We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Ranked #27 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Because of the unpretentious (and small) driveway and entry, one may actually miss the hotel at first sight, which lies right across the street from the Bund at the intersection of East Jinling and Zhongshan roads. The entrance to the hotel maybe unassuming but the service and the facilities inside are anything but. From the entry foyer one is whisked up to the third floor by lifts to the reception lobby. The ambiance and the décor are very much that of a museum- fine marble lines, minimalistic décor, with few and discreetly placed antiques- basically uncomplicated and classy, and a theme that is the norm for all guest areas. The staffs are immaculately dressed in business attire. Check-in is swift, smooth and courteous. The rooms, the furnishings and the services are all beyond reproach. The equipment and the utilities in the room have all been designed for a seamless stay, whether on business or pleasure. The bathrooms are fantastic with both shower and bath options. The suites come with a sitting and a bedroom. The bedroom again has a small sitting area, all with a direct view of the Huangpu River, and beyond to the Pudong side. The quality of the WiFi is good and the complimentary fruits are replenished daily.

Breakfast is served in the second (mezzanine) floor in Café DongXi. Again, the service is low-key, but immaculate. Both Chinese and Western fares are offered, all fresh and well selected, in an ambiance of complete relaxation. The café covers the whole floor, so there is no particular congestion, even at the busiest time. One may dine in the more ‘communal’ central table or avail of the various nooks and crannies (more private) scattered throughout the floor, some with views of the Bund and the surrounds.

Moving on from the mainstream items, the hotel provides some valuable complementary services. One example is the mobile phone provided on check-in (Smart-Life phone), which is the only device one need for both in-house and external calls during their stay in Shanghai. All incoming calls are free- the switchboard transfers the call to the room, and if the phone in not answered within five rings, the call is channeled to the Smart-Life phone, ensuring that all calls are received. The phone is a life saver in a city where hardly anyone speaks or understands English. One pays only for the calls made while having a local mobile phone in hand, with the added convenience of being in touch with the hotel front desk (at the touch of a button, if and when necessary). The phone also has pre-programmed directions (for the taxi) for major attractions and venues, and back to the hotel.

Another example of the hotel’s class and commitment is Le Lounge, a casual but smart retreat on the third floor (reception level). It offers use of computers (PC and Mac), printers, a variety of teas and coffee, fresh fruits and in-house baked cookies and pastries, all complimentary, for all guests, and is open 24 hours. A perfect place to relax and unwind, between a busy schedule of sightseeing or business appointments. The layout is such that it is possible to have private meetings, if needed.

In terms of the location, yet again the Les Suites comes up tops; on the Bund, across from the Shanghai Ferry Terminal (two Yuan and 10 minutes to the Pudong side), easy walking to the Huangpu River cruise piers (5 minutes), East Nanjing Road and Metro (Line 2,10 minutes), Yu Yuan Gardens (10 minutes) and so on. Most Shanghai attractions are easily accessible by Metro or by taxi (15-30 minutes). From the suites on the upper floor, the view over Huangpu River and across to the Pudong side are just awesome. The busy Huangpu River, with its ever busy mercantile traffic and changing shades of color (depending on the time) is quite mesmerizing at any time of day or night.

Les Suites Orient should not disappoint even the most discerning patron, and is highly recommended if the budget permits.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nafis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,740)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

779 - 785 of 1,740 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed one night in a Bund deluxe room. The room was very large (especially as this is not considered a suite) with a seperate lobby area and a huge bedroom and bathroom. A coffee machine was provided in the bedroom which was a nice touch, and you could see the view from the bath tub.

The decor is very nice throughout the hotel - lots of candlelit sections, and the corridors had a pleasant aroma of lemon grass, which is refreshing for a Chinese hotel. Staff were very attentive and helpful throughout our stay.

The view was very impressive - in our room you could see up both sides of the waterfront, including the Oriental Pearl TV Tower and the historic bund.

Breakfast was very nice, with westerners well provisioned for. The counter to have your eggs freshly cooked was good too.

Overall I'd definitely recommend staying here - especially as the prices seem so much lower than other hotels of a similar standard.

Room Tip: The Bund Deluxe rooms are palatial and have a spectacular view, and can be had for around 1500RMB a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I finished a week-long holiday in China with two nights at this beautiful hotel. The interior design is beautiful throughout, there's amazing flowers everywhere you look, the staff are highly professional and happy to help with anything you need and the breakfast buffet and afternoon cakes and cookies were great. I stayed in a Riverview Suite which was huge, with an amazing view of the Pudong skyline. There's even a sunken sitting area in the bedroom to take in the view. The only downsides are the lack of a pool and the fact that there is not much to do immediately outside the hotel. While The Bund is beautiful to look at, there's a lack of retail/restaurants - it is only really good for walking and looking at the view. That's fine though as taxis are cheap and you can get to most of the other attractions and shopping areas within 15 minutes. That said, the experience of the hotel was so good I'd happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money on a Riverview Suite - they are really beacutiful and the view is superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoomReport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I go to Shanghai quite often for business trips - my pick tends to be the Marriott Executive Apartments at Tomorrow Square (another great value, pleasant property) but this time I decided to try out the Suites Orient on the back of positive reviews both from TripAdvisor and friends.

Location: Great location on the Bund with views of the Oriental Pearl TV Tower.

Rooms: Large, spacious rooms - I can imagine this being very pleasant for a romantic stay for couples. Comfortable lounge chair by the window to read a book while enjoying the Bund view, great perks like iPhone docking and coffee machine, lots of knobs and dials for children to play with to adjust lighting, curtains, volume of soothing background music, etc. Free (and fast) wifi which was great. Only gripe was that I think this place (or maybe just my room) has sub-par cleaning / maintenance so there were some visible stains on the countertop and a spot of black mold on the wooden flooring (so keep your shoes on!). Bed was comfortable and the curtains were automatic so after shuttering all the night blinds I had a great zzzz for a few hours before my 7am meetings...

Bathrooms: Well appointed bathroom stocked with Gilchrist & Soames toiletries.

Service: My flight was delayed (as usual) and ended up arriving at the hotel past 2am, but the check-in counter was still well manned and very helpful with my luggage! There is nothing more depressing than arriving after a delayed flight and there is no one at the check-in desk so I was pleasantly surprised here. The hotel also provides a rest area with complimentary refreshments.

Breakfast: Breakfast at the DongXi cafe was buffet style, nice although not spectacular, but the made-to-order eggs station was a nice touch.

Room Tip: If it's your first trip to Shanghai, absolutely spend the slight extra cost to get a Bund view r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrotting_HKer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We recently spent 4 nights in this absolutely fantastic boutique hotel. There is not one thing I could fault. Location is fantastic, service impeccable. We particularly enjoyed being able to re-charge our batteries in the lounge for a relaxing cuppa and delicious cake. Plenty of water in the rooms. Decoration first class - very individual, stylish Asian touches rather than 'cookie cutter' chain hotel. Breakfast excellent and dinner was very good. Lost Heaven restaurant around the corner was amazing.
Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mazza281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Spectacular view of the Bund and the River. We only had 24-hours in Shanghai so this was a very nice starting spot. My favorite "soup dumplings" are within walking distance and the commuter ferry is literally across the street. The night time ferry is the most enjoyable, almost free, ride I have been on.

Very romantic room.

Room Tip: We had the corner room, and the view of the river was worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Loved our recent stay at this boutique hotel. Great ambience, beautiful views of the Bund and Pudong from our room. The staff were excellent - so helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. This hotel is ideal for either business or personal stays in Shanghai. We had the opportunity to eat food at the hotel - room service one night and then a four course lunch and on both occasions the food was excellent.

Room Tip: It's definitely worth paying a little more for a superior river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesleyG52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Hongkou
Hyatt on the Bund
Hyatt on the Bund
#51 of 5,161 in Shanghai
2,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#5 of 5,161 in Shanghai
1,859 reviews
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
South Bund
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai

Address: No.1 East Jinling Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#30 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#101 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $95 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a truly lifestyle hotel, Les Suites Orient is situated on the historic Bund with breathtaking views of the Huangpu River and the Pudong skyline. It is also conveniently located near the famous Yu Gardens, the tunnel connecting to the Pudong financial district, and the Pudong ferry terminal. Les Suites Orient offers 168 exquisite guest rooms, including 43 suites. Rooms are decorated in a clean and elegant tone with reduced forms and warm colors, creating a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. All rooms are equipped with a range of the latest technological features including wireless internet and high-speed wifi access, in-room bluetooth and DVD. Other facilities include Cafe Donxi, gym, le Lounge, cigar bar and multi-functional meeting room. The Hotel also provides smartlife WiFi router to meet the requests from in-house guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Suites Orient Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing