We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We like it!”

Punjabi (Huaihai Lu)
Ranked #5,066 of 16,868 Restaurants in Shanghai
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: People’s Square
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We like it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

When we have a group of friends that want to go out for something out of the ordinary (non-chinese) we always consider Punjabi on Huaihai. For the price, you get your moneys worth, especialy if you're drinking beer. I personally don't drink beer and wish they offered some other alcoholic option, but you can't please everyone. We like it!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jhy0719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    16
    6
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Indian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

VAlue for money..and very convinient location. In the down town. Look for tandoori dishes, they are great.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank ghoshanjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BANGALORE
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

I had a Buffet dinner at this hotel. The food was good, and the service was okay. They could work a little on the ambience to make it more cozy for the guests.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank manojk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Value, Atmosphere and Flavors from India”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

Have been here a number of times and just finished a "luncheon plate special." At Punjabi Restaurant you will get a constant, value, service and atmosphere. If you like Indian food, it is the best place to go in Shanghai.

The Luncheon Plate is a great value with 7 courses and in vegetarian and meat choices. You get rice, lentils, raita, nan, a desert and two different curry dishes. With each of us ordering a Lasi we got away for just over 140 RMB. I usually go for the meat, but have had the vegetarian and the quality is the same, great.

The dinner buffet is great, all you can eat with drinks included at just under 100 RMB per person. Lots of choices, recommend you get just a little of each one when you start. . . so you can go back for your favorites in the second round. They have a number of vegetarian as well as meat dishes in the buffet as well as a variety or rice, nan and sauces.

If you like your Indian food spicy, you will need to tell them and order off the menu. The Mutton Vindaloo can be spicy enough to make you sweat. But for the most part, the food on the luncheon plate and the buffet has been toned down just a bit so the common palate in Shanghai can enjoy it. There are also a number of other wonderful things to sample on the menu too. They have an excellent Marsala Dosa as well as great kabobs. I would also recommend the garlic nan--I wish I had brought some home with me now, even though I am full from my luncheon, I could still munch on some more.

They have three locations in Shanghai and have been to all three, slightly different atmosphere, but consistent value and flavor. The Xiangyang Road location has moved now for a little over a year to a location on Huaihai Road about a block from the Addias Store in the CA building (their phone number is 021- 64725464 so you can get directions). A perfect place to bring a friend, a colleague, or the family--and you can always bring me along too! Now where's my garlic nan and papadams?

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShanghaiSkip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
171 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Punjabi , a good Indian Food Option”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

This has recently shifted its location to near C & A shop on Huai Hai Road , on the fifth Floor . The menu includes lots of Indian Preparations . My recommendation is one should try the set lunches , both Veg and Non Veg at 55 RMB apiece which includes Rice as well as Roti . In the evening , you have the option of Buffet Dinner at 100 RMB a piece with unlimited beer . The brand of beer is a bit depressing , sometimes Singha , sometimes Tiger , sometimes something more unknown . If you are not satisfied try the cocktail repertoire along with Chicken or Mutton or Veg Biriyani . Its worth at least one visit .

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank SantanuB11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Punjabi (Huaihai Lu) also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Punjabi (Huaihai Lu)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing