We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great blend of Chinese culture and food and Western welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
Ranked #31 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Hazlemere
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great blend of Chinese culture and food and Western welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

What can I say - this was our business hotel for 5 nights this week and, after the initial fear of being downtown amongst the honking traffic of the People's Squarem, my fears were quickly put to bed. A great welcome from the moment you arrive at the main door, through to reception and everywhere throughout the hotel. The feeling is one of China plus chic French - the hotel claims to be a boutique one but I'm not really sure about that.

There are 4-5 restaurants (including a good Chinese one on the first floor and a very good Japanese one on the ground floor), the breakfast is great, the rooms are well decorated (I was fortunate to get an upgraded suite) and the fitness room/spa is really good quality. Treatments carry a charge but aren't extortionate as they can be in Europe and are very good.

The location is very central and you can pretty much walk to hundreds of shops. There's a constant sound of car horns but you get used to it pretty quickly.

All in all very, very god.

Room Tip: Go for an internal room if you can't sleep with traffic noise but if you don't mind that see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank relax_calvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTLSHA, General Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor reviewer,

Thank you for staying with us.

We appreciate your kind words and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Russell Cool
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    235
    48
    12
    7
See reviews for
88
220
67
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

A beautiful 1934 Art Deco hotel in the heart of Shanghai, close to the Peoples' Park and major shopping precincts. Magnificently renovated and maintained and very comfortable. The staff were very polite, attentive and helpful. We look forward to staying there again on our next trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTLSHA, General Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor reviewer,

Thank you for kind words.

We appreciate your feedback on our service and I look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,

Russell Cool
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Awesome experience.Breakfast is very tasty.Location of the hotel is very convenient...all the shops and restaurant near by 15 min walk to the bund,Good services provided by local & foreign staf.The room is so warm and clean.This hotle is a romantic place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lone l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTLSHA, General Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor reviewer,

Thank you for staying with us.

We appreciate your kind words on your experience.

I look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,

Russell Cool
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Have spent weeks in varrious Shanghai location and really like this one since it is close to bund, Xintanti, People Square (so if your a runner one of the only places you can even come close to running in the city) and many other locations. After four different stays have yet to find a bad room and staff has always been helpful. So if your not going on the cheap and want a nice location this is one of the best.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside facing room if you want to see the street but just remember its Shanghai so stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTLSHA, General Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments.

We are so pleased that you enjoy our location and service and thank you for staying with us.
I look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,

Russell Cool
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

awesome hotel in downtown shanghai. super convenient location.. all the shops and restaurant near by. 15 min walk to the bund, outstanding view.
love the hotel! highly recommended.
breakfast is very good. but unfortunately no swimming pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supersinopec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTLSHA, General Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor reviewer,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Langham Yangtze.

I appreciate your kind words on your experience whilst staying with us and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Russell Cool
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Warm welcome at reception in a grand lobby. Good services provided by local & foreign staff - a young lady - Tetske van Loon who was very helpful to sort out the transport & touring we should do in our limited short-time stay in business. Location of the hotel is gorgerous where we can visit the top highlighted scenery in Shanghai......

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTLSHA, General Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor reviewer,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Langham Yangtze.
Thank you for your comments on your service experience and I will be sure to pass on your comments to Tetske, she will be thrilled! I am glad you were able to enjoy your time in Shanghai and visit its many attractions.

I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,

Russell Cool
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our stay at the Langham in Shanghai. We were warmly received by fellow Dutch lady Tetske van Loon, which helped us get around quite easily. Super rooms, wifi, great bathroom. Great Location in center city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leemreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTLSHA, General Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor reviewer,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Langham Yangtze.
Thank you for your kind words on your service experience and I will be sure to pass on your comments to Tetske, she is an asset!

I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,

Russell Cool
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#37 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,483 reviews
People’s Square
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
#34 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#47 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai

Property: The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
Address: No.740 Hankou Road, People's Square, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#24 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#24 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#25 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#31 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#57 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of Shanghai with endless flow of people, there is a place that could take you back to the 1930s to appreciate the golden age of Shanghai. That is The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai.The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, an Art Deco masterpiece infused with gold age of Shanghai, owns the superior geographical position. Located in the People's Square, centre of Shanghai, the hotel enjoys convenient access to all parts of the city with the Shanghai Metro Lines 1/2/8 less than 30 meters from the hotel. Moreover, the hotel is bordered by major cultural and entertainment highlights within walking distance, such as Nanjing Pedestrian Road, People's Park, the Raffles City, the Shanghai Museum, and the Shanghai Grand Theatre.This hotel attracts guests with its private and graceful environment instead of the splendid and magnificent impression. The stained glass dome looks so gorgeous with carved staircase winding up. The candlelit crystal lighting collocates with palatial valance creating the elegant and sumptuous atmosphere. The unique collections displayed on the wall of guest room floor corridors, such as jewelry boxes, manual-shaving-hair tools, ancient door latch, traditional pipes, ladies' hand bags, Hawksbill needles, cookie boxes, etc, all tell guests the history of Shanghai. Entering each room, the song " Rose, Rose, I love you" reminds each guest of the prosperity of the old Shanghai with its sweet voice and nostalgia melody. Standing on the guest room private balcony, you could feel the quick pace of the modern city while retrospect the past good times at the same time.Yangtze Hotel, the predecessor of The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, opened in 1934, owns 80 years of history. Decorated with lavish art deco style, this hotel was touted as "The Third Largest Hotel in the Far East" by the renowned architect, Li Pan. This hotel used to be a popular social resort gathered many celebrities and movie stars, and it was exactly the birthplace of the most classic and well-known song "Rose, Rose, I love you". In order to inherit this cultural heritage, Yangtze Boutique reserves this song as the background music in the room, and names one suit of room as "Rose Suite" to be one of the signature of the hotel, which becomes the favorites of many guests. Over the past 80 years, the Yangtze Hotel witnessed the ups and downs of Shanghai. In 2009, the Yangtze Hotel was renovated gorgeously and re-emerged in a great sumptuous way, reserving the classic Art Deco design style while mixing the 1930s old Shanghai style together. Just like the time flying back, The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai guides guests back to the glamorous and extravagant life in old Shanghai with great charm and elegant demeanor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Yangtze Boutique Hotel Shanghai
Langham Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
Langham Yangtze Boutique Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing