We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“being a carnivore, i found their vegetarian restaurant really delightful”

ZaoZiShu (JiangNing)
Ranked #443 of 16,954 Restaurants in Shanghai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Jing'an
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“being a carnivore, i found their vegetarian restaurant really delightful”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

NO meat.

I enjoy eating meat in restaurants so I was very delighted with the cooking and imagination of the restaurant cooks. All the dishes that we ordered (4 dishes) were marvelous.

They used alot of tofu and vegetables to create dishes with authentic meat tastes. I definitively recommend this restuarant for vegetarians who want to eat high quality chinese dishes.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trashcollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    37
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Panama
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Creative vegetarian Asian food”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

if you want avoid for one day or more meat and animales derivate this is right spot,one alternative in town where you can find several creative dishes totaly vegetarian , dinamic atmosphere deco not really attractive but service fast and attentive , most of waiter is not really familiar with english but just you need point what you need in menu , try for special occasion or your vegetarian dining !

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vallach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“The restaurant is good, just good”
Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

We taste imitated roasted vegetarian pork filet, deep fried vegetarian pork with sweet sour souce, vegetarian chicken, etc. The flavor was good, but we didnt enjoyed that on one of the plates was full of red and green chilies.
The service was just o.k. and we regreted that none of the waiters could communicate with us in elemental english!

Helpful?
1 Thank blimele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Great menu with lots of variety. I'm not usually a mock meat fan but decided to give it a go and was not disappointed. The food was very very good! The texture and the sauces were so good that I did have to question whether or not they use MSG... still not sure, but if they don't use it then hats off to them as they are able to get some amazing flavours going! One thing I thought was unusual though was the price of the juices - they were the same as a main course, so I'd probably skip the juice the next time as you do get tea with your meal as well. Would have liked to visit again but didn't get a chance before I left Shanghai. Definitely recommend it to both vegetarians and carnivores! :-)

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gorettikid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Shanghai's Food Sanctuary”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I have dined at Vegetarian Lifestyle Cafe countless times of the past 4 years. It is undoubtedly one of the best restaurant I have ever eaten at in the entire world. The food is wholesome and healthy, the decor is nice, the service is fantastic, and the price is reasonable. I am not a vegetarian, but when I want a healthy meal I go here.

Free tea and a plate of fruit is served with every meal. The restaurant closes at 21:00 so don't arrive too late. Lunchtime the place is packed with business people have the lunchset so avoid 12:00-13:00 unless you don't mind waiting for a table.

Bon Appetite.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Edwin-Boss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ZaoZiShu (JiangNing) also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to ZaoZiShu (JiangNing)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing