We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rubbish Internet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
Ranked #40 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Rubbish Internet”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Rubbish Internet, don't stay here if you're here on business. I changed rooms twice as I could not connect. The ac does not work over winter as they disable the cold hair instead they blow dry hot air via the vent. The advise given by the manager on duty was to open the windows. I'll stick to the bigger business hotels

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harinder1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    236
    48
    14
    7
See reviews for
90
226
67
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Located a mere 30m from Exit 4 at People Square subway and a few minutes walk from Nanjing Road West, this is a super convenient location, close to numerous restaurants and a cinema. This hotel is small and personal with lots of intimate spaces and superb art deco rooms including those with balconies. The bathrooms were quite large and had a massive deep bath and plenty of hot water. Wifi was included and was pretty good. The staff were attentive, friendly and really tried to provide personal service. Staff spoke very good english.

Issues - breakfast was more of a continental breakfast with a couple of dumplings, so don't expect a buffet.

All in all, a lovely hotel and a nice change from the high volume large international hotels.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an inner balcony room facing east. Avoid rooms close to the lift - the marble floors are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
359 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Langham properties just keep on impressing me.
Voyager status scored me an upgraded room. Room was very well appointed, comfy bed and good lighting. They also accomodated my late check out request, which is nice.

Location is perfect, it is just accross the street from exit 14 of people's square metro station. exit 14 is quite a walk from line 2, but once you are out, it is really just accross the street. Nanjing East Rd pedestrian street is just around the corner, easy to get cabs, just cannot beat the location for business or leisure.

Building is historical, like many of their other locations. Gives it an old Shanghai charm.

Breakfast was really good. Not a huge buffet, but everything you'd want is there, and quality is really good.

Wish the in-room dining menu wasn't so limited after 11pm, a simple Shanghai noodles would be nice for late night cravings for travellers. But front desk told me at check out, next time call them, and they will go get anything i want, even if they send someone out... that's service.

Oh, one little thing that bugged me. Instead of chocolate squares, like in Boston, they put private labelled Hershey's kisses for turn down service. Its the only cheap thing in this hotel. This can be improved...

Room Tip: Get on Langham's 1865 membership, their elite levels are pretty easy to acheive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pvcnco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one week. Room was excellent; Comfortable bed (!), quiet, tidy and clean. Hotel well located; near shopping streets (car free) and malls. Not 20 RMB to the Bund with taxi. Staff is extremely service minded. The only thing missing is views. Or I simply missed out on them. Or was it that Park Hyatt and Ritz Carlton dazzled me with their views..

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lasse H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mulhouse, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel is centrally located close to the people square. The underground is 15 m from hotel door. However this means the hotel is in a noisy location even late at night. Room facing the courtyard have the noise from the ventilation system. The air-conditioning was also a bit noisy for me which is very sensitive to noise.

The hotel is nicely art-deco decorated. The room and the spa are also very beautiful.
People are very helpful

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leto1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

You can feel history and elegance of the hotel as soon as you walk into the building. You can't help but think not a great deal has changed apart from the interiors. There is a very nice blend of old and enough of the new not to dilute the old world feel.

the room i stayed in was pretty spacey with a very comfortable bed - and quiet despite being in the middle of the city. Bathroom was clean and roomy including a tv you could watch when having a (very deep) bath.

internet was really quick for china which was refreshing.

had room service once, which arrived quickly and was tasty - a chicken type of lasagne although i forget the actual name. tiramisu was also good.

there is s a lot of chinese decorations across the whole hotel eg a series of what looked like antique shoes including ones that looked like they were used to bind women's feet as was the tradition in previous times.

Breakfast was nice. Enough of a selection to keep you interested for a couple of days, but nothing amazing.

Service was ok. Again, nothing special. Although, I am comparing this to Langham Place, Hong Kong which does have top-level service. Personally, I was a little disappointed they didn't realize or respond to my membership of their loyalty scheme. A lot of (company's) money has been spent at the Langham hotels, but this wasn't of much importance to the staff who served me. Members amenities were not provided until after a few reminders.

Location is fantastic. You're right in the midst of People's Square within easy access to everything from The Bund, shopping malls, the subway station.

Would stay again - a bit more attentiveness from the front office staff would make a very pleasant stay even better

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ForeverHoliday123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is my 4th visit to The Langham Yangtze, and it never fails to bring a smile to my face as soon as I step inside. Even though I checked in late'ish the GM of the hotel was just leaving (presumably after a long day) yet he remembered me by name. As per my previous experiences with The Langham Yangtze, I could not fault them; but if I had too it would be I would love for them to make those gorgeous chocolate croissant bigger.... they are so good!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeremyB38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#37 of 5,059 in Shanghai
2,547 reviews
People’s Square
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
#42 of 5,059 in Shanghai
994 reviews
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#47 of 5,059 in Shanghai
808 reviews
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#61 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,227 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai

Property: The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
Address: No.740 Hankou Road, People's Square, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#24 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#25 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#28 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#34 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#40 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of Shanghai with endless flow of people, there is a place that could take you back to the 1930s to appreciate the golden age of Shanghai. That is The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai.The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, an Art Deco masterpiece infused with gold age of Shanghai, owns the superior geographical position. Located in the People's Square, centre of Shanghai, the hotel enjoys convenient access to all parts of the city with the Shanghai Metro Lines 1/2/8 less than 30 meters from the hotel. Moreover, the hotel is bordered by major cultural and entertainment highlights within walking distance, such as Nanjing Pedestrian Road, People's Park, the Raffles City, the Shanghai Museum, and the Shanghai Grand Theatre.This hotel attracts guests with its private and graceful environment instead of the splendid and magnificent impression. The stained glass dome looks so gorgeous with carved staircase winding up. The candlelit crystal lighting collocates with palatial valance creating the elegant and sumptuous atmosphere. The unique collections displayed on the wall of guest room floor corridors, such as jewelry boxes, manual-shaving-hair tools, ancient door latch, traditional pipes, ladies' hand bags, Hawksbill needles, cookie boxes, etc, all tell guests the history of Shanghai. Entering each room, the song " Rose, Rose, I love you" reminds each guest of the prosperity of the old Shanghai with its sweet voice and nostalgia melody. Standing on the guest room private balcony, you could feel the quick pace of the modern city while retrospect the past good times at the same time.Yangtze Hotel, the predecessor of The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, opened in 1934, owns 80 years of history. Decorated with lavish art deco style, this hotel was touted as "The Third Largest Hotel in the Far East" by the renowned architect, Li Pan. This hotel used to be a popular social resort gathered many celebrities and movie stars, and it was exactly the birthplace of the most classic and well-known song "Rose, Rose, I love you". In order to inherit this cultural heritage, Yangtze Boutique reserves this song as the background music in the room, and names one suit of room as "Rose Suite" to be one of the signature of the hotel, which becomes the favorites of many guests. Over the past 80 years, the Yangtze Hotel witnessed the ups and downs of Shanghai. In 2009, the Yangtze Hotel was renovated gorgeously and re-emerged in a great sumptuous way, reserving the classic Art Deco design style while mixing the 1930s old Shanghai style together. Just like the time flying back, The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai guides guests back to the glamorous and extravagant life in old Shanghai with great charm and elegant demeanor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Yangtze Boutique Hotel Shanghai
Langham Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
Langham Yangtze Boutique Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing