We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui
Ranked #57 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I usually stay in the Courtyard Pudong, but fancied a change.
Reception is very impressive, and welcome was very impressive, welcome tea and personal service.
Room is very good, modern and I stayed in a basic room. Good comfy bed, good shower and nice toiletries.

The one thing I think is a little negative, is the lounge area off the main reception is a little small and can feel a little overcrowded even when it's quiet.

Location is good for shopping and good for the Metro approx. 250 meters away.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KamikazeRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    197
    31
    10
    7
See reviews for
31
31
30
266
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Some points about this hotel :
1. It's away from Shangai financial centre. Ok to stay if you have work in the area.
2. Amazing service
3. The moment you enter the hotel, there is at least 3 employees waiting to help you.
4. Room service was ok in a service point of view. Less than 30 minutes. But food quality was very poor.
5. The breakfast and lunch buffet is excellent.
6. Nice comfortable room
7. Don't like the transparent bathroom.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swordfish01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairy L, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Xujiahui Hotel. It’s so nice to hear from you that you enjoyed with our service and MOMO cafe. Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

The hotel is a one block of Xujiahui, one of the busy center in the chic Xujiahui district. I was impressed by the lobby which is at least a 5 star hotel lobby in the US. The room was a decent size. We were at 19th floor that had a beautiful view of the city. The hotel staff were friendly. The sleeping quality was very good (maybe because we were at high floor). The bathroom walls were glass toward the room and there weren't shades that allow some privacy. Overall, I was very pleased.

Room Tip: If you take the subway, take the exit 11 to go to the hotel. Also, it's only a category 2 hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairy L, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for choosing Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Xujiahui Hotel and sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time of stay in our hotel. Your valuable comments really encourage our related departments. We hope your future experiences with us will be continuously satisfactory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Surrounded by malls and near to the train stations makes this hotel an excellent place to stay. The French concession is just a couple of stops away while the Bund is a 20 mins train ride. The rooms are pretty good though small.
The breakfast at the restaurant has a good spread of both traditional Chinese and western food.

Room Tip: Do check out the malls near the hotel for a good shopping experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bpr81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairy L, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. Your great comments on our service and breakfast really encourage us to continue focusing on our guest satisfaction. Thank your again for choosing Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Xujiahui Hotel. We do expect to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

This hotel is a very nice Courtyard, much nicer than in North America. Staff is attentive and rival 5-star services. Business centre is helpful, pool is nice enough. The key to this hotel is LOCATION. You are a 5 minute walk to one of the main subway hubs in China (Xu Jia Hui), and you can easily get to Hongqiao airport/train station, Shanghai Railway, and fairly easily to Pudong Airport. You can also easily (10 mins/4RMB) get into the Hengshan road area where the bars/restaurants dot the French Concession.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhcShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairy L, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for choosing Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Xujiahui Hotel and sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time of stay in our hotel. Your valuable comments really encourage our related departments. We hope your future experiences with us will be continuously satisfactory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

This was a nice hotel to stay in for the bit of time I was in Shanghai. Plenty of shopping in the area. Taxis are very cheap in Shanghai so getting around to other parts of the city from here is easy. Also the metro is very close to the hotel. Hotel staff is great and restaurant is very good for breakfast and dinner.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The hotel was clean and new, the staff was professional, and the breakfast was very good. I seemed like there were very few restaurant choices in the immediate area. During my next visit to Shanghai, I'll probably stay closer to Nanjing Lu or Pudong district.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bostonian83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Jianguo Hotel
Jianguo Hotel
#126 of 5,069 in Shanghai
316 reviews
Former French Concession
Regal International East Asia Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Former French Concession
Shanghai Tianping Hotel
Shanghai Tianping Hotel
#374 of 5,069 in Shanghai
67 reviews
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
#41 of 5,069 in Shanghai
571 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Sports Hotel
Sports Hotel
#231 of 5,069 in Shanghai
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui

Property: Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui
Address: No.100 Hongqiao Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200030, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang , Xujiahui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#57 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#92 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui 4*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"IT'S A NEW STAY" Come and enjoy the refreshing business routine at the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Xujiahui! Located in the heart of the Shanghai Xujiahui commercial and shopping centre, the new Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Xujiahui is the 800th Courtyard hotel worldwide open in January 2009 with easy access to all the nearby shopping malls, restaurants and bars, the old French Concession and the largest Catholic Church in Shanghai. Numerous tourist attractions are only within minutes drive or several stops by underground train. Guests can dine in the hotel signature restaurants MoMo Café and MoMo2Go. MoMo Café runs with an open kitchen, and the special "Salad and Noodle bowl" set lunch brings you a new healthy dining concept whilst our Italian executive chef presents truly authentic thin crusted pizza. For those guests who looking forward to relax and unwind, the Roman-style indoor swimming pool and 200 square meter state-of-the-art fitness center will definitely meet their needs. Stay Energized, stay focused, and stay connected with the leading hotel loyalty program Marriott Rewards at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Xujiahui! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Shanghai Xujiahui Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing