narada Boutique Hotel Shanghai Hongkou
Old Town
Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund
Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund
#42 of 4,968 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Hotel Shanghai

Property: Ocean Hotel Shanghai
Address: No.1171 Dongdaming Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200082, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#49 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#93 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Hotel Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Ocean Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing