We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Ranked #20 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, NZ
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We overnighted in Shanghai en route between Europe and New Zealand and this was an ideal stopover. Right on the Bund and close to the major central sights, it was a fantastic location for a short stopover. The hotel staff upgraded us (no charge) to a suite and enabled check in before midday! Although the suite had a "city view" it was the comforts and convenience that mattered. The buffet breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laingfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,115
    344
    69
    23
    17
See reviews for
211
610
132
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

I am just concluding an amazing 4 day stay at Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai. This is an beautiful boutique hotel that offers guests easy access to all the local sights and attractions and is perfectly located on The Bund. The rooms have magnificent views across The Bund although the street noise is quite intense at Level 11. I tried to get relocated after the first night but sadly alternative rooms were not available. Because I was travelling alone on the tail end of a golf trip trip with friends, I wasn't overly concerned and was more interested in getting up early and seeing the sights. One point I think the Hotel would do well to address is their recognition of "sole travellers". This is not a situation I am used to being in having normally travelled with my family or in some cases "mates" on a golf trip but I must say on my last night when I decided to have dinner at Cafe Dongxi at the Hotel I was certainly made to feel very much on "the outer" and the level of service slumped once staff believed I should have returned to my room at 9.00pm. This didn't dampen my impression of the Hotel or Shanghai, but Management please get on board and provide all travellers ...single or otherwise with a meaningful experience.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank David U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Les_Suites_Orient, Manager at Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us on Tripadvisor.com.

We are appreciative that you chose Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai on the tail end of your recent golf trip; and we are delighted to know you enjoyed convenience and hotel atmosphere. However, we regret that we failed to provide you with the best of our service you deserve as a sole traveler. We strive for unparalleled service delivery at our hotel, and we are always in pursuit of ensuring each guest experiences the very best that we could provide.

Your suggestions will be shared with the team where actions must be taken for improvements and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future and providing you with another joyful stay.

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NB
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

So this hotel is a bit on the expensive side. I understand that...but for the same quality hotel, in the same type of location, you would easily pay twice that in any major north american city. I stayed for about $200 USD per night...but it is RIGHT on the bund, and there is nothing between the river and the hotel except for the street. It is a great hotel, very clean, albeit slightly small rooms. The staff was more than helpful (gave me a great deal on a local prepaid sim card that i probably would not have found on my own...) and the location, although a little far from the "downtown" area of the bund, is great.
The amenities in the room were outstanding, modern, and clean. This is a very nice treat for anyone going to Shanghai anywhere near that price range.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river...it will be worth it, even if the room is a tad smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Project86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

It was a great stay, service was wonderful, room was nice and clean, the view was fantastic. The only down side of the great view was the noise. I woke up at nights with the noise of traffic outside. If the windows were sound proofed, it would have been perfect!

Room Tip: Book the room with the Bunk view. Ask for the higher floor if possible so it is not as noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlin071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Les_Suites_Orient, Manager at Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for taking time to share your review regarding your recent stay with us.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed the view from our hotel as well as the service. Your comments on sound proof are very much appreciated as it is through feedback from our guests that we are able to continuously enhance our guest satisfaction; we’ll look into the issue and seek to make improvements.

We appreciate your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Wonderful boutique Hotel in great location on the Bund - very stylish and calming in busy Shanghai. River view room had great views of the Bund, River and Pudong - worth the extra cost. Rooms are compact but very well layed out and provisioned (toiletries, tv's, min-bar, coffee maker) - beds are excellent - room was starting to show a few minor signs of wear and tear. Staff are all very professional and attentive. Breakfast has a good selection of both Western and Asian - and refreshments are always available in the Resident Lounge which is a great place to spend a little time-out. Would be very happy to stay again when we are next in Shanghai

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank austraveladdicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Les_Suites_Orient, Manager at Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for sharing such a nice review.

We are appreciative that you chose Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai for your recent visit to Shanghai. And it is always great to hear our guests praise our facilities as well as the service provided.

Your compliments will be shared with the team and we look forward to being of service again should your travel bring you back to Shanghai.

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Spezia, Italy
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Excellent hotel .
The location is perfect , along the Bund and with a stunning view on the river and skyscrapers .
The room is very big so is the bathroom ( both shower and bath ) and there is everything you can need for your comfort
Breakfast was superb !
Moreover ( we were a group of 14 ) , as our flight was leaving at 23.30 , after check out , the manager give us 2 rooms ( one for men and one for women ) so that we could change and shower before departure , with no extracharge !!!
The staff was extremely kind and the hotel did everything possible to please us .
I highly recommend this hotel !

Room Tip: if possible choose the "corner rooms" which have a beautiful river view ( on each floor 01...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Massimo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Don’t Look for a Hotel in Shanghai, this is the best, the Service Excellent, the Breakfast Excellent, and the View!!!!.

50Ft to the Bund. 60Ft to the Ferry to go to the Financial Center.

And the Price for the Quality is goooddddd!

This is my 6 Time in this hotel and all Perfect.

Room Tip: Room Whit overlook to the River and Bund, Hi Floor Better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Les_Suites_Orient, Manager at Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your repeated patronage and for your great review.

We are delighted to know that you love the hotel location as well as the service provided. Your compliments have been shared with the team and we look forward to seeing you again should your travel bring you back to Shanghai.

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,843 reviews
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
South Bund
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai

Property: Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Address: No.1 East Jinling Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#17 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#20 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#30 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#81 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a truly lifestyle hotel, Les Suites Orient is situated on the historic Bund with breathtaking views of the Huangpu River and the Pudong skyline. It is also conveniently located near the famous Yu Gardens, the tunnel connecting to the Pudong financial district, and the Pudong ferry terminal. Les Suites Orient offers 168 exquisite guest rooms, including 43 suites. Rooms are decorated in a clean and elegant tone with reduced forms and warm colors, creating a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. All rooms are equipped with a range of the latest technological features including wireless internet and high-speed wifi access, in-room bluetooth and DVD. Other facilities include Cafe Donxi, gym, le Lounge, cigar bar and multi-functional meeting room. The Hotel also provides smartlife WiFi router to meet the requests from in-house guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Suites Orient Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing