We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, clean and very close to Metro”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rhea Boutique Hotel Shanghai Railway Station
Ranked #1,266 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This mid-range hotel is very close to Shanghai Metro and can be easily found. Take Metro Line1 and stop at Hanzhong Rd station. You can use either exit2 or 3 and the hotel is right in front of you. Hanzhong Rd is a quiet, less-crowded station but also close to downtown and other popular stations such as Shanghai Railway station, East Nanjing Rd, and People's Square. The staff is friendly and speaks basic English. The room is clean and cozy. It offers free Wi-Fi and complimentary bottled waters.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 26 of 101 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

First time in Shanghai and we stayed here for 5 nights, stayed at level 7 (highest level), room 701 (window has a slight gap which means during winter, there will always be a cold breeze entering, the aircon/heater worked ok) a couple of weeks ago. Also agoda advertises queen size bed, its not a queen, its a double. I thought for what we paid $53 AUD per night including breakfast was pretty good value. It was across the road from exit 2 Hanzhong Road (red line, line 1 & 1 subway station before Shanghai Railway Station) so it was extremely convenient. Few hiccups, on the 4th day - there was no hot water available from early morning till the evening.The morning that we left, we asked for a wake up call at 4:30am and never got one, luckily we didn't rely on the receptionist and set our own alarms. It was raining most of our stay and we asked to borrow an umbrella (deposit required which is fine) but there weren't any available. The room & bathroom was clean (obviously there was wear & tear but that can't be helped) and 2x500ml complimentary water bottles each day of your stay was provided too. There are no shops around apart from a really good Xinjiang lamb dish sort of restaurant next door. The hotel lobby has a little store that provides essentials if required like smokes and snacks etc pricey though. If you speak mandarin, this definitely helps as the receptionist's english was very average and you might have some difficulty when discussing slight complex situations.Also housekeeper was very nice but no word of english. Sign language helps! Definitely not in the touristy area so if you are looking for abit of night action, this hotel will not suit but for someone who wants good value (apart from the slight hiccups), I would recommend it.

Room Tip: 7th Floor seems to be the non-smoking level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julzydownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I stayed one night having booked through Agora due to the above average rating there. However, having the title with '..Shanghai Railway station' IS MISLEADING as it is one metro stop (15 mins walk) away from the actual station. So do not stop at the Shanghai Railway station but one stop earlier.
Other than that the location is fine, although it is not the 'shopping at your door step' kind of hotel. The nearest shopping mall - Pacific Shopping Mall is at the Shanghai Railway Mall station. There was also a big and good IT and mobile plaza where you can find all things mobile!! Many shops inside and many variety of electronics stuffs. However, bargain your way though as price on first quote is really high!
Hotel wise is good for the price you pay! Hence my rating for high value, which I cannot find anywhere in Shanghai. Hotel staff spoken English could be much better. Breakfast is ok with balance of international and Chinese food.

Room Tip: There is a very reasonably priced beef noodle restaurant just next to the entrance of hotel. When I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johnmagfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Living in Nanjing, I've stayed here a few times when I've needed to come to Shanghai as it's handy for the train station (15 mins walk or one subway stop away) and the price is very reasonable compared to hotels near the touristy areas. It doesn't matter that this hotel is not near anywhere interesting, the subway (line 1) is right outside the hotel. The hotel itself is ok for the cost, rooms are a bit dated but comfortable and large. Try booking on Ctrip for a discount.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wanderlu247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I spend 10 days in the Rhea Boutique Hotel Railway Station. The price is good and the rooms don't look too bad. The best thing was the location, which was right across the street from hanzhong station (line 1) which is only 2 stations away from People's Square.

But the area right around the hotel isn't interessting. You won't find restaurants or shops. Therefore you would have to walk in the direction of the Railway Station. After 5-10 minutes walking you'll find shopping centers and restaurants.

A negative point was the noisy room. The windows weren't isolated very well so I woke up in the morning as soon as the travic (and with it the chorus of horns) started.
Also the room service could have been better. For two days they didn't clear the waste and didn't refill toilet paper. And the communication at the reception is difficult. There's only one person who speaks some words english (btw I once needed to know smth at 3 am, so the not-english-speaking women at the reception simply called her out of bed).
The rooms are also smelling of smoke.

The hotel is mostly used by chinese people. But if you don't care about the smell of smoke, the noise and the time you spend at the reception for communication (or you speak chinese), it's not a bad option.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank antitransparent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Rhea Boutique Hotel has 2 locations in Shanghai. This one is just in front of the exit 3 of Hanzhong lu station (line 1) and therefore is very convenient in terms of location.

This 4 star rated hotel has mainly Chinese customers and and if you don't speak Chinese you may spend some time at the reception desk to explain your needs...If you speak Chinese it is far much more easier. The breakfast (from 7 :00 to 9 :00) is plentiful. The hotel at night is calm unless you ask for a "massage" which could turn into something else...

I would recommend this hotel for a one week staying as in Shanghai hotels are expensive.

Room Tip: Les chambres du 7ème et dernier étage sont plus grandes mais l'une d'entre elles servant de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daojiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Unbelieveable! An excellent hotel at the price ( about £42 for twin room) for central Shanghai. Extremely easy, convenient and cheap to get to, and from. Take the metro subway (green) line 2 direct from Pudong airport to Peoples Square, then change to (red) line 1 towards Fujin Rd. Get off at Hanzhong Rd. The hotel is directly facing you at Exit number 2. Fare from the airport, 7rmb ( about 74p !). However, if you're a speed freak (like me) who's won the lottery (not like me) and can spare another 40 rmb (£4.20), you can take the maglev train from the airport and fly to Longyang Rd at 200 mph before changing to the metro line 2 . A great first experience in Shanghai. Otherwise a taxi from the airport is well over 160 rmb (£16.75) and at least 3 to 4 times as long to get there. 74p or £17? The maths speaks for itself! Another tip. Buy the 1 day unlimited use metro ticket, only 18 rmb (£1.90 !) because it's the best way to travel around Shanghai. Save time, money and hassle.
The hotel is also only 10 minutes walk from the main Shainghai railway station.
My first visit to Shanghai. I don't speak a word of Chinese, so if I can do it, anyone can ! Just follow the signs, and your wallet!
Anyway, back to the hotel. Fantastic. Clean, big, well appointed rooms. Check out the photos on the hotel website. Even the bathrooms have glass walls, perfect if you're travelling with your girlfriend, (but don't worry there's also a heavy curtain, in case it's your wife !) Well over 3 star plus by UK standards.
Okay, it's not next door to the Oriental Pearl Tower, but if you want to spend an extra £200 a night and need to save 15 minutes travelling time, fine. Hey guys, I'm no skinflint but I know whose pocket I would rather see the money in!
Only disappointments were wired (free) internet in the room, however I always carry an ethernet cable with my laptop when travelling, so no problem really. Free wifi in the lobby. As with most Chinese hotels, the free breakfast is not up to UK standards, but if you're happy with basic, perhaps continental breakast, it's good and plentyful. If you're a food gourmet, however, I suggest you check in to the Lancrigg Hotel, it's a bit further away, only about 8,000 miles. Oh, the only English channel on the tv is the Japanese one, NHK World. A bit boring and repetative after a while, but okay for keeping up with the main news and obviously caters for our American friends.
All in all, very happy with Rhea Hotel and will definitely stay here whenever I come to Shanghai........unless my lottery numbers come up!
Tomorrow I'm off to Yiwu on the bullet train, over 200 miles south, but this time I'll have to dig deep into my pockets, the fare is a staggering 89.50 rmb (about £9.37) !

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Jiti V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#64 of 5,159 in Shanghai
1,774 reviews
Rayfont Shanghai Nanpu Hotel
#2,403 of 5,159 in Shanghai
178 reviews
Xujiahui
Asset Hotel Shanghai
Asset Hotel Shanghai
#1,522 of 5,159 in Shanghai
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Charms Hotel
Charms Hotel
#1,192 of 5,159 in Shanghai
553 reviews
The Bund
Baron Business Hotel
Baron Business Hotel
#634 of 5,159 in Shanghai
297 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Holiday Inn Express Zhabei Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhea Boutique Hotel Shanghai Railway Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhea Boutique Hotel Shanghai Railway Station

Address: No.37 Meiyuan Road, Zhabei District, Shanghai 200070, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,266 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $44 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rhea Boutique Hotel Shanghai Railway Station 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rhea Boutique Hotel Shanghai Railway Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing