We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good price for a super bed”
Review of Zhongbang Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zhongbang Hotel
Ranked #241 of 5,032 Hotels in Shanghai
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good price for a super bed”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

after a long trip the only thing you long for is a hot shower, some peach and quit and a good bed. Well that's what this Hotel is offering you and for a good price.
You're near one of the longest shoppingstreets, copymarket and a starbuck's round the corner. Life couldn't be better is you're a way from home.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Foodt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    135
    24
    5
    5
See reviews for
13
16
10
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bali
Level Contributor
181 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I recently completed a 5 night stay here, having previously stayed once last year. The hotel's location is very good, across the street from Four Seasons and a 5 minute walk to Nanjing Lu, where there is a heavy concentration of restaurants and shops.

They have now installed in-room wifi, which they did not have when I stayed last year. If signal is weak, contact the front desk who will take care of it. Speed is quite acceptable at 3mbps download and login requires no password.

The mattress is very comfortable - but they no longer provide Molton Brown toiletries :-( Also, there is a major construction going on in the lot across the street. It looks like there might be noise issue for the next 2 years or so during the work. FYI, windows are not double glazed - I was on the 23rd floor and could hear honking from cars down the street.

Overall though, this is a solid business hotel and I recommend it strongly for business travelers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort lauderdale
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This Howard Johnsons is not your normal US HoJo...very nice lobby, nice buffet resturant and very nice and clean rooms with their own slippers. Great location for shopping - internet in the rooms was very slow but better in the lobby.

Room Tip: Higher floor is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank upnadam12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJOBC, Public Relations Manager at Zhongbang Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for recently staying with Howard Johnson Business Club Hotel Shanghai. We are truly delighted with your compliment on the quality of our room, amenities as well as our location. We appreciate your recommendation of the Howard Johnson Business Club as choice hotel to stay, look forward to having you back with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Nice and quite rooms, good breakfast, pleasant and helpful staff.
I found a comment about small size of bath but I can't confirm that information because I stayed in the room with nice big shower cabin and it's really nice, and really big.

Location of the hotel is good and it's about 5 min walk from Nanjing Rd. (W) metro station (Metro Line No.2). This line will easily help you to get to the famous TV Tower (Lujiazui metro station), People's Park (People's Square S.), Century Park (Centrury Park S.), Maglev train station (speed train to the airport (Longyang Rd. S.)) and Hongiao or Pudong Int. Airports.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJOBC, Public Relations Manager at Zhongbang Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
It is a joy to receive such nice compliment on our hotel from our guest rooms, food as well as our service. Howard Johnson Business Club Hotel Shanghai is located in the centre of Shanghai which is convenient for commerce, leisure and shopping. We are glad that you had a wonderful experience and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times (in an executive room). This hotel is l located in the center of the town with less than 10 mins walk to West Nanjing Rd metro station.

All was good about this hotel except a SMALL SIZE OF BATH, could not stretch out my legs when having a bath.

We did receive a big fruits hamper with some chocolate and sometimes a bottle of small wine which was a nice gesture.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MISS_BBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJOBC, Public Relations Manager at Zhongbang Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for your comments about the Howard Johnson Business Club Hotel Shanghai. We are pleased to hear that you are satisfied with the hotel location. Our staff is delighted to serve you and to provide assistance whenever you may need. We appreciate your recommendation of the Howard Johnson Business Club as choice hotel to stay, look forward to having you back with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaumont-Gistoux, Belgium
Level Contributor
185 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

stayed there oct 27th - 30th, room was very good, took 30th floor, quite, clubfloor,
swimming pool ok, breakfast good, but sauna at an unacceptable upcharge and the bar for the clubfloor on the 4th floor was not good at all and on october 28th no drinks and snacks served at all between 16.30 and 20h !! Very disappointing.
Location of the hotel is ok and interesting.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clementineWavre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJOBC, Public Relations Manager at Zhongbang Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with Howard Johnson Business Club Hotel Shanghai. We apologies for the obvious shortfall in service you experienced. It is always our goal to serve all of our guests well. However, on this occasion we clearly did not achieve this. We appreciate your comments and will use it constructively.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I can't say enough about this hotel. My husband and I were very pleased with the Howard Johnson Business Club. Rooms were immaculate, bed was very comfortable, bathrooms were modern and well appointed. Breakfast buffet was very extensive, staff was very helpful and friendly. We both used the gym, and were happy with the facilities. The hotel itself is within walking distance of multiple restaurants. We had a great stay, and would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJOBC, Public Relations Manager at Zhongbang Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
We really appreciate that you took time to give us some feedback on Tripadvisor. Thank you so much for the nice review on your experience of our service and facilities. We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
#26 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Jing'an
Shanxi Business Hotel
Shanxi Business Hotel
#567 of 5,032 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Former French Concession
Hotel Massenet at Sinan Mansions
Hotel Massenet at Sinan Mansions
#1,751 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
Jing An Shangri-La, West Shanghai
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Jing'an
Pei Mansion Hotel
Pei Mansion Hotel
#775 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zhongbang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zhongbang Hotel

Property: Zhongbang Hotel
Address: No.118 Shimen First Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200041, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an , Nanjing West Road
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#192 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Hotel Class:5 star — Zhongbang Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Zhongbang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing