We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, well run hotel in great location. A real bargain!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Ranked #24 of 5,147 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised when we pulled up to the hotel. It is a beautiful old building on the Bund on the outside, but everything inside is clean, new, and modern. The room was a nice size with a comfortable king-sized bed, large bathroom, and plenty of room to unpack. Lots of marble in the bath, with modern sink and separate walk-in shower with choice of rainshower head or hand-held flexible shower head. A master control at bedside allows you to control the window shades, the climate, and the lights throughout. Great breakfast with choices ranging from western food, including eggs prepared as you like, to traditional Asian fair. The atmosphere is quiet elegance. The people at the desk were terrific, addressing us by name as they welcomed us back from and outting, or as we left. Great location. Would highly recommend this hotel. It's a real bargain!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank froglady60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,688)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,145 - 1,151 of 1,688 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2011

We celebrated our 40 th wedding anniversary and chose this hotel,it was very very good our Bund Suite on the 21 st floor was great until midnight on our first night ( a Friday) when extremely loud music from a bar on the 23rd floor started up it was extremely loud impossible to sleep,went to reception at 1am and they gave us a Bund Suite on the 8 th floor.To the owners of this hotel,either you want to run a top notch hotel for your guests or rent out the top floor to another tenant who has obviously no consideration for your guests at all,we were told by other guests the morning after the music went to 3am,NOT ON get rid of the bar,besides this the hotel is great,a special mention to Ms Lucky Hu at reception she was very helpful,thank you Lucky,infact all the staff were great and very polite,if we go back to Shanghai will definitey stay there again but not on a high floor unless Hotel Owners come to their senses and dump the noisy bar

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R0ck07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

My husband and I have returned home from our 10th wedding anniversary celebration trip feeling pampered, rested and missing our home away from home, Les Suite Oriental. It had been a fantastic and unforgettable 3- day stay. Let me tell you why:

Even before we arrived in Shanghai we caught a glimpse of the Les Suites hospitality when staff from the reservations department promptly replied to my email with the generous offer of a room upgrade to the Bund Deluxe as we were celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary.

Upon arrival at the hotel at about 7 am, the front desk staff processed our check-in immediately without fuss though usual check-in time is much later than that. We soon found ourselves in a gorgeous room with a magnificent view of the Bund. The warm efficiency of the front desk staff and elegant surroundings certainly helped to soothe our frayed nerves after being fleeced by a cabbie who charged us 4 times the actual fare.

Every part of the hotel is meticulously designed to give one the warm and cosy feel of home and at the same time quietly beautiful. We love the clean lines and tasteful colour palette used in the interiors. We also love the attention to detail like the toothbrushes and room slippers in the hotel's (I assume) corporate colours. One toothbrush/pair of slippers is white while the other is a warm grey. I especially love the thoughtful design behind the sewing kit.

Breakfast was a really relaxing and enjoyable affair in a handsome setting with a wide variety of food choices. Catching up with my reading was equally, if not more enjoyable in the tastefully decorated common lounge.

With the Bund just a traffic light away, the ferry to Pudong a stone's throw from the hotel and Nanjing shopping street a few blocks down the road, it was easy for us to explore the city of Shanghai. To have a deliciously comfortable place to return to after trawling the streets of Shanghai (we walked a lot) is definitely a bonus!

To top it all, all the staff we encountered were all welcoming, polite and helpful.

Thank you Les Suite once again for making our 10th Anniversary a most memorable one! :)

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nasyitah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for five nights in April 2011. My husband was in Shanghai for business and I was just there to tag along. The Les Suites was a great find, and we were more than impressed with the whole experience. The staff is incredibly attentive and friendly, which can be surprising to find in China. All the reception staff speak English, on some level. We arrived before check-in time, and were allowed to check-in anyway and were also upgraded to a Bund Suite (I think). The room had incredible views of The Bund and the Pudong Skyline. But, it is the little things about this hotel that make it great - the complimentary tea and cookies in the lounge, the outside temp indicator on the bathroom mirror, the room control next to the bed, complimentary WiFi in the room, the hidden iPod dock, the heated toilet seat, etc, etc, etc. It is these small touches that made us really appreciate this hotel, and its fantastic bargain. Other high points - the breakfast buffet was very good with lots of Western and Asian choices, comfortable bed and soft linens, fresh fruit in the room each day, easy access to the ferry, walking distance to The Bund. The only low point for us was the distance of the hotel from a subway stop. Some things to point out (these didn't bother us, but may impact another person's decision) - there is no pool, our room was on the small side, and there was some traffic noise in the mornings that woke us up (8th floor). But, overall, we would highly recommend Les Suites Orient, Shanghai and we would definitely stay here again. Thanks to their staff for an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbab888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

Traveled with my family to China and our first stop was Shanghai. We chose Les Suites Orient mainly because of the good reviews from Trip Advisor. True enough, the hotel was just so PERFECT!
The 3 rooms they gave us, each had the very best view of The Bund and the Huangpu River!!! At night, it was so LOVELY!!! I believe that every corner of the room was well thought of. The bed, the down comforters, the pillows…everything…and I have to mention the BATHROOM was amazing…it has it’s own modern washlet. ☺
The staff were very accommodating and very efficient. While they were checking us in…they made us wait at their lounge where coffee and some pastries and internet service were available…all for free.
But what I liked most about this hotel was the Ambience. It was modern, quiet, clean, no clutter and classy.
Special mention also to Mr. Joseph, who took time to entertain all our queries about the hotel. He even gave us a treat and allowed us stay at the Presidential Suite with coffee and pastries to enjoy the view of the Bund on our last night at the hotel. The following morning, our flight was early and we were so surprised that upon checking out…he prepared small breakfast for each one of us to bring to the airport. Isn’t he the sweetest? Thank you MR. Joseph Pi!!! God bless you!
Looking forward to staying in this hotel on our next Shanghai trip ☺

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thetravellingmissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

The room I had overlooked the Bund and river with the Pudong skyscrapers on the other side of the river. I booked a city suite and the hotel upgraded me to a bund suite. I had booked through Expedia. The sight from the room was a real picture both in the day and at night. The hotel is low key and sophisticated. It is walking distance to Nanjing Street and to the Old Shanghai area. There's a subway station not too far away but taxis are not expensive anyway. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in Shanghai at this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chinatravel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

We loved this hotel! The room, amenities, buffet breakfast, and service were all great. The location is fantastic, especially if you like to walk around. The only negative was we seemed to have a receptionist who gave us lip service when we checked in. We asked for a quite room and she put us in a small room right across from and elevator that dinged loud enough that you can hear it in the room. Or maybe I'm too picky? Anyway, I asked our bellman for a different location and was given a much bigger room that was just really nice. And I should note other than this one initial problem, the service was excellent. For the price and the quality, I think this hotel was a great value.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moochiebpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
South Bund
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#8 of 5,147 in Shanghai
2,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai

Address: No.1 East Jinling Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#17 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#24 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#30 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#106 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $156 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a truly lifestyle hotel, Les Suites Orient is situated on the historic Bund with breathtaking views of the Huangpu River and the Pudong skyline. It is also conveniently located near the famous Yu Gardens, the tunnel connecting to the Pudong financial district, and the Pudong ferry terminal. Les Suites Orient offers 168 exquisite guest rooms, including 43 suites. Rooms are decorated in a clean and elegant tone with reduced forms and warm colors, creating a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. All rooms are equipped with a range of the latest technological features including wireless internet and high-speed wifi access, in-room bluetooth and DVD. Other facilities include Cafe Donxi, gym, le Lounge, cigar bar and multi-functional meeting room. The Hotel also provides smartlife WiFi router to meet the requests from in-house guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Suites Orient Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing