We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
Ranked #31 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

Hotel rooms were great. Comfortable bed, great bathroom and staff attentive to all needs. Our stay included breakfast which was a open buffet of all cuisine types (American to European to Asian delights). There are also chefs that will cook you eggs etc. Excellent. We also had room service one night and it was terrific!

We used the Chuan Spa which I cannot recommend enough. The staff were friendly and professional and the facilities were clean, private and overwhelmingly calm. My massage was wonderful and I felt as though I was the only one there.

The location is great. You are central to the park, the museum (a must!), cheap shopping and Nanjing Road. We have a tendency to walk everywhere to get to know a city so if you wanted to get to the bund it would be an easy 10 minute walk.

Make sure you use the train system if you need to get places it is cheap, quick, self explanatory with english translations and easy to use. Just make sure you have some spare change.

Room Tip: Corner rooms on the third floor are very spacious. Don't worry about being near the elevator as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlameRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    235
    48
    12
    7
See reviews for
88
220
67
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Breckenridge, CO
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

From the reviews, I had my expectations set very high. That was my fault.

Positives: The hotel was very clean, had a cool vibe to it, and the staff was friendly. It was also close to Nanjing Road for shopping, but I couldn't find any cool shopping there. The rooms are nice size, clean, and comfortable for sure.

Negatives: Food serives and selection was poor, they gave my morning coffee to the wrong table 3 times one morning, then the next day I got up to get another serving, and they cleared my table, coffee, silverware, and everything. "hello... I'm still sitting here.." Food was not anything special even for dinner. The internet and cable kept going out and getting fuzzy. I got a cut in the gym but the front desk couldn't or wouldn't help with even a bandaid. They were not very helpful.

Tried it, but won't visit again. Back to the big towers instead.

Room Tip: Don't try and eat here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikewerx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hongkong
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed here for a weekend to meet my husband on a business trip. I've always been a fan of Langham hotels and their subdued luxury that is neither stiff nor stuffy and the Langham Yangtze Boutique lived up to its reputation. The lobby is wonderful with lovely live music in some evenings and a great bar upstairs with delicious cocktails. The rooms are huge and the beds are incredibly comfortable. The spa is also great. Just a normal foot massage is treated as a full on spa experience. The hotel is also in a great location, walking distance from the Bund and other tourist attractions.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saiyingpun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

I stayed here in December 2011 for five days and although it looks amazing, very 1930's and the location is great, I did find that like a lot of 5 star hotels I've tried in the "East", it did not offer much more than the superficial gloss. We did not try the breakfast or dinner because it was too expensive and the spa was good but again, expensive--this quite normal in 5 star hotels I've found. However, if you stay at this hotel, just go out for brekfast--there is a series of coffe shops just up the road opposite the Meridein, and for dinner or lunch go into the mall and try out any of the fast food joints, they are all good and cheap! The problem with china is the english is not that great, so you need to be central and somehwere they can give you good advice. We went to Hanzou fro a couple of days and they didnt mind us leaving out luggage there...even tho we shifted to another hotel, and we were honest about it...so that was pretty nice of them. A good choice if you want a treat, otherwise find cheaper!

Room Tip: No idea, its a huge hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lili37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

This hotel is a gem. This is a boutique hotel meaning that you are not in a 500 rooms supoermarket. The staff is courteous.The rooms are clean and the rates are very decent. The hotel is very close from the main shopping street and 20 minutes walk from the famous bond. I will definitely come back there on my next trips to Shangaï. The only potential improvement point is the breakfast which is nothing unforgetable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephaneTreppoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherford, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

Stayed 2 nights with my family and had a perfect experience. Our bathroom was huge and the Infinity Tub and steam shower were great. The bed was just what I needed and so were the chilled Negroni's at the bar. I will be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phg421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

I got an extremely good deal on my stay here - it was one of those "mystery hotel" deals from Wotif, although I'd done my research and I was well aware that it was going to be this hotel. This obviously colours my perception of my stay, as I paid about half the standard rate.

Check-in was a little dodgy: the staff at reception had no record of my booking. After a bit of discussion between themselves, they decided to believe me when I said I'd already booked and paid for the room, and checked me in. They dealt with the question of booking amongst themselves and directly with Wotif, and didn't disturb me about it until they'd resolved everything: I was impressed at how little this misunderstanding affected me. I did also have to remind them that my booking included free Internet (otherwise it's RMB 120 per day), but again they checked this and sorted it out to my satisfaction.

The lobby is lovely; it's among the best 1920s renovations I've seen anywhere. And my room was really very nice too. Again, the 1920s-style renovation was done beautifully - it was a very stylish room indeed. The bed was exceptionally comfortable, and there was a good chair and a nice big work desk. The Internet fee would have been pretty steep if it hadn't been included in my special deal, but Internet access was fast and easy.

A lot of hotels in China in this price range limit their foreign TV to news and sports channels, which is annoying after a long day at work. The Langham had HBO, AXN, National Geographic and Discovery: it was good to be able to watch some mindless entertainment. And there's a DVD player in the bedroom, with a USB socket, so you can watch your own DVDs and downloads (legal ones only, of course) too.

The bathroom was something special. It looked great, but it was functional too: the shower was excellent - nice and powerful, and with plenty of room in the shower cubicle. And the bath was enormous, and deep, and it had a TV at the end. (Note to guests: when you use the bathroom TV, the sound may seem very muffled. The speaker is in the cupboard under the bathroom sink - if you open the cupboard, the sound improves dramatically.)

I was there for business, but one day I had flu and had to postpone a meeting. I had an afternoon nap on the lovely comfortable bed, and then woke up and had a hot, deep bath while watching a James Bond film on HBO. I had room service that day, too - it was delicious, and it was delivered promptly. I felt rested and recovered enough after all that to get back to work the next day.

The location is great: you're one small block from People's Square, and two small blocks from Nanjing Road Pedestrian Area. It's less than 50 metres to the entrance to People's Square Metro station, and a short walk to The Bund. There's a very big food court in the basement of Raffles Plaza across the road from the hotel. The location would be great for tourists, but it was also very good for me, as it was on the Metro line and midway between my meetings in Pudong and Puxi. In spite of the very central location and the low rooms (I was on the 3rd floor), it was surprisingly quiet: the double glazing did an excellent job.

Even if I'd paid the normal price for my room, I'd have been very happy with this hotel. As it was, I was delighted. The room was lovely; the lobby was beautiful, the location was perfect, and the service was brilliant.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#37 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,483 reviews
People’s Square
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
#34 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#47 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai

Property: The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
Address: No.740 Hankou Road, People's Square, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#24 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#24 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#25 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#31 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#58 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of Shanghai with endless flow of people, there is a place that could take you back to the 1930s to appreciate the golden age of Shanghai. That is The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai.The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, an Art Deco masterpiece infused with gold age of Shanghai, owns the superior geographical position. Located in the People's Square, centre of Shanghai, the hotel enjoys convenient access to all parts of the city with the Shanghai Metro Lines 1/2/8 less than 30 meters from the hotel. Moreover, the hotel is bordered by major cultural and entertainment highlights within walking distance, such as Nanjing Pedestrian Road, People's Park, the Raffles City, the Shanghai Museum, and the Shanghai Grand Theatre.This hotel attracts guests with its private and graceful environment instead of the splendid and magnificent impression. The stained glass dome looks so gorgeous with carved staircase winding up. The candlelit crystal lighting collocates with palatial valance creating the elegant and sumptuous atmosphere. The unique collections displayed on the wall of guest room floor corridors, such as jewelry boxes, manual-shaving-hair tools, ancient door latch, traditional pipes, ladies' hand bags, Hawksbill needles, cookie boxes, etc, all tell guests the history of Shanghai. Entering each room, the song " Rose, Rose, I love you" reminds each guest of the prosperity of the old Shanghai with its sweet voice and nostalgia melody. Standing on the guest room private balcony, you could feel the quick pace of the modern city while retrospect the past good times at the same time.Yangtze Hotel, the predecessor of The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, opened in 1934, owns 80 years of history. Decorated with lavish art deco style, this hotel was touted as "The Third Largest Hotel in the Far East" by the renowned architect, Li Pan. This hotel used to be a popular social resort gathered many celebrities and movie stars, and it was exactly the birthplace of the most classic and well-known song "Rose, Rose, I love you". In order to inherit this cultural heritage, Yangtze Boutique reserves this song as the background music in the room, and names one suit of room as "Rose Suite" to be one of the signature of the hotel, which becomes the favorites of many guests. Over the past 80 years, the Yangtze Hotel witnessed the ups and downs of Shanghai. In 2009, the Yangtze Hotel was renovated gorgeously and re-emerged in a great sumptuous way, reserving the classic Art Deco design style while mixing the 1930s old Shanghai style together. Just like the time flying back, The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai guides guests back to the glamorous and extravagant life in old Shanghai with great charm and elegant demeanor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Yangtze Boutique Hotel Shanghai
Langham Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
Langham Yangtze Boutique Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing