We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely central classic boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
Ranked #48 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“lovely central classic boutique hotel”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I stay here on a regular basis for business . It is a lovely central hotel , perfect for a Shanghai getaway. This old building is very reminiscent of the grandeur of days gone by. Rooms are very nice, some with balconies and only a few minutes to the shops and the Bund. Excellent hotel would not stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: ask for a room with ( small) balcony- adds to the ambience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maire e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    242
    52
    14
    7
See reviews for
90
235
68
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

This lovely hotel is right by People's Park. A 15 minute walk to the Bund. Three minutes to Nanjing Rd.
We stayed here twice and couldn't fault it. They give helpful and friendly service, nothing was ever too much trouble (even us oversleeping check out time by a couple of hours; they didn't even ring the room).
Easy to reach with the Maglev from the airport and green line 2 metro. Surface at number 15 exit and the hotel is a few steps to the right, go past the Starbucks and the large Herschey's sign and cross the small street, Hankou Lu (down to your right).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank venusbathstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

This hotel is beautiful. In fact, it looks and smells beautiful. We stayed here for four nights. Our room had a small balcony, king bed, and a large bathroom. It is convienent to the Bund (15 minute walk) and there is a subway entrance and a Starbucks one block away. The TV had several English language stations; although we did not come to Shanghai to watch TV. But it was nice to catch the CNN and BBC news while we dressed. The front staff were very helpful and greeted us very warmly when we arrived. I wish I had made time to visit their spa. I peeked in and it looked great. Shanghai is a wonderful city. We have been here several times and enjoy the people watching as much as the culture and shopping.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TallyHoNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in a standard room at this hotel and enjoyed the beautiful property, great location, and helpful staffs. The housekeeping definitely did a great job, they kept our room and bathroom absolutely clean and neat everyday throughout our stay. Most staffs at the reception (although not all) were very helpful and friendly. There were 5 doormen who took turn on different shifts, and all of them were very friendly and helpful in giving us directions and answering our questions.

Location was one of the best. There's a line 2-metro station just across the street from the hotel, and there were so many points of interest within walking distance including: the Shanghai museum, Urban planning, People's park, Nanjing Lu. We found this great xialongbao place on Huanghe Lu, about 10 minutes walk from the hotel, there were also other restaurants serving local food nearby. For breakfast, we wanted to try more authentic local food so we did not eat at the hotel. The nice doorman at the hotel, who was very helpful at all time, suggeste Quangxi Lu. Took us 5 minutes to walk to Quanxi Lu where we found shanghai noodle for for 10-15RMB/bowl and friend dumplings for 5RMB/5 dumplings. Absolutely delicious at very affordable price. Took the taxi to the Bund, Pudong, Xintiandi, Yu Yuan garden, cost us 15RMB to each destination.

From the airport, we took the high speed train maglev to the Longyang station and interchange to metro-line 2, exit at People's Square, and took exit 14 (if I remember correctly). With 3 luggages in day 4, we decided to take a taxi from the hotel back to the airport. We did not really like the taxi ride, it was long and dusty (most taxis in Shanghai had their windows down). For our next trip, we would definitely take the maglev+metro if we don't have to carry too many luggages.

The only thing we did not like about this hotel is that, it did not have its own drive way.

Room Tip: If you don't need extra space, the standard room would be good enough. It was beautiful, clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvtravs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Different from the Langham Xientendi, this is a Langham with history from the Art Deco period of Shanghai. Located not far from the Bund and the main square and Shanghai Museum, shopping etc. As always very helpful and efficient in reception. The rooms are large with everything you'd expect. The bathroom was not the technological miracle of the other Langham in town but it did have a bath you could almost swim in. Super restaurant serving traditional Chinese food. We also had the weekend Dim Sum for lunch and it was magnificent. Likewise were the breakfasts. If we were to return we'd perhaps choose the more modern Langham but this is a hotel with real style and service.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllanRosemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I stayed at the Langham Yangtze for 8 nights in April.
What is so beautiful about this hotel, is the level of peacefulness and calmness.I stayed at the Langham Hong Kong and that was unpleasant with people everywhere. The front desk staff were really so easy to deal with, and their english was very good

The Langham Yangtze has really great staff, who would do almost anything to help.The front entrance staff worked the 2 streets along the hotel to get me a taxi i required urgently. And they always said hello, my surname and had a smile .

The breakfast was really very nice. And the rooms feel bigger with the beautiful bathroom that have double doors to open up the room.

The bed was very very comfortable, and the location is spot on.I booked directly with the hotel and found a package called the Rose which offers half price after the 2 nd night booking.
If someone really doesnt like this hotel,then i'm guessing they wouldn't find anywhere that would make them happy .

I am coming back in October for work, and i will be only staying in this hotel!!!!!!!!!!!!!

feel free to discuss rarmstrong@mfb.vic.gov.au

Room Tip: ask for a balcony, so you open the door for fresh air. the balconey is small, but you can stand ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rob4013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Our first trip to China so we wanted somewhere really comfortable. We visited the Langham in London for dining purposes a number of times. So thought we would try the hotel in Shanghai.

The hotel is oppulant and decorated beautifully in an art deco 1920s style. Complete with 20's music in the lobby and the bedroom TV sets. Sumptious rooms with deep carpets and lush beds. Well decorated in a traditional yet throroughly modern style. Huge bathroom but we found it was too cold in there.Needed some underfloor heating.

Staff were a mixture of European, native English speakers or native chinese only. Which was a great mix. It meant we never had issues with communication. The chinese speakers really did try their best. Staff were excellent. Only one lapse in service where we asked for fresh milk for our room. This was never given.

They had a special offer where you were given breakfast, internet and an evening bar and nibbles service. We used all three and got our moneys worth. The bar just before going out for the evening was really welcome. Although i think really all three items should be included in the room rate.

The breakfast was good. in a modern restaurant setting. nice elegant selection of dishes. not an overflowing buffet like at other 5* hotels but adequate enough.

Location is superb. Right by peoples square. minutes from Nanjing Road.

Shanghai is an amazing city, we really enjoyed it. Some really nice bars and restaurants. We liked M on Bund and the Glamour bar. The skyline view from both of these were amazing. Also the bar on top of the World financial center. Felt you were in Bladerunner.

Overall, a lovely modern, luxurious hotel, a home from home.

Room Tip: The junior suite is well appointed and spacious. Worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slackbladder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#38 of 5,105 in Shanghai
2,621 reviews
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#50 of 5,105 in Shanghai
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
#49 of 5,105 in Shanghai
1,005 reviews
People’s Square
Majesty Plaza Shanghai
Majesty Plaza Shanghai
#200 of 5,105 in Shanghai
449 reviews
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#63 of 5,105 in Shanghai
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai

Property: The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
Address: No.740 Hankou Road, People's Square, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#24 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#25 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#30 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#48 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#53 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of Shanghai with endless flow of people, there is a place that could take you back to the 1930s to appreciate the golden age of Shanghai. That is The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai.The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, an Art Deco masterpiece infused with gold age of Shanghai, owns the superior geographical position. Located in the People's Square, centre of Shanghai, the hotel enjoys convenient access to all parts of the city with the Shanghai Metro Lines 1/2/8 less than 30 meters from the hotel. Moreover, the hotel is bordered by major cultural and entertainment highlights within walking distance, such as Nanjing Pedestrian Road, People's Park, the Raffles City, the Shanghai Museum, and the Shanghai Grand Theatre.This hotel attracts guests with its private and graceful environment instead of the splendid and magnificent impression. The stained glass dome looks so gorgeous with carved staircase winding up. The candlelit crystal lighting collocates with palatial valance creating the elegant and sumptuous atmosphere. The unique collections displayed on the wall of guest room floor corridors, such as jewelry boxes, manual-shaving-hair tools, ancient door latch, traditional pipes, ladies' hand bags, Hawksbill needles, cookie boxes, etc, all tell guests the history of Shanghai. Entering each room, the song " Rose, Rose, I love you" reminds each guest of the prosperity of the old Shanghai with its sweet voice and nostalgia melody. Standing on the guest room private balcony, you could feel the quick pace of the modern city while retrospect the past good times at the same time.Yangtze Hotel, the predecessor of The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, opened in 1934, owns 80 years of history. Decorated with lavish art deco style, this hotel was touted as "The Third Largest Hotel in the Far East" by the renowned architect, Li Pan. This hotel used to be a popular social resort gathered many celebrities and movie stars, and it was exactly the birthplace of the most classic and well-known song "Rose, Rose, I love you". In order to inherit this cultural heritage, Yangtze Boutique reserves this song as the background music in the room, and names one suit of room as "Rose Suite" to be one of the signature of the hotel, which becomes the favorites of many guests. Over the past 80 years, the Yangtze Hotel witnessed the ups and downs of Shanghai. In 2009, the Yangtze Hotel was renovated gorgeously and re-emerged in a great sumptuous way, reserving the classic Art Deco design style while mixing the 1930s old Shanghai style together. Just like the time flying back, The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai guides guests back to the glamorous and extravagant life in old Shanghai with great charm and elegant demeanor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Yangtze Boutique Hotel Shanghai
Langham Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
Langham Yangtze Boutique Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing