We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its an amazing hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Ranked #25 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
india
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Its an amazing hotel!”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

So i have never given a hotel 5*'s before but this hotel is amazing!

Its understated and not in your face with no real name board outside. The location is fantastic its easily connected to the city and also has an amazing view of the bund! Entry on the ground and check in is on the 3rd floor.

The rooms are fabulous i had a bund view studio open bathroom with doors for privacy(not glass) and tub with tv and overlooking the bund. High end toiletries and nice rain shower!

The hotel has an all day executive lounge open to all with basic tea coffee and cookies but it was nice when i was in Shanghai it was raining and one could easily work in the lounge! The only thing that i can fault is the breakfast is short on vegetarian options(i am vegetarian) and would have appreciated an option for baked beans or something else!

I would definitely stay here again and recommend if you get a room to stay here!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surfindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Les_Suites_Orient, Manager at Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your review, we feel so honored to be your first straight 5*s hotel!
We are even more appreciative that you point out how we might improve, in fact we have a variety of options for vegetarians, we only hope next time we could know your preference earlier so that preparations could be made for you. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,169
    367
    72
    27
    19
See reviews for
224
643
140
346
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Rating: Excellent
Location: Excellent, next to the bund.
Price: Expensive but worth the price tag.
Service: Exceptional, very attentive and passionate personnel
Public transport: A lot of taxis and very near to the subway station
Bathroom: Simply great. A bath tub overlooking the bund.
Decorations: Simply great with exhibits of antiques all over the lobby
Comfort: Very, very comfortable
Wifi: Not fast enough and no VPN available

Room Tip: If you want service, comfort, great location and budget is not a major concern, this is the one to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eywchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Les_Suites_Orient, Manager at Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your detailed review on so many aspects of Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai, and we are happy you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We will seek improvement on hotel WIFI speed as you mentioned, and we look forward to being of service again should you travel to Shanghai in the future.
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

The interior of the room and hotel look bit otiental but feel also western and mordern which was very unique and nice. The veiw was absolutely right could see the all side of shanghai. The bed was bit high but very comporty. The room is not that big but big enough..but if want a private bathroom need to close the both sides doors though bedroom and sitting room..
The breakfast place was very good. Various food and casual mood with a big table.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank freelh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I stayed there last year but the experience was unforgettable so I just have to write a review for them.
First of all it is the best value on the bund, stunning view over the bund and river. The bathroom overlooks the bund and the bedroom overlooks the Pearl Tower. Sinking in the bathtub and looking at the bund was the best thing you can do in Shanghai. The room was so very well equipped, everything is automatic, spotless. Loved the Nespresso machine!
The breakfast was the best I had in Shanghai hotels. The problem with a lot of hotel breakfast is that they don't know much about western food so the things they had, were not to my taste (like fresh cheese, plain yogurt and etc.). All the food I saw at the breakfast in Les Suites Orient was perfect. Really couldn't fault them in any way.
Last, the service was top notch. Again the best one I encountered in Shanghai. I had another chance going there not as a guest but looking for a venue. I sorta down dressed that day and felt other hotels were judgmental except this one was welcoming and warm.
The only downside is it got no parking space or swimming pool.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chenjiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Les_Suites_Orient, Manager at Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for sharing your comments with us on Tripadvisor.com.
We are appreciative that you chose Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai for your recent visit to Shanghai, and we feel so happy to know that you love the hotel atmosphere as well as the service provided. We look forward to seeing you again and will make sure your next stay at least as great if not better.
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

They obviously aim for the more discreet guest as the hotel sign is barely discernible. However, once inside all is very elegant and although extremely attentive the staff are perhaps a little cool. The rooms are beautifully equipped with everything from an individual espresso machine, to electric blinds and a second TV at the foot of the bath. The breakfast buffet could certainly have been a little better attended to but had a decent range on offer. The 24-hour provision of tea, coffee and cakes in the lounge is very welcome after a long day of sightseeing. Location on the Bund is a major advantage and the views as you walk out in the evening are spectacular.

Room Tip: Make sure to book a Bund-view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DougF45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maj65
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed here in October during Golden week. This meant that the bund was incredibly busy but this only added to the beauty of being in Shanghai.
Cons:
Like all hotels these days there are differing standards of rooms. As an iprefer member I booked a basic Shanghai Studio as I was supposed to receive an upgrade but this did not occur. Apparently they never received my membership number? Therefore we were put into a Shanghai studio. It was beautifully and intelligently appointed though small. It looked exactly like the photo on the hotel's website. we were on the 21st floor just behind the elevators and though quiet the vibration of them could be heard at night.
The hotel advertises that all rooms have a view however, there was only 1 window and this had a very large support beam intersecting it so there was not really a view of anything unless you crouched down and craned your neck to see the bund. The breakfast area was very small and although all the basic choices were there they were not replenished in a timely manner. reception staff were not very friendly. In our 5 night stay I think we were acknowledged once as we walked past.
Pros:
Les Suites is in an absolutely fantastic location.
Rooms are beautiful.
All day coffee/tea self serve in the breakfast room/lounge.
friendly management.
Would I stay here again. Maybe but there are many hotels in Shanghai that are beautifully appointed with better reputations and well located but I am glad I tried it.

Room Tip: Upgrade from a Studio if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnitaJW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Location, location, location and so on... This is on the bund. The ferry over to pudong is just a cross the street. Nanjing road is 5 minutes walk from the hotel (on the bund).

Booking this hotel it was based on location, everything else after this was a bonus. The quality of the hotel was excellent - staff, rooms, breakfast, lobby!

The room is among my best experiences when traveling, ever. The view says it all!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kennethtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
South Bund
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 5,105 in Shanghai
1,974 reviews
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai

Property: Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Address: No.1 East Jinling Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#17 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#25 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#30 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#113 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a truly lifestyle hotel, Les Suites Orient is situated on the historic Bund with breathtaking views of the Huangpu River and the Pudong skyline. It is also conveniently located near the famous Yu Gardens, the tunnel connecting to the Pudong financial district, and the Pudong ferry terminal. Les Suites Orient offers 168 exquisite guest rooms, including 43 suites. Rooms are decorated in a clean and elegant tone with reduced forms and warm colors, creating a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. All rooms are equipped with a range of the latest technological features including wireless internet and high-speed wifi access, in-room bluetooth and DVD. Other facilities include Cafe Donxi, gym, le Lounge, cigar bar and multi-functional meeting room. The Hotel also provides smartlife WiFi router to meet the requests from in-house guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Suites Orient Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing