We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of fun”
Review of Tian Zi Fang

Tian Zi Fang
Book In Advance
More Info
$59.00*
and up
Essence of Shanghai One Day Private Tour
Ranked #4 of 505 Shopping in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Lots of fun”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I went on my own on a busy afternoon of a public holiday. Would be better on a quieter day, when you could poke around the picturesque alleys and shops a little more easily. I really enjoyed it. Lots of coffee shops, arty boutiques and bars, and lots of fun. Easy to get to by metro. And more to see and do than Xintiandi. Perfect if you are on your own in Shanghai and you can just wander.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank CaroSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    969
    962
    335
    35
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of my Favourite places in Shanghai”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Tian Zi Fang is a beautiflul place composed of shikumen houses full of adorable little shops and restaurants. On weekend the little streets are full of life, even too full... That's why I love to come here on week days. The atmosphere is totally different during daytime and nighttime.
The prices of the shops and restaurants are little higher here, but the quality of the items is usually good, though.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very photogenic.”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

First time we visited was in the middle of the day, mid week. The place was filled with tourists and not as enjoyable as the second time we decided to visit it. So the following morning, at around 9am, we gave it a try once more. What a difference! We took wonderful pictures, wandered the streets, and stay there for lunch. I thought that the place is somewhat expensive but also worth visiting.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
164 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Unique experience and so difference from other place”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I love this place, there 's a lot of unique things to buy, the coffee place it seems so traditional, it is very different with the modern mall that lies everywhere.
If you want to have something different in experience, but classic or more nature to the old style, i think this is the place that you should be at.

it like travel through time and back to the oldies.

Do not worry, there's a lot of tourist in this place, so you wont feel secluded.

This is a place where you can hang out with your friends, and want to look for those unique items.
I cant remember the exact location, i just ask the taxi to drop us here.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank The J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Crumbling and evocative shikumen”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is a really fascinating place - filled with the flavor of old Shanghai. It hasn't been remodeled and rebuilt like other Shukimen in Shanghai. It's lovely to wander the narrow alleys and get completely disoriented! The restaurants were a bit of a disappointment - we tried three, and had no decent meal - and some of the shops are definitely priced for tourists... but in the end, the attraction of a place like this is the atmosphere.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Centauri1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tian Zi Fang also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Tian Zi Fang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing