We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No AC, otherwise great”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shanghai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Tulip on the Beach Shanghai
Ranked #1,421 of 5,222 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This hotel had large, modern, stylish rooms (I could could lift the blinds from my bathroom if I wanted to look out to the ocean while I bathed), and an excellent breakfast buffet. I had no trouble communicating with the staff in English.
I would have given this hotel a "5" if they had only ben willing to turn the AC on. It wasn't hot outside (a nice upper 70's F) but this isolated high-rise really bakes in the sun, and the rooms were in the upper 80's during the day, lower 80's at night. There's a tiny (1 ft2) window you can open, but that's it. All the guests had their doors into the hall open during the day, because the rooms were sweltering. But at night, you have to close the door, and it's hard to sleep. The management repeatedly assured us that the AC had been fixed/turned on/would be fixed soon, but no luck in three days. I think the AC is simply turned off come October, and the guests can like it or lump it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Macaw01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 10 of 33 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2011

I set my expectation very low with this hotel. No English review so far here in tripadvisor and none is much written about the hotel aside from its official website. I honestly dont know what to expect from this hotel far far from downtown Shanghai.

The hotel is massive. It will give you the space you need and much much more. Our room was upgraded from a deluxe seaview room to a deluxe seaview suite due to high occupancy. The suite is much bigger than the whole 2nd floor of our apartment with floor to ceiling glass window. It has a walk thru closet, bath tub, separate toilet and bath, living room, working desk and the bedroom with a bonus day bed.

You will wake up to the unobstructed view of the Hangzhou Bay. If you love just lying in bed and enjoying the view, this is it for you.

There is free broadband internet in the room which is a big plus.

The breakfast can be better but good enough even for vegetarians. There are just so many guests at the time we were there.

A leisurely walk from the hotel is the City Beach and maple tree lined streets to the busy part of Xincheng Road.

The staff can all speak in English enough for you to understand and converse. They are all very helpful in all questions and request. We went to Jinshan via public transportation, it was far but not difficult to locate as it is widely known in the area. Hotel staff will call taxi for you and it will be metered with receipt once you alight.

I really fell inlove with Jinshan because of Royal Tulip on the Beach.

Room Tip: Get the seaview room, it is definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malakawon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 至謙林
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed July 1, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed January 31, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 9, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank うきき
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed July 3, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#5 of 5,222 in Shanghai
2,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#39 of 5,222 in Shanghai
2,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Tulip on the Beach Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Tulip on the Beach Shanghai

Address: No.1 Xincheng Road, Jinshan District, Shanghai 200540, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,421 of 5,222 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Tulip on the Beach Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 302

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing