We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay.”
Review of Zhongbang Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Zhongbang Hotel
Ranked #419 of 5,205 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Well-located, personable service. The manager himself is a visible presence and makes a real effort to accommodate all his customers. The breakfast buffet is very good, and the rooms are quite spacious, especially for Asia.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebel-43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJOBC, Public Relations Manager at Zhongbang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thanks for taking time to share your experience with us on Trip Advisor. We are glad to know that you are satisfied with our rooms, food, service and have a “Great Stay” at Howard Johnson Business Hotel Shanghai. Thank you again and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 254 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed here for a week whilst in Shanghai for work so cannot comment on the value of the hotel.

The service is simply 5 star. They have staff who speak perfect english and extremely helpful and accommodating all my needs & requests. One member went as far as walking me outside an pointing me in the right direction for food.

There are gym and swimming pool facilities which were in excellent condition and opened for long hours so you could squeeze in a quick session after work.

The rooms are absolutely excellent; giant beds, plenty of big pillows, a very nice sized flat screen and my favourite: Giant shower heads !!

Very quick wifi throughout the hotel, and excellent conference facilities.

There is an excellent full range buffet breakfast which would satisfy even the most picky breakfast eaters (im not one of them). However, I would not recommend eating dinner here - You are visiting Shanghai and there are dozens much tastier places outside for better value. I had tried room service as well as the dinner service and was fairly dissapointed.

The hotel is ideally located approx 10 mins walk away from Nanjing Xi road

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not facing the construction of a new apartment/shopping complex across the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJOBC, Public Relations Manager at Zhongbang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

It is truly wonderful to learn that you had an enjoyable gastronomic experience at Howard Johnson Business Club Hotel Shanghai and thank you for recommending our hotel as a choice hotel in Shanghai. Our hotel is located in the centre of Shanghai which is convenient for commerce, leisure and shopping. We are delighted to serve you and to provide assistance whenever you may need. We are sorry to hear about your comments for the municipal construction work across the hotel. We would like to apologize that brings you inconvenient. Should your travel brings you back to Shanghai, we hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I have been a long stay guest in this Hotel for a while in the past years and recently I use it quite a lot for my guest visiting my company in Shanghai. None of them has a single complain. The service is outstanding as well as the rooms which are quite large and comfortable. Not to talk of the warm welcome all the staff always ready to solve your problems whatever it is, from booking a flight to getting a reservation in a posh restaurant. Useless to add that it's the best choice in terms of value for money.
Cosimo.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cosimo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJOBC, Public Relations Manager at Zhongbang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We are glad to know you enjoyed our facilities and service. The friendliness of our staff and our high standards of service have always brought our customers back, we hope you will be one of them. We appreciate that Howard Johnson Business Club Hotel Shanghai was your hotel of choice and hope to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Spent several days there. Breakfast buffet was very good. Double room was very large and comfortable. Hotel has all the amenities we needed. Only thing, large construction site across from the hotel. Noise is not a problem as long as you get a room on one of the higher floors. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tm1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJOBC, Public Relations Manager at Zhongbang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

We are truly delighted to receive your compliment on the quality of our room, amenities as well as our food. We appreciate your recommendation of the Howard Johnson Business Club as choice hotel to stay, look forward to having you back with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my colleagues in the middle of September for 2 nights. Rooms are very clean and cosy. The staff is very polite and friendly. The operator spoke very good English. The concierges Steve and Nick were very helpful, always offered their assistance, helped us with our luggage and gave us some good sightseeing advise. Always easy to get a taxi. Great hotel, but the breakfast could be better...

Room Tip: We had several rooms. Twin room was not very spacious. But the single room was big with a huge bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulina-V-K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJOBC, Public Relations Manager at Zhongbang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

We are delighted with your compliment on our room and service. We are very proud of our team commitment in delivering the high standards of services and constantly strived to exceed our guests' expectations. Please allow us to serve you again if you return to Shanghai, and perhaps stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I have been in this hotel already 2 times for business trip. Location is nearby famous West Nanjing road and only 5 minutes walk to Metro line 2. Also a small walking street very close to hotel, Wujiang road.

Overall is nice except there is a big construction opposite the hotel and they are working almost 24 hours.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of building is better, if you want to avoid noise from construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuangsit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJOBC, Public Relations Manager at Zhongbang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

We are extremely delighted that your had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you so much for the nice review on your experience of our service and facilities. Our hotel is located in the centre of Shanghai which is convenient for commerce, leisure and shopping. Our hotel has completed the rectification of Wi-Fi coverage throughout the hotel inclusive of room and public area. Should your travel brings you back to Shanghai, we hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This property is very well located, within walking distance of the underground. At the same time slightly away from the terrible hustle and bustle of downtown. The rooms have everything you need, with comfortable beds, good bathrooms with toilettries and for the price is very good value. We stayed there twice, two days at the beginning and two days at the end of our three weeks. Both rooms were more or less the same. The Four Seasons is in front, and if you come out of the lobby and turn left and then left again there is a nice italian restaurant and a french restaurant plus a very good german bakery.
The checking in was done fairly quickly and efficiently, they speak good english and they are pleasent and helpful. Taxis are cheap but sometimes it is hard to get one so the underground is a solution if you want to go to the Bund or to Pudong. Good choice of hotel, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anastasiaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJOBC, Public Relations Manager at Zhongbang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

We are extremely delighted that your had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you so much for the nice review on your experience of our service and facilities. Our hotel is located in the centre of Shanghai which is convenient for commerce, leisure and shopping. Our hotel has completed the rectification of Wi-Fi coverage throughout the hotel inclusive of room and public area. Should your travel brings you back to Shanghai, we hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#5 of 5,205 in Shanghai
2,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#37 of 5,205 in Shanghai
2,479 reviews
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zhongbang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zhongbang Hotel

Address: No.118 Shimen First Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200041, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an , Nanjing West Road
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#224 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Hotel Class:5 star — Zhongbang Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Zhongbang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing