We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Longhua Temple”
Review of Longhua Temple

Longhua Temple
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.50*
and up
All Inclusive Private Shanghai Temple and Artwork Tour: A Deeper Understanding...
More Info
$66.00*
and up
Private Full-Day Tour: Shanghai Old and New Highlights
Ranked #22 of 1,320 things to do in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Roseville, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Longhua Temple”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

My 1st Temple I visited in Shanghai.I had a Great Experience its 10rmbs to get in and lots to see.The Monks are visible to see and hear them do their chants. Their is also a Food area thats good for a bite.Bring your camera!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank manny c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    142
    48
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“solo worship trip”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

In chinese people's mind worship is an important activity during thei life when you arrive at longhua temple you will see many people worship there.so if you want to know chinese tradation culture and ancient Buduha realition is a good place for you to go.The ticket price is 10RMB.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank allis0n22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Richer experience with a personal docent”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Visiting temples in Shanghai are much more interesting when we hired a personal guide to explain what we were seeing and experiencing. Stephen offers walking tours of Shanghai's Buddhist temples. He explained how Chinese civilization was at the crossroads of Buddhism’s expansion into East Asia, and how China significantly transformed the Buddhism it received via the Silk Road before transmitting it to Korea and Japan. While visiting one of Shanghai’s beautiful Buddhist temples, we explored the evolution of Buddhism, a religion founded in India in the fifth century BCE, as it confronted and adapted to Confucianism and Daoism and adopted aspects of Chinese folk religion. We began with a brief introduction to the historical Buddha, Buddhist philosophical concepts, and the pantheon of Chinese Buddhist Deities, including the happy, fat Buddha we see in every Chinese restaurant and Guanyin, the female deity we saw in Korea and Vietnam. While exploring the temple, we discussed and experienced temple architecture, iconography, and religious practice. I highly recommend a walking tour with Stephen - www.stephenroysmith.com.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rsflondon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“gem off the beaten path”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Longhua temple is quiet and because of that , an oasis. Not too many people visit. The adjoining Longhua park is beautiful and quiet. The pagoda is worth a photo. You cannot go to the top of the pagoda, no entrance.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank chopstickmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Well Worth The Trip”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Even though this temple and pergola is a little way out it is well worth the trip. Although it has been rebuilt since its origins in 242AD it has extensive examples of the symmetrical layout and architecture as well as beautiful many beautiful statues of the time. There are many more buildings than in other temples I've visited in Shanghai as it takes up quite an area. It was also far more peaceful and quiet and far less commercial than temples like Jade Buddah I was able to wander freely to take in the many wonders of the temple. I can only imagine how beautiful it will look later in spring when the peach blossoms are out The only disappointment for me was that I didn't see any monks - perhaps it was the time of day I visited. It was quite easy to get to. I took the subway to Longcao Rd, went out exit 1, up over the elevated crossing and straight up the road opposite the subway station. It is about a 15 minute walk. If you intend to catch a taxi from the subway have the address written in Chinese as all the taxis had no idea from the picture or English written address. The fee of 10 RMB was well worth it.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Longhua Temple also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Longhua Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing