We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, english speaking Dutch staff ( Tetske) who is willing give the ultimate!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
Ranked #51 of 5,111 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Good locations,, near people square but more important, English speaking staff ( Dutch)wich is not qauit normal in Shanghai.Girl named Tetske is making theh impossible possible .
We had a very nice, spaceful room 9 nr301 with a large bathroom. The nespresso machine is feeling like home, perfect!

Room Tip: Nice bathroom, bed is excellent
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Senga104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTLSHA, General Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear Tripadvisor reviewer,

Thank you for your kind words.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will be sure to pass on your comments to Tetske.

I look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,

Russell Cool
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (782)
There are newer reviews for The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

382 - 388 of 782 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2012

I statyed at the Langham Yangtze for business travel. The hotel is well-renovated to restore its 1920's glory. The room was big and the bath tub was huge. There were old Shanghai music playing whenever i got into the room. And the mood could be changed to the relaxed mode. I also like their bath supply and you can also experience their spa which is based on Chinese five elements to balance your body and mind. The location is great as well. 5 minutes walk to the People's park. 10-15 minutes to the Bond by walking along on the full-of-life Nan Jing West Road to the glamorous the Bond. The staff were very professional yet friendly. Worth visiting!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crystalyschang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTLSHA, General Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear Tripadvisor reviewer,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay.

We appreciate your comments on our historic hotel and its ambiance.

I look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,

Russell Cool
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Shanghai turned on awful weather and chilly winds but we felt warm, cosy and very welcome at the fabulous Langham Yantze on our week-long girly trip. Conveniently located in central shopping area, we could venture out for 'retail therapy', massage and restaurants, then pop 'home' for a break before our next adventure. Australian GM Russell Cool was more than helpful - and being an Aussie - very friendly as he expained some of the idiosyncrasies of living in a big Chinese city. Rocky, the world's friendliest breakfast chef, also made our stay more enjoyable, agreeing to our special orders. We booked a family room and were upgraded to an Art Deco Junior Suite which provided plenty of room for three of us....with a huge, luxurious bathroom overlooking the city.Thankyou for making our trip to Shangahi so memorable in this bustling city of surprises!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shane1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTLSHA, General Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear Shane,

It was an absolute pleasure to meet you and thank you so much for your kind words.

I look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Shanghai.

Warm regards,

Russell Cool
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

My stay at the Yangtze, Langham Hotel was excellant. The staff were all amazing and could not do enought to help you. Excellant food in the hotel restuarnts and buffett breakfast was fantastic. Hotel decor is very unique Art Deco and the rooms were clean and had every service you required. An fanstatic hotel and is now my choice for when ever visiting Shanghai, fully recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wrtitmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTLSHA, General Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear Tripadvisor reviewer,

Thank you for choosing The Langham Yangtze People’s Square.

We are so pleased that we were able to make your stay a memorable one and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Russell Cool
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

First time visit to Shanghai for a 'girly getaway'. The Langham was the perfect place to stay. Beautiful glamorous old Shanghai feel...even down to the divine Ginger Flower scent in the lobby. gorgeous room....enormous!

GM Russell Cool was terrific...helpful, friendly and gave us a great insight into what it is like to live in this bustling city.

Each day as we ventured out...often with many crazy things happening in this city of the unexpected..we felt blessed to be returning to the tranquilty of the Langham! We were made to feel so at home in our six days there.

Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holidayhumphs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTLSHA, General Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear Tripadvisor reviewer,

It was a pleasure meeting you.

Thank you for your kind words, I am glad I was able to give you a little insight into what this vibrant city has to offer. I am so pleased you enjoyed yourselves, despite some of the intricacies of moving around China!!

I look forward to seeing you next time you are in Shanghai.

Warm regards,

Russell Cool
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

One night only. Arrived and room temp was 25 Celsius early evening in Nov. Found the thermostat and put it down to 21.5, went out for a walk and came back 2 hs later to the same 25! Opened the windows - good thing was cool outside - got it under control, readjusted the temp to 19 and went to bed. Woke up at 3 am to 28 Celsius!!! Called the front desk and they sent the maintenance guy who fiddled a bit with the thermostat and said it was fixed. Nope!! Bottom line, I had to sleep with windows and curtains open. Shanghai can be quite noisy. Next day, not even an apology!!
Five stars not in this lifetime!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank time_to_time_too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTLSHA, General Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear Tripadvisor reviewer,

Thank you for your comments.

I am terribly sorry that you experienced an uncomfortable night and I am sorry we were not able to rectify the situation at the time. I make no excuses, there was obviously a technical issue that was unable to be rectified to your satisfaction and I again extend my sincerest apologies.

Warm regards,

Russell Cool
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We just came back from 2 nights in Shanghai. We chose the Langham Yangtze because the Langham name is regarded as a top notch hotel in Los Angeles, Pasadena.

Both my wife and I came away with the feeling that The Langham, Yangtze was only OK. Not that there was anything really bad about the hotel, but we had expected a 5* experience. We have traveled and stayed in a lot of 5* and we did not get that feeling from The Langham. The staff did nothing extra to make us feel that welcome. After traveling 15 hours from the States, we just expected MORE. The decor of the hotel is rather passe. I got a feeling that it tried to be art decco (i.e. Miami South Beach), but fell short. There is another Langham at Xiantidi that has a different decor. That hotel looks like they want the more modern feel. I would recommend that since it is closer to all the shops and action.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoliyaIn2Ty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTLSHA, General Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear Tripadvisor reviewer,

Thank you for your comments.

We appreciate you choosing The Langham Yangtze as there is a plethora of choice in Shanghai. We will certainly take your comments regarding our service onboard to ensure we make every guest feel special.

Warm regards,

Russell Cool
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#36 of 5,111 in Shanghai
2,664 reviews
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#49 of 5,111 in Shanghai
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Majesty Plaza Shanghai
Majesty Plaza Shanghai
#204 of 5,111 in Shanghai
454 reviews
People’s Square
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
#53 of 5,111 in Shanghai
1,012 reviews
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#59 of 5,111 in Shanghai
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai

Address: No.740 Hankou Road, People's Square, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#24 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#25 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#33 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#51 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#83 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $151 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of Shanghai with endless flow of people, there is a place that could take you back to the 1930s to appreciate the golden age of Shanghai. That is The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai.The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, an Art Deco masterpiece infused with gold age of Shanghai, owns the superior geographical position. Located in the People's Square, centre of Shanghai, the hotel enjoys convenient access to all parts of the city with the Shanghai Metro Lines 1/2/8 less than 30 meters from the hotel. Moreover, the hotel is bordered by major cultural and entertainment highlights within walking distance, such as Nanjing Pedestrian Road, People's Park, the Raffles City, the Shanghai Museum, and the Shanghai Grand Theatre.This hotel attracts guests with its private and graceful environment instead of the splendid and magnificent impression. The stained glass dome looks so gorgeous with carved staircase winding up. The candlelit crystal lighting collocates with palatial valance creating the elegant and sumptuous atmosphere. The unique collections displayed on the wall of guest room floor corridors, such as jewelry boxes, manual-shaving-hair tools, ancient door latch, traditional pipes, ladies' hand bags, Hawksbill needles, cookie boxes, etc, all tell guests the history of Shanghai. Entering each room, the song " Rose, Rose, I love you" reminds each guest of the prosperity of the old Shanghai with its sweet voice and nostalgia melody. Standing on the guest room private balcony, you could feel the quick pace of the modern city while retrospect the past good times at the same time.Yangtze Hotel, the predecessor of The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, opened in 1934, owns 80 years of history. Decorated with lavish art deco style, this hotel was touted as "The Third Largest Hotel in the Far East" by the renowned architect, Li Pan. This hotel used to be a popular social resort gathered many celebrities and movie stars, and it was exactly the birthplace of the most classic and well-known song "Rose, Rose, I love you". In order to inherit this cultural heritage, Yangtze Boutique reserves this song as the background music in the room, and names one suit of room as "Rose Suite" to be one of the signature of the hotel, which becomes the favorites of many guests. Over the past 80 years, the Yangtze Hotel witnessed the ups and downs of Shanghai. In 2009, the Yangtze Hotel was renovated gorgeously and re-emerged in a great sumptuous way, reserving the classic Art Deco design style while mixing the 1930s old Shanghai style together. Just like the time flying back, The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai guides guests back to the glamorous and extravagant life in old Shanghai with great charm and elegant demeanor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Yangtze Boutique Hotel Shanghai
Langham Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
Langham Yangtze Boutique Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing