We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We get Shanghai'ed and wind up Lost Heaven”
Review of Lost Heaven

Lost Heaven
Ranked #11 of 17,012 Restaurants in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Yunnan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Former French Concession
Tokyo, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We get Shanghai'ed and wind up Lost Heaven”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Recommended by my good friend currently on work assignment in Shanghai, it took a little effort to find, and we had to run the gauntlet of touts and other characters all along The Bund waterfront. But arriving & sitting at the bar (in the evening "haze') made the effort worthwhile.

The ambience immediately relaxes, and I strongly recommend reservations as the place seems always packed. We were spoilt for choice with the food, which did not disappoint.

The crab cakes (at the bar), Da Li chicken & Burmese salad were ooh-lah-lah, but do be adventurous and try seasonal dishes.Given the quality, I believe everything will be unique and tasty. Prices were quite reasonable, better than what someone from Tokyo would expect.

Highly recommended, and looking forward to coming back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeffYB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,163
    745
    187
    39
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hoffman Estates, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lost Heaven Worth Being Found”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I had never eaten Yunnan folk cuisine before and after this wonderful experience I will be keeping it on my short list. The shrimp spring rolls were fantastic. Green beans lightly fried in shrimp oil were fresh and crisp. The spicy Chicken was tender and not spicy hot. The roasted pork slices were topped with finely chopped chive and cilantro (or at least it had that taste and appearance). The noodle and dumplings dishes were delightful. The portions were right sized to feed the four of us and all in the cost per person was about $20 US. We had reservations for 6:30 pm and were seated promptly. The service was great and the atmosphere was friendly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RIchard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Stunning restaurant with just wonderful food - the quality of the food and the standard of service will make this a regular venue whenever in the city

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kenny1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Restaurant Lost Heaven”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Restaurant Lost heaven is normally busy almost every evening.You should book a table in advance and perhaps arrive earlier and you will get better service and better attention.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hannes123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Close to Bund”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The restaurant is more a tourist or special occasion type of restaurant. Menu selection and food are fine. I found the restaurant is a bit too dark and tables are too close together. The restaurant is located on 2nd floor, I don't think they have an elevator. Good location, within close proximity to the Bund, you could use a nice stroll after a big dinner. Reservations is recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Faymeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lost Heaven also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Lost Heaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing