We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveler rating
99
4
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
99
4
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews entertainment room personal assistant pierre gagnaire shikumen houses le comptoir french concession unique property villa hotel rooftop terrace dressing room memorable stay busy city the ground floor japanese restaurant hotel staff mini bar excellent hotel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our first trip to Shanghai. The staff and villas at the Capella were absolutely amazing. They helped to make an already special trip even more so. We highly recommend staying, it was unforgettable!

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Duncan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyn_Geng, 公关经理 at Capella Shanghai, Jian Ye Li, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear duncangnyc,

Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our hotel. We are glad to hear that your stay with us was a memorable one and also we take pride in catering to your needs by honoring with caring, sincere, respectful and spirited service. And we are looking forward to welcoming you again next time.


Thanks and best regards,
Capella Shanghai Jian Ye Li

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2019

As a frequent visitor of Shanghai, I know that finding quality, sincere service is very difficult in the city. I had been disappointed with all prior experiences -but I need not look any further, Capella is a fantastic property, situated far away from the noise of the city but close enough to everything, easily accessible and well connected by metro.

Service is some of the best I’ve experienced in my travels around the world.
Of special note is the service provided by Lila, who went absolutely beyond the call of duty in helping us prepare for our arrival and, once onsite, navigate a difficult medical emergency, all of this with kindness and grace -we can’t thank her enough and left with the fondest memories.

The villas are well appointed, spacious and comfortable. The property is well maintained and everything is of the upmost quality.

Don’t hesitate to pay Capella a visit on your trip to Shanghai

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank EduardoHernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyn_Geng, 公关经理 at Capella Shanghai, Jian Ye Li, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2019

Dear EduardoHernandez,

Thank you for the kind words you are sharing about Capella Shanghai. We are glad to hear that your experience meets your expectations and that you enjoyed the tranquility of our hotel. It was a real pleasure for us to host your family and we hope that the health condition is now back to normal. And we are looking forward to welcoming all of you again next time.


Thanks and best regards,
Capella Shanghai Jian Ye Li

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2019

Almost everything about our stay from start to finish was exceptional (only rough patch was communication prior to arrival and some minor misinformation about certain services). Otherwise this property is now one of my favorites in Shanghai. Great location near subway and many shops/cafes but also feels like a nice secluded haven from the hustle and bustle of the city. Perfect blend of modern and old Shanghai, and very refined luxurious old-Shanghai experience. Service was impeccably attentive, friendly, willing and professional. The hotel entrance is behind shops that line the street, taxis/didi may find it hard to find the main car entrance but it is fine, you can either tell them to go into the main entryway or drop off across the street.

I had booked through AmEx Fine Hotels and Resorts to earn my points that way and it was an easy way too book but on the phone with the AmEx agent, I checked if we could combine FHR benefits with Capella's own promotional amenities. The AmEx agent confirmed with the hotel that this was possible and it would be noted. I emailed the hotel directly to arrange for our roundtrip airport transfer that was included with the hotel's benefits, they responded that it was not possible. After some back and forth with AmEx, I heard back from the hotel who apologized and said it was a misunderstanding. Perhaps some more training on the reservation side could be used? The rest of communication with hotel and the Culturalist (concierge) for arrangement was smooth, even after needing to add an extra night due to early arrival (which can only be done through AmEx in this situation).

We were given some information at check-in that seemingly was not accurate? We were told that the Japanese restaurant down the street could deliver to the rooms, and I believe I read this on the welcome packet as well, but as it turns out this is not possible? Not sure, not a big deal as it is literally 10 steps from the entrance. But just some clearing up on actual services and amenities would be nice!

Other than this, almost everything else was exceptional and above and beyond.
We very rarely had to mention our room number. All reception/ front desk staff knew who we were greeted us by name and were all willing to go above and beyond! Even to come take photos for us in our beautiful room, or to walk us to restaurants just down the street but it was typhoon day so they escorted us with umbrellas! Truly above and beyond in my opinion. They did all this with smiles and ensured we were ok and even offered to walk us back should we need it.

Our two-bedroom Shikumen Deluxe Villa was beautiful and well appointed. The staff went above and beyond to accommodate our specific needs for bedding arrangements with my 20 month old niece. They also came through with children's amenities making it a fun and memorable stay for her. It may be a luxury resort, but it is certainly welcoming of kids and the hotel does go above and beyond for the littles ones (bathrobes and mini slippers included!). The bedding was so comfortable, controls for AC/lighting also clear and even has good amenities for the business traveler. Well-stocked and mostly complimentary mini-bar as well. The villas/ suites feel very homey, it almost didnt feel like I was in a hotel to be very honest, a perfect location for a family weekend getaway.

The food, while nothing out of this world, is very delicious. Breakfast was great, and nice just right portions too from a mainly a la carte menu, the Eggs Benedict was fantastic. Lots of options along the shops that line the main street outside the hotel. Dinner at La Compartir is also great, with wonderful service, and must order that Smoked Iberico Pork Chop! the bar also has a great selection of whisky.

The spa is wonderful. The one part I do wish they had is a proper pool rather than the small but relaxing vitality pool. The small fitness center is well appointed. The spa features great and well-priced treatments. We opted for the Sleep Therapy which includes 60 min of Chinese massage of oil based massage if youd like with 60 min of Floatation sensory deprivation therapy, it was exceptionally soothing and relaxing. The spa staff are also all great at explaining and walking you through things if its your first time with any of their services.

Given the rain and weather, it became a challenge to order cars and the staff pulled all their phones and various apps together when our own apps were failing to try and order us cars and it worked! While waiting for cars or just lounging in the library, instantly someone would come by to offer beverages or snacks! They also have snacks available in the library at all hours and there is a daily 6-8PM happy hour.

The car they arranged for our day of shopping around town was also great. Spacious and cozy and the driver was courteous and easy to communicate with.

Another thing to remember and note is that to get anywhere outside your room you have to go outside, even in the typhoon weather! But 1) the staff are more than happy to bring things to you in your room 2) This is just part of Authentic old Shanghainese shikumen lifestyle that you must experience!

All in all just wonderful property in Shanghai with exceptional service.

Would recommend for all types of travelers and hope to one day return myself.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyn_Geng, 公关经理 at Capella Shanghai, Jian Ye Li, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2019

Dear Gary H,

Thank you for your valued review concerning the stay at Capella Shanghai and we are delighted to hear that our staffs and service standards met your needs and expectations. As Shanghai’s only all-villa urban resort and one of the last remaining clusters of shikumen architecture, Capella Shanghai, located within the cultural preservation zone of Xuhui District, is proud to protect and evolve the city’s cultural legacy. Also hotel aims to curate unique and memorable experiences to our guests at every turn. Looking forward to a return visit and having another memorable experience.


Thanks and best regards,
Capella Shanghai Jian Ye Li

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2019 via mobile

Amazing rooms. My family stayed at the 3 bedroom suite, the hotels rendition of a presidential suite. With only five of these rooms available, the rooms were absolutely amazing.

The hotel provides breakfast at the renowned le comptoir de pierre gagnaire. The breakfast was one for champions. Absolutely beautifully and masterfully plated.

Rooms were huge, with a beautiful master bedroom. Large walk in wardrobe and big toilets. Nice living room and separate dining room. Beautiful separate entertainment room with a sofa, television system and minibar inside with (certain) complimentary drinks.

Overall, It wasnt my family’s first time there and it definitely won’t be the last!

We would definitely recommend anyone and everyone to stay there at least once.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank likokheh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyn_Geng, 公关经理 at Capella Shanghai, Jian Ye Li, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2019

Dear likokheh,

Thank you for your valued review concerning the stay at Capella Shanghai. We are glad to hear that you and your family had a wonderful stay with us. Looking forward to a return visit and having another memorable experience.


Thanks and best regards,
Capella Shanghai Jian Ye Li

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2019 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel. The staff are literally perfect and I don’t know how they manage to do it. The breakfast is not a disgusting buffet with 4000 items. It is carefully selected pastries fruit and a la Carte dishes to choose from. The rooms are huge and beyond luxurious. I cannot thank every single member of staff enough for how wonderful they were.

Thank yourself

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank anandk371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyn_Geng, 公关经理 at Capella Shanghai, Jian Ye Li, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2019

Dear Anand K,

Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our hotel. Our entire hotel team enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you have enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to a return visit and having another memorable experience.



Thanks and best regards,
Capella Shanghai Jian Ye Li

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews