We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
FX Hotel Shanghai North Bund
Ranked #1,986 of 5,206 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The rooms are in need of a paint job but are clean with comfy beds. Nice bathroom/shower and tv. Rooms cleaned and sheets and towels replaced every day. Staff for the most part do not speak english so could be a problem if you intend to book a tour/show etc. through the hotel. However we enjoyed our stay and would go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teacherrtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 15 of 42 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

Although not so close to the metro, let's say, a 10 minute walk from the hotel, I'd say it's not that bad since the room was just 14 us dollars a day for a coupke, including wifi. There's no breakfast in the hotel, nor even paying appart, however, it's quite easy to eat anywhere around. Some markets and very simple restaurants, a mall, and some street vendors at the entrance of the subway. Room was quite spacious, and a bathroom where shower was ok, but the door didn't close well. The hotel was being remodeled when we arrived, maybe that was the reason. An air conditioner is also available in the room, disposable sandals, an iron, and an electric kettle.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gloriawpai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

It ended reconstruction of the hotel when we arrived. Price here was the best factor. The surrounding area is not lot of interest, but not far from Metro station -DALIAN ROAD. line No 4.
It si two station from PUDONG AVENUE. With taxi is not far from Nanjing Road , but do not forget to take the Hotel address, because some taxi drivers hard to find.
Bedrooms, bathroom are good and clean.I recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TOMOSUMIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a week during New Years Holiday this last December. After arriving at the station late one evening in the rain I had to take a taxi to the hotel. At first the hotel was hard for the taxi driver to find. However, upon arriving at the hotel I was greeted with nothing but good customer service. The rooms were big for the price I paid and I have no complaints. When I stood in this year last December there was a lot of construction going on and there was nothing to eat in the nearby area. However, I hear there is now a Tesco near the station which is really nice.

This is hotel is a great stay for the price and I think I would stay here again when I visit Shanghai in the near future.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scareylarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Was just going to stay here for a quick sleep, but this place was too good of a deal to pass up for another night. The hotel is currently being remodeled (Feb 2013) to which the staff said that the owner had recently changed. No big deals, but a little messy when you first come into the lobby.

Otherwise, the rooms are really good. water, colas, slippers, housecoat, tea kettle, and toiletries are included in the room at no extra charge, and there is free WIFI almost everywhere in the hotel (a little weak on the 6th floor, but works). The beds in the room are really soft and there are extra pillows provided in the wardrobe. Nice!

My only complaint would be that the washroom wasn't so clean. A bit of effort from the staff would make this much better for the next visit.

Breakfast is 20rmb (about 4 USD) and is mostly Chinese food. A few fruits and breads, but other than that, it's mostly geared towards the Chinese guests, whom I assume are most likely to stay there.

Staff are great. They speak English quite well, and are surprisingly friendly.

Nearby the hotel there is a Tesco supermarket and a Paris Baguette Bakery with lots of breads and fruits, as well as a Starbucks across the street from there (at Dalian rd station).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank manh_attan04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We paid around £15 a night for this place so didnt expect too much but it was a gem for the price. The room was massive, very clean, big plasma all the channels, free water and coke in the room, free toiletries and a big bathroom. The room was comparative to some 4/5* hotels to size and amenities in room and a total bargain.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank merchgymraeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed here during a promotional sale and only paid $17 per night for two people. First, the photos DO match the hotel (I read an earlier review that said otherwise). FX is clean, had an amazingly helpful staff, great rooms and fast internet. I really can't think of any reason not to stay here other than the 10-15 minute walk to the nearest metro. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone who is looking for basic but good quality accommodation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vegabond82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#5 of 5,206 in Shanghai
2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#40 of 5,206 in Shanghai
2,480 reviews
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FX Hotel Shanghai North Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FX Hotel Shanghai North Bund

Address: No.888 Tongbei Road, Yangpu District, Shanghai 200085, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,986 of 5,206 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $31 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — FX Hotel Shanghai North Bund 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your FX Hotel Shanghai North Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing